
ConundrumJ

55 year old man | Pasadena, CA, USA | Seeking women 45-50 within 15 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 5

His details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, and they live away from home (2)
Wants kids:
No
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
A few extra pounds
Height:
6'0" (182cms)
Faith:
Christian / Catholic
Smoke:
Cigar aficionado
Drink:
Social Drinker
Nel mezzo del cammin di nostra vita mi ritrovai per una selva oscura

In his own words

Editing a profile on a iPad is a clunky affair but necessary, and a good use of time while my son sleeps in on our Christmas break trip to DC. The photos are in desperate need of updating, but the photo of my daughter giving me a hug on the first visiting opportunity during her freshman year at Webb in Claremont is among my favorites, so despite its four year age it stays. (I got the call from her yesterday telling me that she was accepted for early decision at Scripps College: what a thing of joy to hear the elation mixed with relief and at least a small dose of well-deserved pride!). As does the picture of my son and me at Casanova in Carmel. I'm thinner and cleanly shaven now so I can justify it. More photos on the way...I don't usually like to take photos of myself but need to get into the habit (and hopefully the can be annotated once approved.) I'm 55, largely retired after 30 long and painful years in the bond market, although I have other interests which require attention from time to time. In September 2014, I enrolled at the local junior college to study Italian (and other subjects which from time to time look interesting.) For the Fall 2015 semester I joined the three month study abroad semester in Florence. Much of it was great. A good amount was somewhat less so, but will make for interesting conversation and if anyone is pondering a similar program I have some good observations. My divorce is complete and my relations with the ex are as good as they've ever been...after all we have a common challenge: the children. Between separation and divorce I left the Episcopal Church to become a Roman Catholic. If I were ever to remarry, it would have to be with someone who can legally marry in the RC church. I found the annulment process somewhat intimidating but depending on one's faith and views, it can be worthwhile. I'm one of the "High Latin Mass" types. On the recreation front, I enjoy a casual weekend jaunt on the Harley or BMW touring bike. I like to travel, do the museum rounds, read, occasionally think. I've put golf down, but really I'm a recovering golfer. I came to golf late and undertook it with the usual zeal of the convert. I haven't played in 5 years so I've signed up for an extensive series of lessons. So, it's now or never with golf. Like everyone on the planet, I'm looking for someone financially and emotionally secure, who has enough in common with me to provide a foundation for a relationship, yet has interests outside of my own, to use a base to create our own set on memories and experiences.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Performing arts , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Travel/Sightseeing , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Golf, Weights / Machines


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Sign

I don't believe in astrology

Pets

I like Dogs

Sadly I live in a house adjacent to a canyon and isn't suitable for a dog. At some point I'd like to live where I can own a Weimaraner, the pet of my youth.

Political views

Conservative

Favorite hot spots

I don't have "hot spots" as such. I do like dining out somewhat less frequently than some, but at memorable, sometimes new, restaurants which serve meals which are impossible to recreate at home.

College

Lewis & Clark College, Portland, OR

Favorite things

Spending time on California's Central Coast, eating good food and drinking good wine with friends going to new museums or to old favorites, having the occasional boozy lunch on a rainy day, or remaining completely unproductive for a whole weekend.

For fun

I enjoy traveling -- there are many places I wish to visit. I own a couple of Harleys and a BMW touring bike, which are great fun, but I haven't yet undertaken an ambitious road trip. I used to be a fairly avid golfer, and may return.

Last read

Barofsky's "Bailout." Before that, "Secret Rooms" by Catherine Bailey, a recounting of the wartime career and later death of the 9th Duke of Rutland. Currently reading Kimball's "The Fortunes of Permanence." I read the Financial Times, WSJ and NYT.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 6'0" (182cms) 5'4" (162cms) to 6'0" (182cms)
Body type: A few extra pounds Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: Cigar aficionado No Way, Occasionally, Cigar aficionado, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker, Regularly
Occupation: Retired No preference
I spent 30 years in the investment management world. Currently I devote a lot of time to family investment but will likely return to the professional world.
Income: $150,001+ $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they live away from home (2) No, Yes, and they live away from home
Wants kids: No No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
My mother was Italian (her father emigrated from Sicily, her mother was 1st generation from Tuscany.) My dad's mother was German, his father more of a Euro-Mutt (although the lineage goes back to 1600s when New York was New Amsterdam.)
Faith: Christian / Catholic Christian / Catholic
I used to be a fairly high-church Episcopalian. I've been received into the Roman Catholic Church but am parish shopping,
Languages: English English
Education: Bachelors degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral