Rev Up Your love Life With These Tips!

Affable_Geek

An Affable Geek, a life adventurer, seeking a passionate companion

Close Window

Affable_Geek has been notified that you want to learn about him.

Check back after a few days & see if he has added more details to his profile.

CLOSE

Like
Tell him why you like this photo. close

SUBSCRIBE AND SEND loading


Active over 3 weeks ago

42 year old man
Herndon, Virginia, United States

Seeking:
women 37-45
Within:
20 Miles of Herndon, Virginia, United States
Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, they sometimes live at home (2)
Want kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Heavyset
Height:
5'10" (177cms)
Faith:
Christian / Protestant
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Never

 

ABOUT HIM & WHO HE'S LOOKING FOR

Tech is easy, people are hard. But a good friend is a soft, supportive, and comfortable place, and electrons, like cats, secretly want to kill you.

Life is adventure - sometimes that means travel, sometimes that means advancing in my career, and other times it's being domestic - raising my kids and supporting my dad. Hard does not mean bad, but if life is dull, it's time to move on. God did not endow us with creativity in order to squander it on trash tv or routine humdrum.

Things I've Done:
- Taught my daughter to speak in front of large crowds and my son to camp in out-of-the-way places
- Hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon, then to the top of Zion, by myself, at 40.
- Thrived in Eastern Europe after losing my money, my passport, and my train tickets
- Trekked through the Himalaya and lived in Kathmandu
- Learned to appreciate art and architecture as an exchange student in Germany
- Pastored a church and been a friend
- Instructed my children well in the ways of the Tardis
- Raised, dressed, and cooked my own turkey - from hatchling to dinner table
- Renovated a 200 year old house on a 50 acre farm, with 2 wonderful kids, 5 horses, 70 chickens, 6 cats, and 1 1/2 dogs
- Smuggled $4000 worth of glasses into Kazakhstan to help people who needed them

Things I still want to Do:
- Retire in a few years (I'm 42, but I've been good with my money)
- Live in an RV and travel all over the US
- Actually use that timeshare I have in Cancun
- Write a book, a blog, and an iPhone app that people recognize
- Sail, Fly, motorbike, and maybe even bungee. But let's focus on the experience and not just the "thrill"
- Be head over heels in passionate love, wooing and caressing - I want to love, not date

Things I won't Do:
- Waste a weekend *watching* sports.
- Go to the gym for my "exercise." (I'm 5'10", 97kg*) - that's why we have National Parks
- Drink beer or smoke - that's why we have Ginger Ale!
- Waste a single brain-cell on the words "Kardashian" or "twerk"
- Spend an evening with a skinny, skanky, or shallow woman. I entertain ladies, not girls.

I'm no Schwarzenegger, but I like to think Henry of Plantagenet or a Robert E. Lee would have at least liked to have me on their staff. I'm a geek - and an affable geek at that. I'm not fat, but I'm no Adonis either. Besides, if as Origen said, our resurrected bodies will be spherical, I am merely prefiguring my perfection!

I value people over things, wisdom over information, life over a treadmill. I think clearly, love deeply, and act responsibly, if not predictably.

If you are a quality woman who chooses more life over more stuff, good humour over false hope, and who would rather possess joy than a new jumper, then join me in making our lives the adventure you know it should be.

*We won't go metric until we see that we weighs less in kilograms!

Interests:
Camping, Coffee and conversation, Cooking, Dining out, Hobbies and crafts, Movies/Videos, Museums and art, Exploring new areas, Playing cards, Political interests, Religion/Spiritual, Travel/Sightseeing, Volunteering
Sports & exercise:
Swimming, Walking / Hiking
Exercise habits:
I exercise 1-2 times per week
Pets:
I have Birds, Cats, Dogs, Horses, Other
Pet Essay:

I care for my animals, and miss them now that I no longer am on my farm. When my lab and my watch-turkey died, it was time to move on. And yes, turkeys, like bow ties, are cool.

Political views:
Some other viewpoint
Sign:
I don't believe in astrology
College:
The College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, VA
For fun:

I'm always on the lookout for a new experience. That could be hiking in the national parks, going to a museum, or just talking about the days events.

Favorite hot spots:

Istanbul, London, Yosemite, Grand Canyon, the Capitol Building
National Parks, mountains, and beaches
Thai Luang

I enjoy places that challenge me & broaden me. I seek out quiet places that foster conversation. Nightclubs are not my thing.

Favorite things:

I'm the guy who can't stop exploring. Books, the National Parks - Asia, Europe. I've been to a lot more of the world than most people, but it only reminds me of how much I'm missing. A walk on a beach is an adventure with the right person.

Last read:

The Loser Letters by Mary Eberstadt; The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis; just about everything by Orson Scott Card; and I loved Dr. Horrible's Sing-along-Blog...
Every week, I read the Economist. If you do too, move to the head of the class

ABOUT... HIM HIS DATE
APPEARANCE:
Height:
5'10" (177cms)
4'0" (121cms) to 5'7" (170cms)
Body type:
Heavyset
Big and beautiful, About average, Curvy, Full-figured, Heavyset, A few extra pounds, Stocky
Eyes:
Brown
No preference
Hair:
Light brown
No preference
   
LIFESTYLE:
Smoke:
No Way
No Way
Drink:
Never
Never, Social Drinker
Occupation:
Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering
No preference
Income:
$100,001 to $150,000
$50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship:
Divorced
Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, they sometimes live at home (2)
No answer
Want kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
   
BACKGROUND/VALUES:
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
White / Caucasian
Faith:
Christian / Protestant
Christian / Catholic, Christian / LDS, Christian / Protestant, Spiritual but not religious, Christian / Other
Languages:
English, German
English, German
Education:
Graduate degree
No preference

Close Window

Your message has been sent to Affable_Geek

CLOSE

Close Window

We encountered a problem sending your message to Affable_Geek. Please try again later.

CLOSE

Finish by entering your Match.com sign in details.

Not a member? Sign up now »
Continue

Finish by entering your Match.com sign in details.

This lets you sign in faster next time.

By clicking "Begin Now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from Match.com. I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.
Continue
By using our site, you agree to the Match.com Terms of Use.
Already a member? Sign in here »

Close Window

Your message has been sent to Affable_Geek.

See More Like him:


view more »

CLOSE WINDOW