
SoCalGeek

44 year old man | San Gabriel, CA, USA | Seeking women 32-49 within 25 miles

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 8

His details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (2)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
6'1" (185cms)
Faith:
Atheist
Smoke:
Occasionally
Drink:
Social Drinker
Ready to start again? Me too. Seeking witty, intelligent, independent and vivacious partner/companion. Is it you?

In his own words

Abstract: I am a University Science Professor and recently divorced father of two girls. Contrary to what my profession implies, I am not socially awkward; I am very energetic, great with people, and am usually the life of the party (I will make you laugh till you cry). My goal here is to ultimately find a partner, companion, counterpart and best friend to make some lasting memories (while probably forging some new friendships along the way). Introduction: I am originally from Arizona but my family roots are in the upper mid-west which may explain my inherent core values (honesty, integrity, hard work, etc.). I am serious and driven in my career. Besides teaching, I have my own laboratory where my research group studies breast cancer and stem cells; greatest job in the world. My two daughters (10 and 13) are the most important things in my life and take up most of my "spare" time. I am awesome with kids and have no problems if you have your own. I would describe myself as a living paradox. I am an extroverted introvert (love to go out but love to stay home alone). I am an optimistic pessimist (I try to be a pessimist so I will never be disappointed but can’t help myself!). I am a cynical idealist (always want to make things better for others but the machine constantly thwarts my efforts!). I am a serious joker (a driven person but always injects humor into any situation; even very inappropriate situations). I am also a manly girly-man (I play rugby football but proudly drive a minivan and clip coupons). If you were worried, no, I am not bipolar. Results (Positive): My friends would probably say that my best attribute (and favorite thing to do) is to make people laugh. I love getting to that moment where someone will laugh and let their guard down, they relax; that’s when you get to meet the real them. I will try anything to get a laugh. My main weapons are sarcasm and self-deprecation. I am also relatively adventurous in trying anything once (with exceptions, of course). I want to see as much and experience as much before I can’t, know what I mean? Results (Negative (?)): I can be opinionated (52% of the time I am right all the time) but my views can be changed if the discussion is rooted in facts and logic – faith, gut-feelings, obscure correlations, etc. are irrelevant. Which brings up religion… I am an atheist. I will not, however, judge you based on your religious views just as long as we keep our (dis)beliefs to ourselves; let’s agree to disagree. Unless you reject evolution, in which case I urge you to immediately close your browser, put on your red Nike shoes and drink the grape Kool-Aid (see: Natural Selection). Conclusions: I am looking for a partner who, like me, is genuine, honest and open. Life is too short to play games and to try to mold ourselves to be someone we are not. This was a painful but important lesson I learned from my marriage. Another important lesson was the need for communication – we must talk honestly and constantly; none of that passive aggressive stuff or burying our feelings. This will easily make us best friends and strengthen all aspects of our relationship. I am looking for a confident, independent, strong woman who takes care of herself (and family); she doesn’t need a man but she wants one. Please do not respond if you are clingy or insecure (emotionally or physically) or if you have been described as “high maintenance” – I will not be your emotional blanket, savior or Sugar Daddy. I am highly attracted to women who are intelligent, witty, driven, mature (intellectually) and know what they want. In most cases, age and race make no difference to me; it’s about connection. If the above describes you, please send me an email. Thanks.

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Political interests , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Basketball, Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Dancing, Football, Golf, Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines


I exercise 1-2 times per week.


Sign

Libra

Pets

I like Dogs

I have had dogs pretty much my whole life. This is the first time in a long time that I have not had a canine companion.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

I'm not really a "club-type" of guy; too loud and I like conversation. I prefer to be at a friend's party with adult beverages (i.e. kegger in their backyard) where we can all be ourselves and get goofy. Those are the times you remember.

College

The University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

Favorite things

I love to eat out and try new restaurants/food. Been going to a lot of concerts lately seeing bands I have always wanted to see, which has been awesome. Like playing/watching competitive sports. Love my work and spending time with my amazing kids!

For fun

I really enjoy watching movies (anything from a documentary to cheesy horror flicks); helps me escape reality for 1.5-2 hrs. I look forward to kicking back and spending time with friends. I love watching and cheering for my kids in their sports.

Last read

I rarely get a chance to read books although I read all the time because of my work. The most recent was a review article in Molecular Cell entitled, "The Active Role of Chromatin in the DNA Damage Response". I suppose that speaks volumes about me...



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 6'1" (185cms) 4'8" (142cms) to 6'8" (203cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Salt and pepper No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: Occasionally No Way, Occasionally, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker, Moderately
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
Income: $150,001+ No preference
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (2) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
I have no preference on ethnicity. In retrospect, I think I have only dated whites in the past so it would be great to meet/date non-whites.
Faith: Atheist No preference
I don't believe in (insert favored deity here), but for some reason I believe in Karma. Things happen for a reason and it all comes around. I have no problem if you are religious but please keep that between you and (insert favored deity here).
Languages: English English
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
BS and PhD from the University of Arizona (Go Cats!), did my post-doctoral work at the University of Virginia (Go Cavs!) and currently have my own laboratory at a major LA University.