

40 year old man | Ballard, WA, USA | Seeking women 30-37 within 35 miles of Seattle, WA

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 17

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Not sure
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
5'7" (170cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
-I love my job, which lets me spend time on...

In his own words

-I love my job, which lets me spend time on the water. One of the funniest things I ever witnessed just happened a few weeks ago. We were all standing around on deck and we sailed right by this guy in the water. He was flapping his arms around and screaming "Help, SHARK, Help!" We all just laughed because we all knew there was no chance that shark was gonna help him. --I see the humor in almost everything. Which means occasionally I'll say something so horrifically funny you may almost fart. Which I know is something you have never once done in your life. See? New experiences can be fun. -Very much enjoy cooking though find it's a chore when only cooking for myself. I'd like to get into learning all about charcuterie (cured meats and sausages, basically) I'd also love to get into smoking (food, not weed) but I live on a sailboat which definitely incurs some space limitations. -I am realizing that if you happen to have a large garage/workspace that would be a definite plus. Which is probably the only time anyone in the history of internet dating has actually listed 'workspace' as 'desirable in your partner'. -Also, if you would like to learn how to fly sailplanes that is a plus. -Anyway.... I do work on boats so if you are looking for someone to be home every single day I am definitely not for you. If you are independent and are looking for someone who is supportive and loyal, albeit sometimes from a distance, then I can do that. -I lived in Japan for 5 years. Studying, teaching, working on a shiitake mushroom farm and lots of other things. Recently returned from 2 years teaching in Kuwait. Yes, I have traveled extensively. And I like it. Even when I hate it. The short bio is that I have done a great deal of very cool (to me, anyway) things and am happy to have had the opportunities and experiences. I do not intend to stop traveling but am looking for much more of a stable center. -Ideally you would have more freedom in your schedule than that afforded by the usual 9-5, two weeks off a year gig. Though I fully understand that there are ideals and then there are realities. -I believe every single profile on this site should be read with the following quote in mind: "I know you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." Point being is that it is very easy to skim through profiles and make very quick snap judgements. I think that is a bit of a shame since, unless you are so fascinatingly shallow even The Jersey Shore would reject you, no one can be summed up within this rather brief little profile. If ever. -So. -I would like you to be a grown-up human being. You have your own unique experiences of life. Hopefully you have learned something from them. I am not going to write some laundry list of what I am looking for. It may in fact be you. If not, let's have a first date so horrendous we will have our friend's laughing so hard about it they get the hiccups.

His interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Exploring new areas , Playing cards , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Other types of exercise, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


I don't believe in astrology


I like Dogs

I' don't harbor resentment towards pretty much anyone's pet. That's just weird. Though if you use a squeaky voice and dress your animal in hand-knit sweaters we may have a problem. No, actually, we will have a problem.

Political views

Some other viewpoint

Favorite hot spots

Stockholm in the summer. Hookena beach on the Big Island in winter. Roatan Island for diving and friends. Japan at anytime. Seattle-wise I tend to stick around Ballard.

Favorite things

Books, beer, fresh sheets, pure physical exhaustion and then climbing into bed, kisses that are like a conversation, well-behaved dogs, making someone laugh really hard, new experiences and my family/friends.

For fun

It varies wildly. Wanting to get back to Honduras to finish off my DiveMaster. Need to get a new kayak. Would like to try rowing. Some days I really get into doing not much at all and others may find me driving to Mexico for a taco.Love tacos.

Last read

Authors I like. T.C. Boyle, P.G. Wodehouse and David Mitchell. This is not at all an exhaustive list. I love books.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'7" (170cms) 4'9" (144cms) to 6'0" (182cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Green No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No preference
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Other profession No preference
I work on boats which is something I love. Have spent a lot of time and effort getting to where I am in my job and am rather happy with how things have shaken out. I also hold a teaching degree and have taught in both Japan and Kuwait.
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: Not sure No preference
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
UK on one side and Czech/Slovak on the other. Which meant that no matter where we went for Christmas some variety of food was going to get boiled for hours and hours. Ah, how the scent of waterlogged cabbage and beetroot takes me back.
Faith: Other No preference
I am founding my own religion (for tax purposes) and am quite excited about it. Mostly it is a loosely organized faith which involves never having to ruin an early Sunday morning by doing anything other than exactly what you want to do.
Languages: English, Japanese English, Other
Education: Bachelors degree No preference
My education was fantastic. Just like everyone else. I use trigonometry, physics and my knowledge of the Spanish-American war on a daily basis in real-life situations.