
omnifoodie

34 year old man | Berkeley, CA, USA | Seeking women 25-35 within 50 miles

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 18

His details

Relationship:
Never Married
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
Someday
Ethnicity:
Asian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
Height:
5'11" (180cms)
Faith:
Spiritual but not religious
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
Who's up for an adventure? Food, Cooking, Sports, the Outdoors, the Arts...you name it!

In his own words

Hello there, thanks for reading my profile! Long story short, like everyone here, I am a single, hard-working, honest, loyal, active/athletic, easy-going, smart person. I'm a regular Boy Scout, as they say (I actually was an Eagle Scout). I am an independent person and quite happy with my life, my job, my friends, etc, but I would certainly welcome meeting the right woman to develop a real, lasting relationship and to share all the great things that life has to offer. So about me: I recently finished my PhD at Berkeley (Dec 2011) and I am now starting the next phase of my career in industry. Hello Real World! This task occupies most of my daylight hours, but that's cool because it's interesting and I get to play with machines that help people stay healthy and from going blind. Right now I am commuting to Dublin on a week-daily basis...not sure how I feel about the commute yet, since I'm losing 8-10 hours a week on the road. I enjoy the new job, but I also have my interests outside of work. One thing I really enjoy is Food/Cooking. I read cookbooks from cover to cover (and I have many because I collect them), and I love to cook for my friends and family. It's just as easy to cook for 4 than just for 1, in my opinion. Sometimes I'll invite a dozen or two of my friends over and cook a sit down meal. I also enjoy trying new things at restaurants and thinking about how to recreate them in my kitchen. My friends actually just got me a copy of Modernist Cuisine for my birthday and I am looking forward to reading it and making us all new types of meals. I also enjoy staying active and playing sports. In college, I played several sports (at various times) as an undergrad on the East Coast at the varsity and club level, including swimming, crew, ultimate frisbee, and table tennis. I generally keep in pretty good shape (not counting time rehabbing from injuries). After moving to the Bay Area, I have taken up cycling in order to do triathlons. I've done events such as the SF marathon, Wharf-to-Wharf, the Iron Stomach Triathlon and I've Escaped from Alcatraz too. I also play soccer on a town league team. On a related note, I enjoy outdoor activities such as camping and hiking. My favorite thing about camping is going to the outdoors, making a fire, and watching it go all night with some good company. In my group of friends, I gravitate to the side that plans things. I organize the logistics of getting groups (small and large) to eat out, eat in, go out, etc. We call them Food Adventures. Food happens to be the things that most people remember, but we do other things as well (concerts, musuems, shows, etc). We also enjoy games, and I pick up card games, board games, and general group games pretty quickly. Some of my favorites are Poker, Settlers of Catan, The Great Dalmuti and Trivial Pursuit. I'm looking to meet someone who has similar interests and will introduce me to new things and activities. It'd be great to have someone to join me for both spontaneous trips and well-planned adventures as a traveling companion. I'd also like to share my love of Food and Cooking with someone so hopefully you appreciate a home-cooked meal...even better if you enjoy cooking with other people. Or if you are fond of cleaning dishes! I am allergic to smoke, so I would like to meet someone who is a non-smoker. If you have any questions for me about anything, feel free to ask.

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Other types of exercise, Running, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking


I exercise 5 or more times per week.


Sign

Taurus

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

New Orleans, Boston, Montreal, Wine Country, Tomales Bay, Monterey, Madrid, Hawaii (Oahu/Big Island)

College

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Favorite things

I love Food. Movies include Groundhogs Day, the Matrix, Armageddon, Shawshank, Ratatouille, Inception and more. TV includes Community, Modern Family, Game of Thrones, Psych, Parks and Rec, HIMYM, BSG, Farscape, and Burn Notice. Friends and Family!

For fun

Food, Cooking, Sports, Outdoor Activities, Games, Reading, Movies, Museums, etc Most importantly, I think it's all about the people with whom I share these activities and adventures.

Last read

The Complete Sherlock Holmes (Kindle)



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'11" (180cms) 3'0" (91cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, Big and beautiful, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned, Full-figured, Heavyset, A few extra pounds, Stocky
Eyes: Brown Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Black No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Labor / Construction, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retail / Food services, Retired, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Student, Education / Teacher / Professor, Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Law enforcement / Security / Military, Fashion / Model / Beauty, Architecture / Interior design
I used to do MRI research, now I try to prevent people from going blind from glaucoma
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Background / Values
Ethnicity: Asian Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
I am 100% American, but I am guessing I look Asian. I grew up in Louisiana (Southern/Cajun!) and spent my early adult years in college on the East Coast before coming out to the West coast for my PhD and current job. So I am Tri-Coastal!
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
Languages: English English
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I have a Bachelors and Masters from MIT and a joint PhD from Berkeley and UCSF.