

50 year old man | Hickory, NC, USA | Seeking women 43-53 within 50 miles


Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 13

His details

Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (2)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
5'10" (177cms)
Christian / Protestant
No Way
Social Drinker
Like most people, I am very complex. I don’t...

In his own words

Like most people, I am very complex. I don’t even know everything about me so I certainly won't be able to explain who I am in this box. Some of my traits, however, I know very well. Changes, learning new things, meeting new people, finding new places- these are some of the things that are essential to me. If my life gets too boring or sedate I like to shake things up. So here I am on looking for someone to shake things up with. I actually like to talk to perfect strangers and find out more about them. Unfortunately, most people aren't used to talking with people they don’t know and too often assume that you want something from them. This is made even worse with online dating. We all have bad experiences from dealing with people on these sites. But we also know that the right person isn’t going to just walk up to our front door and fall immediately in love with us. What if you have already met your “soul mate” and neither of you realized it because nobody said anything? You can’t find the right person without talking to a lot of wrong people. I know a lot of women get hit on with this site. But if you don’t reach out or respond you will never find the right person. Somebody has to be the first to say something. And if the other person doesn't respond you can’t have a conversation. If you don't have conversations, you won't meet or get to know new people. For some reason, people on this site think that talking with someone is some sort of commitment; that by responding to a question implies some sort of tacit agreement to go out. That kind of approach is putting the cart before the horse. If any of you know how to meet the right person without having a conversation first, please let me know. The biggest problem with online dating, for both sides, is anonymity. Anonymity apparently gives some people the idea that they can say or do things they normally wouldn't do face to face. From stories I've heard, some men on these sites are just interested in sex. They send old pictures and pretend to be someone they aren’t. Maybe these are the same guys that use those tacky pickup lines in bars. But when someone takes the time to notice you, read your profile, and write an email to learn more about you, you should answer. It doesn't take many emails to figure out if the other person is interesting, but there is no way to find out if you (or they) don’t say something in return. That being said, if I do reach out to you with an email, please do not think I am asking you out- or even WANT to ask you out. It simply means that something you said interests me and I want to find out more. If we only talked to the people we wanted to date or marry, the world would be a very quiet and boring place. As far as who I am looking for, intelligence, humor, and an open mind are must haves. I am usually attracted to women that are quirky, not afraid to voice their opinion, and may be (somewhat) difficult to deal with. Creativity and willingness to experience new things are a big plus. Physical attraction is important but I can't explain specifically what that means. I assume most of us feel the same way. More importantly, I am looking for friendship, love, affection, fun, intelligence, wit, and humor. Like most of us, I have seen a lot of people I am attracted to and met a lot of people I really like, maybe even love. Most of us here are ready to meet someone and are looking for a meaningful relationship. But simply cruising through pictures and never talking to anyone will not work. Everyone knows that good relationships thrive on good conversation. Getting to know someone for the first time is no different.

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Movies/Videos , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Playing cards , Playing sports , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Travel/Sightseeing , Watching sports

Sports & exercise

Basketball, Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Cycling, Dancing, Football, Golf, Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Soccer, Tennis / Racquet sports, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


I have Cats

I like Dogs

I have 2 rescue cats that my youngest son BEGGED me to adopt.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

Alaska, northwest Montana, Harper's Creek falls (Wilson Creek), Linville, Destin Florida, Irish/British pubs, Charleston, New Orleans


The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC

Favorite things

spending time with my boys, beaches, mountain trails and streams, driving a British convertible on a beautiful fall day, a really good book, a really good concert, spending time with the woman I love (not necessarily in that order ;)

For fun

Movies, hiking, tennis, travel, golf, and rock climbing. Riding my motorcycle in the mountains on weekends, travelling

Last read

"Shadow of the Hegemon" (part of Ender's Game series)



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 5'2" (157cms) to 5'11" (180cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Hazel No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Sales / Marketing No preference
Phamaceutical sales
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (2) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Latino / Hispanic, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian
Creativity, intelligence, humor, and passion are my main criteria.
Faith: Christian / Protestant Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Jewish, Christian / Other
I was raised Baptist but have since converted to "Liberal Baptist". In other words, I like to dance, drink socially, and prefer contemporary service to traditional.
Languages: English English
Education: Bachelors degree Associates degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
College of Charleston UNC-Chapel Hill; BA History GA State; teaching certification