

34 year old man | Washington, DC, USA | Seeking women 28-35 within 20 miles

Active within 1 hour

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 10

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
I'll tell you later
Black / African descent
Body type:
Athletic and toned
5'7" (170cms)
Christian / Catholic
No Way
I'll tell you later
Ok so I'm somewhat new to this online dating...

In his own words

Ok so I'm somewhat new to this online dating process and up to this point I've been half steppin it! The process is a bit confusing to me because, vis-à-vis, real life encounters, this process fails to develop anything more than superficial connections...unless however you give the process a chance and share a bit more with the community. So here is my attempt to do just that and give the process a fair shake. I am a mixture of two distinct cultures -- who I am as a person is largely influenced by the foregoing statement. My parents came to the US in the early 70's from Nigeria -- somewhat immediately after the Biafran war. My father came first then second my mother. My father tells the story, "I arrived with $10 in my pocket..." Fast forward several years and they are blessed with six children -- we all grew up in the States. I played American football in college (sacrilege to a Nigerian) but when World Cup rolls around, trust me I bleed White and Green! I have my guilty pleasure tv shows (read Suits or Graceland) but on the same day you can find me reading a Chinua Achebe or Chimamandi Adichie book. Catch me on most any given day and you'll detect no accent (a product of being largely raised in CO) BUT for some reason if you get me around a bunch of other Africans my voice inexplicably changes to a half Brit half Naija boy -- what?! I can eat cereal for breakfast lunch and dinner but take me home to Nigeria and Fufu, Jollof rice and Plantain are the course du jour -- not every day though because while I dig it, that stuff is heavy man! All I really mean by the above is my life has been infused by two distinct cultures -- and so when you meet me while you might not get to experience the full monty on day one, if you truly get to know me you'll see the beauty of both the American and Nigerian culture borne out in me -- maybe some of the annoying aspects of each too. :) Other comments about me: My goodness I'm quite laid back -- quite mystifying to some. Am I driven...sure of course I am. But it's all relative right? I can be quite shy at the right moments, which to the right person can actually be quite endearing and very cute. But then I have my moments when I wil' out...oh dear I just had a flash back and laughed...good times good times. I think I have fantastic humor (I laugh at me ALL THE TIME) but I've heard it classified as sarcastic or even quirky...some others have said "special". My dearest of friends know I am most myself when traveling -- I've been blessed to do a fair amount of it. Imagine if we traveled as much as we [insert judgmental comment here] -- we would be such a better society for it! With me when I travel is my camera - I love photos of humans in candid moments. Why can't I get to sleep before 1am!??? I'm a night owl. I LOVE running -- watching it and participating in it! The former I've had to do more so than the latter because of injuries but I hope that will change in the near future. I get soooo giddy (not a word in the Nigerian dictionary I know -- hush) watching runners on TV and around DC. I analyze everyone's form and my heart warms to about 75 degrees when I see beautiful form. I've come to terms with the fact that I'm competitive -- it's a healthy competitive I think. But above all what might define me best is I am just plain nice -- possibly too nice. Who am I looking for: Someone who understands the real essence of being kind; that kindness is not a privilege relegated only to the fortunate but rather a necessity that should be shared with everyone. Someone who believes that family is utterly important and dear. Someone who considers being active a natural part of life. A goof ball -- I need a goof ball. Someone who builds me up by keeping me humble (wait what...?) -- yep. Someone who adores getting lost in the sights and sounds of other culture. Someone who shows her strength not outwardly but inwardly. Many a more things but this is a good start

His interests

Cooking , Travel/Sightseeing , Watching sports

Sports & exercise

Aerobics, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Don't display my sign


I like Dogs

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

McAfee's Knob; Eastern Market; U Street

Favorite things

Movies: Gladiator; Wizard of Oz; Friday Books: Chinua Achebe; Jose Saramago; Isabella Allende Tv Shows: Suits; Rookie Blue; NFL; NCAA Football/Basketball

Last read

Chinua Achebe: There was a Country



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'7" (170cms) 3'0" (91cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Black Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Black Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Salt and pepper
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: I'll tell you later Social Drinker, Moderately
Occupation: Financial / Accounting / Real Estate No preference
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: I'll tell you later Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Background / Values
Ethnicity: Black / African descent No preference
Nigerian American
Faith: Christian / Catholic Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant
Don't worry I'm not judgmental
Languages: English, Spanish English
Education: Graduate degree High school, Bachelors degree