
scoglio

57 year old man | Carlsbad, CA, USA | Seeking women 38-49 within 30 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 11

His details

Relationship:
Currently Separated
Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (1)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
Other
Body type:
Athletic and toned
Height:
5'8" (172cms)
Faith:
Atheist
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Moderately
To save your time, I should come right out and...

In his own words

To save your time, I should come right out and admit that I'm not a football/ baseball/ basketball fan; no rock/pop/country either; not even much of a jazz fan (though I used to be). I realize this may sound snotty. I regret that: I'm not like that, but it's important for me to be honest and upfront. Now, if you're still reading: I am a great believer in the transcendent wondrousness of life in the real world, without resort to delusion or daydreaming. That's why I named my daughter (the equivalent of) Wonder. I'm for neither frills nor fancy nor stuffiness, and all for quality, substance and integrity. I value aesthetics, in both the abstract and mundane. I appreciate the pleasures of the mind- and the body and senses too. I don't appreciate materialism, the delusion of religion or the violence of sports like American football (I like soccer though). I am somewhat of an introvert, preferring one-on-one or small gatherings to larger ones. I'm not big on dancing or smalltalk. Though I am judgmental, I am broad-minded and appreciate that there are many right ways. I am also fundamentally a very giving person: e.g. for 8 years I put my wife through college (not just financially but with many hundreds of hours of tutoring). Life has presented me with great opportunities. I am able to make a living of my hobby, scientific research. It affords me a creative outlet that, frankly, I'd pay for if I could. (but hey, let's keep this between us and away from my employer's prying eyes). So I work hard daily at being the best I can be in my field. Life has also presented me with a wonderfully gifted- if these days somewhat difficult- adolescent daughter that I'm trying hard to bring up in the right way. Outside of work and family, I enjoy biking or running daily (always starting about the crack of dawn), hiking (I've hiked all over the place, from the Sierras to the Dolomiti to the mountains of China and even Mt. Fuji in Japan); I listen a lot to classical music while working or not and try to catch some quality concerts (Bach collegium San Diego is a favorite; sometimes also the SD Opera). Dating for me is a means to an end, that of starting to build a close and deep relationship-- I have little time for or interest in any other kind. Thus, I seek an educated, sophisticated, compatible companion, someone I could mesh with, to share my thoughts and feelings. Someone to whom 'beauty of ideas' is not an oxymoron and 'the road less traveled' is not synonymous with 'do not enter'. Someone who appreciates life's simple pleasures- but who appreciates that complexity can be beautiful and pleasurable too. You should be in your 40s, as I am not attracted to older women. Am I expecting too much ?

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Running, Walking / Hiking


I exercise 5 or more times per week.


Sign

I don't believe in astrology

Pets

I like Other

Had a pet rock once, but it passed.

Political views

Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Southern Utah, Eastern Sierra, the Dolomiti, Nice (city and region), Vancouver and BC, Berkeley, San Francisco, Coronado, Del Mar, my oceanview deck (especially at sunset)

College

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Favorite things

J. S. Bach (especially the keyboard and liturgical works), Baroque Opera (Handel, Rameau), Paul Auster, Alice Munro, espresso, sailing (memories of), sitting on my deck under a winter sun gazing at the Ocean.

For fun

Classical music, biking, hiking, sightseeing, movies/video (more foreign/indie than Hollywood), reading novels

Last read

Invisible (Auster), Super Sad True Love Story (Shteyngart), NYT (daily)



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'8" (172cms) 4'0" (121cms) to 6'6" (198cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Grey, Platinum
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Moderately Never, Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Labor / Construction, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retail / Food services, Retired, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Student, Education / Teacher / Professor, Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Law enforcement / Security / Military, Fashion / Model / Beauty, Architecture / Interior design
STEM field
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Currently Separated Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (1) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background / Values
Ethnicity: Other Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
My ethnic roots are east-European jewish
Faith: Atheist Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other
I have 'faith' in reason, free thinking and Science. To me, belief in a supreme being that is an obvious human knockoff is an anachronism.
Languages: English, French, Italian English
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
PhD Berkeley; PostDoc Princeton, Chicago et al.