Rev Up Your love Life With These Tips!

maninthemood_200

We're one....but we're not the same

Close Window

maninthemood_200 has been notified that you want to learn about him.

Check back after a few days & see if he has added more details to his profile.

CLOSE

Like
Tell him why you like this photo. close

SUBSCRIBE AND SEND loading

« »

Online now!

57 year old man
Bethesda, Maryland, United States

Seeking:
women 32-50
Within:
35 Miles of Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, they live away from home (2)
Want kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
6'2" (187cms)
Faith:
Christian / Catholic
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Never

 

ABOUT HIM & WHO HE'S LOOKING FOR

Existential question: What's the appropriate response to the many odd people who wink, but don't have pictures? Winking back seems wrong, sort of like flirting with a mirage. On the other hand, ignoring them's a bit rude, no? Inquiring minds want to know.

Here's my proposal - let's be friends. Go for a hike, a bike ride, a drive in the country, catch a movie, share dinner, etc. I still want to find love, but let's leave the inflated expectations behind. And - this is important - I'm not looking for a wife. Been there, done that. Twice. But I do want/need a woman in my life. Ideally, she'd not only be good company, but also super smart, someone who could give me an intellectual run for my money. Finally, and this is meant sincerely, I'm quite sure I'm not the only person on here who wants to have sex. Aren't we fundamentally biological creatures? Then why is our lust the unacknowledged 600 lb. gorilla in the room?

As an international development guy, I've spent a couple of decades of my life abroad and continue to travel regularly for work, so it doesn't give me quite the charge it once did. But there are still loads of places I plan to explore - the Tasmanian forests, Mayan temples, the Yukon territory etc. But as some sage once wrote: "The whole object of travel is not to set foot on foreign land; it is at last to set foot on one’s own country as a foreign land."

I love music, but have admittedly limited tastes -- these days mostly rootsy, alt-country stuff (not to be confused with that "country" dreck put out by the Nashville machine), like Blue Rodeo, Last Train Home, Justin Jones the Driving Rain, Kathleen Edwards etc. If you want me to listen to the latest version of La Traviata performed at La Scala, I'll politely sit still but will totally miss the point.

Although I am sporty, I have little interest in watching team sports. I know it's profoundly un-manly and even vaguely un-American, but hey, life's too short to be a spectator.

Finally I'm pleased that scads of you ladies seem to be enjoying the whole 'Shades of Grey' experience, but please tell me you've read something else as well. And "Us" magazine doesn't count.

Wait, one last thing! Although it's great that so many of you are apparently happy, zesty, perky, and loving life, I tend to be a tad skeptical of too much giddiness. This little poem from Katherine Mansfield describes what I'd like to find:

The mind I love must have wild places,
A tangled orchard where dark damsons
Drop in heavy grass,
An overgrown little wood,
The chance of a snake or two,
A pool that nobody’s fathomed the depth of,
And paths threaded with flowers planted by the mind.

Interests:
Camping, Coffee and conversation, Dining out, Movies/Videos, Museums and art, Music and concerts, Exploring new areas, Political interests, Shopping/Antiques, Travel/Sightseeing
Sports & exercise:
Billiards / Pool, Cycling, Golf, Skiing, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines
Exercise habits:
I exercise 1-2 times per week
Pets:
Pet Essay:

Once had a beagle named "Lucky", who wasn't. We were living in West Africa at the time and he was dognapped. My daughter still tears up when we recall that.

Political views:
Non-conformist
Sign:
Aries
College:
University of Maryland, College Park, College Park, MD
For fun:

Favorites include most Peter Sellers flicks, all of the Sean Connery Bonds, and anything by Aussie director Peter Weir. Lest you think this makes me an insufferable film snob, I also think "Old School" and "Nacho Libre" are a works of comic genius.

Favorite hot spots:

Given my druthers, I like sand, sea and sweatiness. The Caribbean, West Africa, and the Florida gulf coast all rank high. However, I could also be convinced to head off to Rio or Paris. Or for that matter to hike the Wind River or Bitterroot range.

Favorite things:

Just spent some time hiking the San Juan mountains in Colorado, but I can sit and watch 8 episodes of The Office (US or UK versions) without getting up to go to the bathroom.

Last read:

Fluctuate between crime fiction (e.g. Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen) and more cerebral stuff, like the lazy man's philosopher Alain de Botton or historians Tony Judt and Niall Ferguson. Recently read "Empire of the Summer Moon".

ABOUT... HIM HIS DATE
APPEARANCE:
Height:
6'2" (187cms)
5'4" (162cms) to 6'1" (185cms)
Body type:
About average
Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes:
Blue
Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair:
Salt and pepper
Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Platinum
   
LIFESTYLE:
Smoke:
No Way
No Way, Occasionally
Drink:
Never
Never, Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation:
Executive / Management
No preference

I've been working in the non-profit, international sector for my entire life.

Income:
$100,001 to $150,000
$50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship:
Divorced
Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, they live away from home (2)
Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Want kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
   
BACKGROUND/VALUES:
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other

I'm part German, Irish, French and Swedish -- a typical American mutt. But having seen first-hand the ugly side of ethnic rivalry (in various parts of the world), I take zero pride in my genetic makeup; it's simply an accident of birth.

Faith:
Christian / Catholic
Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / LDS, Christian / Protestant, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim / Islam, Spiritual but not religious, Other, Christian / Other

I'm an apathetic Catholic on occasion. At other times, I'm an equally unenthusiastic atheist.

Languages:
English, French
English
Education:
Bachelors degree
Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral

Close Window

Your message has been sent to maninthemood_200

CLOSE

Close Window

We encountered a problem sending your message to maninthemood_200. Please try again later.

CLOSE

Finish by entering your Match.com sign in details.

Not a member? Sign up now »
Continue

Finish by entering your Match.com sign in details.

This lets you sign in faster next time.

By clicking "Begin Now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from Match.com. I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.
Continue
By using our site, you agree to the Match.com Terms of Use.
Already a member? Sign in here »

Close Window

Your message has been sent to maninthemood_200.

See More Like him:


view more »

CLOSE WINDOW