
phylogeneticist

44 year old man | Moreno Valley, CA, USA | Seeking women 34-43 within 35 miles of Cathedral City, CA

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 9

His details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
Native American, White / Caucasian
Body type:
A few extra pounds
Height:
6'2" (187cms)
Faith:
I'll tell you later
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
Scientist seeks research subject for dating experiment that DOESN'T involve carbon 14...

In his own words

ABOUT ME: I enjoy nearly anything, especially if it involves the outdoors. I'm a researcher, so an intense curiousity about everything is part of my job. I’m a freak about mountain biking, an occasional photographer of the arcane, and a good beer enjoyer. I'm not a couch potato - I don't do the American loud guy on the couch screaming at the TV after having downed a 30-pack of bAd light as his sports team is losing. I do enjoy watching: soccer (football to the rest of the world), hockey, and during Olympic years, I absorb every event they put on! I Have a year left on my Ph.D., so expensive trips and uber high-priced restaurants are out unfortunately – at least in the short term. But, I can cook circles around most restaurants anyway ;-) I have a tinge of OCD (I check the door is locked multiple times before bed), I love to cook (and did I mention that I’m pretty good at it?), and I like poking around antique stores, yard and estate sales for mid-century modern items to augment my modest collection. I dig rocks (literally!), mountain biking, hiking, good food, photography, deserts, beaches, animals, dancing, and karoke (occasionally). I think I'm pretty good with kids, and the educator in me is always pointing things out, especially at tide pools and the ocean! LIKE most scientists, I'm an atheist; however, I RESPECTFULLY accept whatever faith you have - as long you don’t proselytize me! I’m driven, enthusiastic, and know what I want professionally. UNLIKE many scientists, I don’t own a closet full of sport coats, I don’t have a lab coat or own a pocket protector, and take my dog to the office with me at least 2x a week. I lecture in cargo shorts and a hoodie (although, I clean up pretty well for nights out). I love watching good flicks - just about anything, especially 40’s and 50’s movies, and Sci-Fi. I don’t take myself too seriously (except at conferences, talks, lecturing), and I think this is rather important. I tell students considering a career in geology to Google ‘geologist’, here's a favorite result from uncyclopedia: “Geologists are 'scientists' with unnatural obsessions with beer and rocks. Often too intelligent to do monotonous sciences like biology, chemistry, or physics, geologists devote their time to mud-worrying, volcano poking, fault finding, bouldering, dust-collecting, and high-risk colouring. One of the main difficulties in communicating with geologists is their belief that a million years is a short amount of time and their heads are harder than rocks. Consequently, such abstract concepts as "Tuesday Morning" and Lunchtime are completely beyond their comprehension. (This difficulty generates problems particularly when dealing with the girlfriend/boyfriend/spouse and attempting to explain why you were "gone for so long" or why something is taking "so long to occur.")” MY IDEAL MATE: I’m looking to meet someone who is laid back, accepting of others, healthy, and active; ideally, you would share some of the interests above – particularly those relating to the outdoors. Curiosity is a must - if you’re close-minded about natural phenomena, sorry, but we will be incompatible. Other than these, I really have very few ‘must-haves’ (wow, writing that feels weirdly like shopping for a car!). I suppose I should include something like ‘not interested in your drama,’ as I’ve seen in many of the profiles on here, but what if you’re an actor? I guess the only other requirement I have of my ideal mate is that you have at least a bit of post-secondary education. Not looking for a casual 'thing' - I want to meet the person who I'll share life with, find support in and lend support to, and to grow old with. Kids are a bonus - never had the opportunity to have any of my own, and have been ready for a long time now. So, really - I'm looking for a great person, and a package deal would be pretty good too! I know you're out there...

His interests

Alumni connections , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Soccer, Walking / Hiking


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Sign

Don't display my sign

Pets

I have Dogs, Fish, Other

Mixed breed girl (lab/German shepherd) found wandering and abused in the Desert. Small living nearly self-sufficient actual, real coral reef.

Political views

Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Snorkling in Laguna; mountain biking in Beaumont; the deserts, mountains, and beaches of southern California; Prague - the most beautiful city I have ever seen. Music: punk, alternative, ska, oldies, musicals, anything else with guts.

College

University of California, Riverside, Riverside, CA

Favorite things

Don't watch much TV, but Wipeout cracks me up - Big Balls! Music: Classical; Radiohead, Modest Mouse, REM, Flobots, Band of Horses, Gary Jules, the Cure, Black Flag - very eclectic as you can see!

For fun

Mountain biking; hiking; photographing the abandoned, used up dregs of our consumerist society, especially old buildings/military facilities; snorkling; movies, especially sci-fi, 40's and 50's movies; cooking; wine/cheese...

Last read

Models of Hawaiian volcano growth and plume structure: Implications of results from the Hawaii Scientific Drilling Project (LOL - dry sci-lit). I do enjoy re-reading some of my favorite poetry, especially Poe and Coleridge-Taylor.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 6'2" (187cms) 5'8" (172cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: A few extra pounds Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Bald No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker No preference
Occupation: I'll tell you later No preference
I teach college-level geology courses, lead field trips, etc, so I know some pretty cool places that are WAAYY off the beaten track.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Divorced No preference
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids No preference
Background / Values
Ethnicity: Native American, White / Caucasian Asian, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian
Bit of native American in there somewhere - Cherokee, I believe.
Faith: I'll tell you later No preference
Languages: English English
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
B.S., Geology, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA M.S., Geosciences, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA Ph.D., Earth Sciences, University of California, Riverside, CA