
Misenplace2012

41 year old man | Portland, OR, USA | Seeking women 32-45 within 30 miles of Los Angeles, CA

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 14

His details

Relationship:
Never Married
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
5'7" (170cms)
Faith:
Other
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
After living in Los Angeles my entire life,...

In his own words

After living in Los Angeles my entire life, I'm relocating to the Portland area in early November. I've fallen in love with the area, the people, the food, the weather, the culture, the Timbers and everything else, but did I really need to go on after saying I've lived in LA my entire life? I'm excited to embark on this next great adventure, but I don't know much of the city outside the downtown area, and know very few people who live in the area. Which means I could certainly use a companion to check out restaurants or bars or hiking trails or whatever else with, as I don't mind going out alone, but I imagine the conversation will be better if someone else is there. I generally don't have a problem making conversation or getting someone to laugh. I like to think I'm smart/bright/wise, or at least that I have a healthy sense of wonder and love to constantly learn new things. I'm responsible and honest and more of a glass-half-full type of person. For most of my life, I've worked several exciting jobs in the entertainment/infotainment industry. In my 20s, I created one of the Internet's first entertainment news sites, which eventually resulted in me running a couple of print magazines for geeks and pop culture junkies. I then got hooked up with a TV show targeting that same demo while on a work trip to the south of France, and spent much of my 30s working as a producer on a live daily cable show. I was too busy to breathe during much of that time, but had a blast not only overseeing silly celebrity interviews but more importantly being on the forefront of educating the masses on social, political and technological issues. That show ended in early 2013, and since then I've been freelancing for various TV and Internet shows, producing podcasts and live comedy shows and just finally enjoying a little downtime to travel and revisit old friends. Somewhere during the aforementioned paragraph, I went back to school and was certified a Le Cordon Bleu chef. I've worked at a few restaurants, and even ran a food truck in LA earlier this year, but after several attempts on my life by my truck (spontaneously combusting, falling apart, losing power while going 60 on the freeway), I decided to escape with my health and sanity, and return to freelancing. Portland's food pods are enticing, though, and I'm not entirely ruling out starting one up there after investigating the market a bit more. I do love to cook, though, but generally find cooking for myself boring, which is another reason I could stand to meet someone up there. When left to my own devices, I'm more likely to just stick some kale and carrots in my juicer, but generally I like to cook rustic, comfort, farm-to-table food. I do love vegetables, and have experimented with veganism or other restrictive (aka healthy) diets, but I am definitely a meat-eater. I do really enjoy pickling things or brewing my own beer/wine/etc, and am eager to start growing a garden wherever I move into, even if it's on my patio. I'm looking for someone I have chemistry with, someone who shares a lust for life and has their own passions, someone always up for a new adventure and someone who is genuinely a good person. I'm not in any great rush for anything, but in the end I'm looking for something serious and long-term.

His interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Political interests , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Other types of exercise, Running, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Sign

Aquarius

Pets

I like Birds, Cats, Dogs, Exotic Pets, Fish, Gerbils / Guinea Pigs / Etc., Horses, Other, Reptiles

I adore animals, especially big dogs (and monkeys). I haven't been home enough in recent years or had a yard where a dog could run around, but I'm strongly considering changing that once I settle in to my new place.

Political views

Liberal

Favorite hot spots

I'm new to Portland so I don't necessarily have any favorite places, but I do love Powell's, Sunday Farmer's Market at PSU, Ground Kontrol, McMenamin's Kennedy School, Pine State Biscuits and many other eateries.

College

California School of Culinary Arts, Pasadena, CA

Favorite things

Food, food and food. Tons of music, TV, films and books. Chili Garlic Sauce, News, Humor, Zombies.

For fun

I'm a big news junkie; Be it entertainment, tech, politics, whatever. I love the 24-hour news cycle, warts and all. But I also love shutting off the phone/cpu/ipad/etc and enjoying a little serenity. It's all about moderation.

Last read

I tend to always be reading a few books -- Currently finishing up Lev Grossman's Magicians trilogy, but I'm bouncing between 6 or so other books as well.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'7" (170cms) 4'11" (149cms) to 5'9" (175cms)
Body type: About average Slender, Big and beautiful, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned, Full-figured, Heavyset, A few extra pounds, Stocky
Eyes: Blue Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Grey, Platinum
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Artistic / Creative / Performance No preference
Spent much of the last 10 years working in TV & Internet production, but also occasionally cook professionally and various side projects like producing comedy shows at UCB & NerdMelt
Income: I'll tell you later Less Than $25,000, $25,001 to $35,000, $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Definitely, Someday, Not sure, Probably not, No
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
Polish mutt.
Faith: Other No preference
Humanist
Languages: English English
Education: Associates degree High school, Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I'm trained as a Le Cordon Bleu chef, but got sidetracked into print and TV for the last decade and am only now returning to my education. Pretty good at picking up whatever skills I need for any given job.