
sophiadatura

48 year old woman | Brooks, ME, USA | Seeking men 37-55 within 100 miles

Forward her profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 17

Her details

Relationship:
Never Married
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
Not sure
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
Height:
5'7" (170cms)
Faith:
Spiritual but not religious
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
Truth above all..." (And later we'll discuss what "Truth" is and whether there is any absolute truth...!)

In her own words

I am independent, warm, and intellectually interested in just about anything, but am pretty particular about how I actually spend my time. I am committed to doing work in which I believe and I'm far more likely to do than to watch, and love both having adventures -- whether it's exploring a part of the world new to me, going on a short of long road trip, or just walking in a part of the woods adjacent to my house where i've not wandered before -- and staying at home reading. I like changing the oil in my car and being a carpenter's assistant, as well as getting dressed up. I'm looking for someone who also loves being outside and who is both independent, as well as wanting to share his time and have adventures with me! I'm looking for someone who's a good communicator -- or is willing to be better! -- and who has a good sense of who he is, both strengths AND growing edges. While it's true that I can be quite serious, I think I balance that out with an adventuresome streak which has lead me to drive cross-county 9 times (several times alone but for the company of my beloved dog, Enkidu, now no longer with me), and to wander through the poorest sections of Cairo -- where the roads were just dirt ruts and people still lived in houses with walls partially knocked out in 197...3? by an earthquake -- only a scant 2 weeks before the uprising. I'm not afraid of spiders or snakes, but rather like them. However a depth of water will make me nervous... although I'll still swim in it... alone, even! Life is too rich a treasure to be missed because of irrational fears! I guess I could fit Joni Michell's description:"I am a woman of heart and mind,/ with time on her hands, no child to raise." But... I do keep pretty busy! After getting a master's degree in English Literature, I spent my twenties teaching English at boarding schools (Phillips Exeter Academy Native American Prep -- in northern NM) as well as at community colleges. Working with high school students, especially, impacted me and enriched my life tremendously. I am still in touch with a number of former students who have become friends over the years, and cultivating those relationships, as well as being able to work in such diverse communities and engage with such different cultures (PEA is a very international school and Native American Prep, although trans-tribal, had mostly Navajo and Pueblo students), is a blessing. It is one of the places where I put the energy which did not go toward children. After getting a second MA in dance tharapies, my thirties was devoted to art: studying, teaching and performing dance (Flamenco and Middle Eastern), as well as to developing my expertise as a visual artist. I have cultivated a love for, and part-time career of, painting on silk. Now in my forties, I am combining the two paths... for the time being, at least, teaching college composition and still teaching a lot of dance. In light of the above, I suppose it would be fair to say that I am looking for a man of heart and mind, as well, with enough time on his hands to cultivate a relationship. I am looking for someone who, like me, honors integrity and honesty... and a bit of fun!

Her interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Gardening/Landscaping , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Dancing, Inline skating, Skiing, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Yoga


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Sign

Sagittarius

Pets

I have Cats

I like Dogs, Horses

I had a most wonderful chow/shepherd cross who was my loyal companion for 13 years. He was as quiet and circumspect as a cat... and my cats come when they're called (more or less) and go for long walks with me (on which they 'find' things for me)!

Political views

Non-conformist

Favorite hot spots

(Local, extending outward) My south-facing livingroom, the pond behind my house, the local "Bald Mountain" (for there must be hundreds of thusly named locations), Donnell Pond, The Cutler Coast, VT, northern NM, northwest Wales, Cairo, Granada

Favorite things

Woodstoves, silk, all of the novels of Thomas Hardy and short stories of Edith Wharton, "Pina," flamenco, antique... anything(!), sunsets, Merchant-Ivory films, cobblestone streets, architecture of Richardson and Gaudi, expanses of field and forest

For fun

Tracking with my 2 cats, canoeing (3 seasons), getting people dancing in the streets (or anywhere!),gardening, travel (I'll go just about anywhere but Las Vegas), carving jack-o-lanterns, ice skating on ponds at dusk, caroling or other art mob acts!

Last read

"MIddlemarch" by George Eliot, "Blue Highways" by William Least Heat Moon, "East of Eden" by John Steinbeck, "O Pioneers" & "Death Comes for the Archbishop" by Willa Cather, "The Flamenco Academy" by Sara Bird (cuz I was interviewed for it!)



More about her Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Her What she is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'7" (170cms) 5'4" (162cms) to 7'11" (241cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Artistic / Creative / Performance No preference
I teach and perform 2 dance idioms, as well as teach college English; am also a visual artist (I paint on silk and various other crafty things as they engage me).
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home
Wants kids: Not sure Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
Honoring the life in all things is a daily practice. My influences are varied -- from reading Taoist and Buddhist texts as well as Sufi poetry, to engaging in earth-based ceremonies, women's circles, and Inipi ceremonies.
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree No preference