

41 year old man | Hermosa Beach, CA, USA | Seeking women 28-40 within 25 miles

Active within 5 days

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 23

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'1" (185cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
Looking for adventure (and a bunch of other good stuff) in LA...

In his own words

I just got back from taking 2 amazing years off from work - traveling the world (28 countries), living in Colorado for a few months and spending quality time with friends and family all around the US. Before that, I worked at the same company for 13 years, working long hours and spending a lot of time on the road. In 2009, I burned out and decided to take 6 months off... Well, 6 months quickly became 12, which quickly became 23 :) I wasn't even planning to return to "the real world," but 3 great opportunities came along in February that I couldn't pass up. So, after one last trip (I just got back from Scotland and Ireland), I'm finally back in LA full-time, and excited to find a place to live for more than a few nights at a time (I'm staying in Hermosa right now). I learned a lot about myself over the last 2 years (mostly from friends and family who were stuck with me - and apparently driven crazy at times - in planes, trains and automobiles, hotels and hostels around the world). In the interest of full disclosure, here is some of the good, the bad, and the ugly :) - I apparently need constant stimulation (I turn on music first thing in the morning, climb every tree, jump every cliff, and try almost anything I come across that looks even remotely interesting… even if – or maybe especially if - it only looks interesting to me). The funny thing is that I think I’m pretty mellow. - I don’t drink coffee. Many have tried to convert me. I just don’t like it, and I hate the idea of getting a headache in the morning if I can’t find it. I love drinking water. And beer. - I talk to strangers, and love to learn their stories. I help strangers that need a hand. - I hate people who litter, and will stop a car, turn around, go back and make someone pick trash up if they threw it out of my car. - I'd rather run a trail than hike it. I'd also rather walk around a new city (than take a cab or public transport)... BUT, if we are going out at night, I hate walking anywhere. I can be really lazy. - I'd rather visit *another* castle than go shopping. - I snore on my back, but not on my side. - Before considering going back to a corporate 9-5 job, I’m going to work for myself for a while, take bigger risks, have more fun with work and not sacrifice my personal life so much... I grew up in Philadelphia, spent the first 8 years out of college living in San Francisco and NYC. I miss both cities (especially the great friends I made in both places), but I have loved the few years that I've been in LA. So far, I have been surprised - the city and the people are generally not as superficial and caught up in "the industry" as I expected. At the same time, the Hollywood scene can be a fun, if occasional, diversion from the cozy lounges, cool bars, good restaurants, beaches and mountains that are drawing me into this place ... despite the brutal traffic. I am looking for someone to explore LA (and beyond) with me. I love spontaneity - it's probably the most important thing I am looking for. I get along best with people who are just as comfortable - and just as likely - to rent a movie on a rainy day as they are to jump on a plane, with 30 minutes notice, and fly to somewhere new (Russia is next) or somewhere familiar (SF, Vail, Tahoe, Cabo or Vegas). Or, while driving back from a wine tasting weekend, pulling over at a random small airport and going skydiving. However, a sense of adventure without intelligence, humor, humility, curiosity and a good heart means that I would rather keep the person as a "party friend." I'm hoping for someone whom I can share an adventure with... and then go out to dinner with my family to tell stories about it... ideally leaving out the best parts of the really good stories ;-) I also gravitate to people who don't take themselves too seriously, as I think the best times are had while goofing around, trying new things and laughing until you can't hold back the tears. If you're out there, I can't wait to

His interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Basketball, Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Cycling, Running, Skiing, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga

I exercise 3-4 times per week.



Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

I'm new to HB, so don't have many local favorites yet... But, if it's outside, serves mimosas in the morning and good beers with great food, I'm sold. Most of all, I like variety - being active, comedy clubs, bars/lounges, friend's places...


Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

Favorite things

I love almost all music: rock, alternative, rap, classical, house/breaks, disco, opera, etc... But, right now, I have to say country is my #1. Yes, seriousy. Also can't get enough of Modern Family and It's Always Sunny in Philly (I know I'm biased).

For fun

Love to get lost in foreign countries, spend quality time with friends, play outdoors (snow/water skiing, boarding, biking, camping, etc.), listen to good (and sometimes really bad) music, meet new people, laugh and share good stories and memories.

Last read

I just finished Shantaram - amazing book, especially having been to India a bunch of times... Recent favorites were by David Sedaris, Tom Clancy, Brian Greene and Stephen Hawking (reading theoretical physics for fun definitely shows my geeky side).



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'1" (185cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 5'10" (177cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Salt and pepper No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering No preference
Income: $150,001+ No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Black / African descent, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, White / Caucasian
Dad's from Australia. Mom's from New Zealand. I was born in SF, but grew up in Philly and am an Aussie/US dual citizen. After being in LA for a few years now, I'm starting to feel like an adopted "Angelino." But, I still cheer for Philly teams!
Faith: Agnostic No preference
I find spiritual inspiration in everyday things, but don't subscribe to any organized religion. I respect people's personal beliefs and local/community organizations, but tend to distrust larger religious organizations.
Languages: English, Spanish English
Education: Graduate degree Some college, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I almost froze getting an M.Eng. from Cornell