
Jurgen01

68 year old man | Glendale, CA, USA | Seeking women 55-63 within 25 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 13

His details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, and they live away from home (2)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
Height:
5'10" (177cms)
Faith:
Agnostic
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
About me: I was born and raised in Germany, on...

In his own words

About me: I was born and raised in Germany, on a farm, among lots of animals and lots of nature, so those are in my blood. That made me first of all a down-to-earth, self-reliant man. Came to the US at ten years old, and am therefore a mix of Old and New World attitudes, values, approaches. I’m idealistic, a romantic, I like to back the underdog, standing up for and doing what I think is right, and I am true to my word! One of my childhood heroes was Albert Schweitzer, a doctor who went to Africa to set up a clinic in the jungle, but not without somehow taking an organ with him so he could play his beloved Bach! After coming to the States I grew up in L.A., then found myself in North Carolina as a guest of the US Army, where I was a Special Forces Medic. (Must have been the Schweitzer influence). For a young man, the Army and the South were radicalizing experiences, and changed my politics completely (to the left). I also fell in love there for the first time, built myself a house with my proverbial bare hands on ten acres of beautiful forest while getting a degree in Zoology from UNC-Chapel Hill and a Masters from Duke. At this time I was bitten by the film bug and moved to Manhattan to attend NYU Grad Film School for my MFA, and became a film-maker. I pursued that career both there and later in LA where I worked as a cinematographer and traveled a good part of the world for many years, work that I loved, but in an industry that was at best difficult for someone with values of honesty and integrity and a desire to raise a family. When my marriage ended I stopped pursuing that vocation in order to be there for my two young daughters, who needed my presence in their lives and who now have grown into two strong, intelligent, beautiful young women of whom I am immeasurably proud. I now work as a builder/ contractor (which I also enjoy) and still do some shooting occasionally (3 music videos recently). I believe life should be lived with a certain intensity, a certain passion. One ought to look for the path that is more challenging, not always the easy one. One of my favorite sayings is Viktor Frankl’s “What is to give light must endure burning”. All this sounds pretty monk-like and serious, but I am not. I LOVE to dance, sing like a wild man, and throw great parties. I’m funny, love stand-up comedy (the bravest and most immediate art form) and almost any and all music. Can’t say I’m much of a cook, tho. Currently I’m also coaching an Under-14 boys’ soccer team. Great fun, but similar to herding cats. I had a vegetable garden till recently, where I sometimes ate dinner fresh right off the vine. Mmm. About you: You are open-minded, well-read, spontaneous, outgoing and out-spoken. You are educated AND intelligent, and pretty. You believe that inside everyone there is a good person who deserves respect and understanding, regardless. You are persistent, not easily turned from your goals. You are athletic and don’t mind sweating. You can talk about almost anything, are not afraid of bugs (spiders excepted) and are willing and able to get your hands dirty. You are interested in quality, not quantity. You are more Norma-Jean Baker than Marilyn Monroe. You are kind, generous, loving, and forgiving. You laugh a lot, can dance, enjoy a crossword puzzle, and like plays and good films You are trying hard to live the life you want, and are comfortable in your own skin. Can’t wait to meet you.

His interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Dancing, Running, Skiing, Soccer, Tennis / Racquet sports, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Pets

I like Birds, Cats, Dogs, Exotic Pets, Fish, Horses, Other

I've had many pets over the years, love dogs, cats too, but am currently pet-less. Miss my old Husky, Ningo.

Political views

Liberal

Favorite hot spots

The Lower East Side, the Shark Lounge on Spring St. in NYC, the John Muir trail, Cloud's Rest, Santa Cruz, anywhere in Europe, Japan, the California coast, misty Southern country farmland, the Hudson River Valley.

College

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC

Favorite things

My daughters. Old, new Rock, R and B, Jazz, World music, Classical, some Hip-Hop and Rap. Maher, Stewart, nature, history, science, and C-Span. French and Italian cuisine (preferably there), good sushi, soul food Loved "Tree of Life" Photography

For fun

Used-book stores, little one-act plays, hiking in the Sierras, hole-in-the-wall ethnic restaurants, soccer games, yard sales for oddities and strange things from people's lives. Sang backup in drag in a friend's band once. I played the cowbell.

Last read

Currently reading Seymour Hersh's The Dark Side of Camelot, the inside story of the Kennedy years. (Can all that be true?), Steve Jobs bio., The Essential Haiku. Also LA, NY Times, New Yorker, Economist etc. and all kinds of stuff online.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 5'4" (162cms) to 5'7" (170cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Hazel No preference
Hair: Salt and pepper No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker
Occupation: Artistic / Creative / Performance No preference
I spent many years in the film industry as a cinematographer, but that got too crazy, especially as regards raising kids, so now I am a builder/contractor, but still do some shooting on the side.
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 No preference
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they live away from home (2) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids No preference
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
I find that having intimately experienced more than one culture makes one much more understanding of all of them.
Faith: Agnostic Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Hindu, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other
I have faith in people.
Languages: English, German English
Education: Graduate degree Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
Bachelors in Zoology UNC Chapel Hill Masters in Environmental Mgmt Duke U MFA Directing NYU Graduate Film School