Rev Up Your love Life With These Tips!

Mandellav

Hysterical and intelligent, but nothing to look at. Or perhaps a lot to look at. Ok, maybe handsome in an "at least he's not Oprah" way.

Close Window

Mandellav has been notified that you want to learn about him.

Check back after a few days & see if he has added more details to his profile.

CLOSE

Like
Tell him why you like this photo. close

SUBSCRIBE AND SEND loading

« »


Active within 3 weeks

27 year old man
Goodyear, Arizona, United States

Seeking:
women 21-30
Within:
50 Miles of Goodyear, Arizona, United States
Relationship:
Never Married
Have kids:
No
Want kids:
Not sure
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Heavyset
Height:
5'11" (180cms)
Faith:
Atheist
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker

 

ABOUT HIM & WHO HE'S LOOKING FOR

It took six years of higher education, but I accomplished my first major life goal and inadvertently accomplished two more with the same seemingly outrageous decision. I became a history teacher. I worked hard and read books and attended seminars and earned a master's degree. That alone though did not get me my dream job. The education was the rambunctious part. Searching for the job, on the other hand, was the downright depressingly difficult part particularly since the job market for history teachers in the Great State of New York dried up like an apple in the desert sun two years before I graduated.

So I did what most people would do when chasing a dream: I moved 2,200 miles. In Phoenix, I found a job at a charter school. When I was hired, I had no idea what grade I would be teaching, let alone which subjects. The principal startled me as I was cleaning my very own classroom for the first time: "Kevin, would you like to teach 11th Grade Advanced Placement US History and a Film Studies elective?" Beaming, I replied, "Why yes, I would."

My 11th grade AP US History teacher inspired me to become a teacher. I figured, I would probably get the chance to teach that grade and subject in about ten years if I was very lucky. I picked up a film studies minor at the University at Albany and I figured maybe thirty years from now I could convince a principal to add Film Studies as an elective. Instead, I stood there grinning with fat sanguine cheeks puffed out like peaches at a farmers' market freshly snapped from the tree.

I dove in. It was the most difficult undertaking of my life. I taught and taught and never missed a single day. I prepared and graded and lectured and facilitated and moderated and disciplined and laughed and cried and had many existential crises. But I survived. And somehow, I was asked back for a second year.

And now, halfway through my second year, I just don't see myself running away. I'm in. I'm committed. I think, as the research suggests, I can see myself in that room for the next forty years building and orchestrating a curriculum and a department dedicated to teaching history and reading and writing the right ways.

I put my social life on hold. I was afraid of social attachments, let alone romantic ones.

But now, I'm looking for friends and maybe even a relationship.

I am insightful and caring. I am often crude with my humor, but often elegant with my wit. I recite Shakespeare and listen to Kevin Smith's podcasts. I go to the movies at least once a week. (The drive to consume media sustains me.) I know more about US History and pop culture than anyone would care to admit. I never miss work and am always thinking of new ways to convey information and skills to my students.

I know not what to look for in a partner. I suppose the usual niceties and trite expressions will suffice. Oh, and be damn sexy.

But I suppose it would help if that person is a geek. That person should get Firefly references and have a workable knowledge of our cowl'd savior, Batman. That person should have goals and a career. That person should have a positive, "why not?" attitude. I loathe those that squash the dreams of others due to their own insecurities. I have done the impossible (to a certain degree) and that makes me mighty (to a certain degree.) I know I want to make an independent film someday as soon as I get the right idea for one. My partner should encourage that lofty goal, not dismiss it as folly. I'm a big guy with insecurities aplenty. But this anxiety drives me to always improve--even if that improvement tends to be intellectual most often.

E-mail me or message me. I am far more secure when I know someone is interested.

My bravado is tempered by fear.

My kindness knows no constraint.

My dedication wavers for no reason.

My initial shyness fades to unrestrained amicable ease with the passage of time.

Interests:
Book club, Camping, Coffee and conversation, Cooking, Dining out, Movies/Videos, Museums and art, Music and concerts, Exploring new areas, Nightclubs/Dancing, Performing arts, Playing cards, Playing sports, Political interests, Travel/Sightseeing, Video games, Volunteering, Watching sports, Wine tasting
Sports & exercise:
Baseball, Basketball, Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Dancing, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Hockey, VolleyBall
Exercise habits:
I exercise 1-2 times per week
Pets:
Political views:
Liberal
Sign:
I don't believe in astrology
College:
University at Albany, State University of New York, Albany, NY
For fun:

I go to the movies often. Do you want to? I'll see anything with another person, even though, when I'm alone I tend to skip the horror genre out of its sheer silliness.

Favorite hot spots:

Lake Powell, AZ. NYC, NY. Albany, NY. Boston, MA. Lake Pleasant, AZ. Bryce Canyon, UT. Citi Field, Queens, NY. Mexican and Indian Restaurants. New to AZ, so don't know much about the night life, but eager to learn!

Favorite things:

Music: CAKE, Sigur Ros, Barenaked Ladies, The Black Keys, The Cat Empire, Billy Joel, The Mountain Goats, Pepper.

TV: Dexter, True Blood, Breaking Bad, Person of Interest, The Walking Dead, Comicbook Men, Impractical Jokers, TBBT, HIMYM, Firefly

Last read:

The Crucible by Arthur Miller

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin.

Lies My Teacher Told Me by James Loewen

Currently reading:

The Scarlet Letter (Hawthorne)
Crime and Punishment (Dostoevsky)
Wherever I Wind Up (R.A. Dickey)

ABOUT... HIM HIS DATE
APPEARANCE:
Height:
5'11" (180cms)
5'1" (154cms) to 6'1" (185cms)
Body type:
Heavyset
Slender, About average, Curvy
Eyes:
Hazel
Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair:
Dark brown
Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde
   
LIFESTYLE:
Smoke:
No Way
No Way, Occasionally
Drink:
Social Drinker
Social Drinker, Moderately
Occupation:
Education / Teacher / Professor
Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Student, Education / Teacher / Professor, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Law enforcement / Security / Military, Architecture / Interior design

I teach AP US History and Film Studies at a High School.

Income:
$25,001 to $35,000
Less Than $25,000, $25,001 to $35,000, $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship:
Never Married
Never Married
Have kids:
No
No
Want kids:
Not sure
Someday, Not sure, Probably not, No
   
BACKGROUND/VALUES:
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other

I am a total mutt. Irish, Dutch, Danish, English, and Native American.

Faith:
Atheist
Agnostic, Atheist, Spiritual but not religious

I am more atheist than I am agnostic. I have no animosity toward those that follow religions of any kind. I believe you need to believe in whatever makes you happy. But I also believe that recruiting others who don't wish to be recruited is wrong.

Languages:
English
English, Other
Education:
Graduate degree
High school, Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral

I have a BA in US History with a Film Studies Minor and I have a Masters of Arts in Teaching Social Studies.

Close Window

Your message has been sent to Mandellav

CLOSE

Close Window

We encountered a problem sending your message to Mandellav. Please try again later.

CLOSE

Finish by entering your Match.com sign in details.

This lets you sign in faster next time.

Continue
Already a member? Sign in here »

Close Window

Your message has been sent to Mandellav.

See More Like him:


view more »

CLOSE WINDOW