
Qi_Gong_Lover

60 year old man | Gold River, CA, USA | Seeking women 50-65 within 30 miles

Active within 1 hour

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 25

His details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, and they live away from home (2)
Wants kids:
No
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
Height:
5'9" (175cms)
Faith:
Buddhist / Taoist
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
Is it you?

In his own words

I am a courageous, adventurous retired Jeffersonian who was into fly fishing and home wine making in a previous life. Do you love the outdoors and hiking but can also dress up for the theater? Can you rub elbows in the kitchen with an avid pseudo-gourmet chef whose passion is searing Chilean Sea Bass in butter and white wine and grilling ribeye steaks lathered in rosemary infused olive oil on the barbee? Do you share an obsession for Bistecca Fiorentina? How about helping me clean up the mess I've created preparing our gourmet repast? I am a complex, intense, passionate man but I also have an incredible sense of humor and the ability to laugh at myself. I value, respect, and appreciate the richness and flow of Life in all its aspects even the seemingly mundane (I enjoy doing dishes, laundry, grocery shopping.) After flying the Pacific for 25 years as a pilot for Northwest Airlines I retired in 2009. In 2011, I was diagnosed with CMML, a rare blood cancer, which rapidly progressed into Acute Myeloid Leukemia. Leukemia was God's greatest gift for it opened my eyes and my Soul for the first time to everything: relationships with family and friends, nature, our Creator, Life and Death, my gifts, and my purpose. After 3 months of chemotherapy I had a bone marrow transplant in March, 2012, at the City of Hope near Pasadena, CA. God's second greatest gift to me was Qi Gong, an ancient Chinese healing art. Practicing and cultivating the healing power of Qi Gong gave me the energy, inspiration, and quietude of spirit to withstand the constant onslaught of toxic drugs and invasive procedures the doctors used to save my life. Western medicine is just beginning to embrace the time tested power of Eastern medicine in using the mind to heal the body. I am living testament to that truth. In June, 2013, I completed my certification in Lee Holden's (PBS TV fame) Qi Gong Instructor School in Santa Cruz, CA, and continue my healing journey, teaching this beautiful healing art at several area health clubs. If you like yoga you'll love Qi Gong! IMPORTANT NOTE: Due to my illness I am immuno compromised and cannot be with anyone who has an STD. I'm old fashioned and value intimacy with a partner: monogamy is a prerequisite. If this is an issue I thank you for taking the time to read my profile and wish you blessings and good fortune as you go to the next profile. I am a Taoist, tolerant of all faiths and believe our Creator loves and communicates with each of us individually through Intuition, nature, and our life force energy (Qi). A miracle, I live each day, each moment in thankfulness for everything - good and bad. Life can be gritty, dirty, filled with trials and lessons which test our character, determine our destiny - ethos anthropoi daimon. What did Leukemia teach me? When the mind is still the Universe surrenders. My perfect date: a picnic hike on the Rubicon Trail, Lake Tahoe with a back pack filled with olives, cheese, prosciutto, a bottle of 2007 Barolo (great vintage), followed by long, passionate kisses on the Healing Rock overlooking the lake. Do you hold sacred the commitment and integrity of a vow? Can you fathom the sanctity of nature, the timeless, shimmering beauty of an ocean sunset, the deep inner echo of a moonrise over Lake Tahoe? Are you an emotionally healthy like-minded woman? Can you love and be loved freely, with abandon in the deepest recesses of your Soul? I've been coming to you on a hard road. The Barolo rests in the cellar awaiting our adventure. Is it you?

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Religion/Spiritual , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Aerobics, Baseball, Cycling, Martial arts, Running, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga


I exercise 5 or more times per week.


Sign

Virgo

Pets

I like Cats, Dogs

Owned most dog breeds over my life or been bitten by them as a paperboy: labs, collies, English Pointer, German short hair, Dalmatian (never owned or been bitten by a Chihuahua for all you ladies out there who have one). I love Russian Blue cats.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

Biba's and Scotts on the RIver in Sacramento, Tra Vigne in St. Helena, Il Forno in Gold River, and Piperade in San Francisco followed by a performance at 42nd Street Moon Theater on Jackson. Gar Woods in Carnelian Bay near Tahoe Vista.

College

United States Air Force Academy, USAF Academy, CO

Favorite things

Cooking is a passion -steaks, seafood. I don't watch a lot of TV but I enjoy Chopped and will occasionally pull stuff out of the fridge and cabinets and start cooking! Pairing food and wine is a favorite. I love to camp, hike, and practice Qi Gong.

For fun

Hiking, biking, gym, yoga, qi gong, wine tasting, travelling. Being a pilot in the Air Force and Northwest Airlines over 33 years and two careers, I have been just about everywhere in the world. Favorite foreign places: New Zealand and Australia.

Last read

Writing In the Sand by Thomas Moore, Running From Safety by Richard Bach, Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King, The Places That Scare You by Pema Chodron, Jack London's The Call of the Wild, The Wandering Taoist, Tao De Ching



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'9" (175cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 5'11" (180cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Salt and pepper Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker
Occupation: Retired Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retired, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Law enforcement / Security / Military, Architecture / Interior design
I was an Air Force pilot (active duty and reserves/Desert Storm) and a B-747 pilot and Captain for 25 years.
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they live away from home (2) No, Yes, and they live away from home
Wants kids: No No
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian White / Caucasian
Faith: Buddhist / Taoist Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Spiritual but not religious
I am a Taoist but Taoism is not well understood. I believe that the Tao/God communicates with each of us directly and not through a religion or church. There are no Taoist churches that I know of. I commune with the Tao through nature and my Qi.
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
Bachelor of Science from US Air Force Academy, CO, double majoring in History and Political Science. Master of Arts from C S U Sacramento in International Affairs. Instructor Pilot and Flight Examiner in the U S Air Force.