








50 year old woman | Sanibel, FL, United States | Seeking men 44-60 within 50 miles

Forward her profile.

  • About
  • Photos 9

Her details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Body type:
5'2" (157cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way
Social Drinker

In her own words

I am a FABULOUS person with a big heart and a great brain (and a big, sexy body), seeking a kindred spirit who shares my love of reading, writing, yoga, spirituality, progressive politics, exploration, culture, beaches, mountains, cats, and conversation. I grew up in rural New England and love the tropics. I'm seeking a sweet, kind, loyal, funny, literate man with whom to share friendship, common values and interests, and eventually love and passion. I'm pretty self-reliant and expect you to hold your own. I am intelligent, opinionated, funny, sensitive, real, and caring. I can't promise "no drama," nor do I think anyone can, but I can promise minimal drama - and that I'm worth it. We all have baggage but we can learn from it. I seek others like me who are single, mature, and emotionally available, who are unique, intelligent, and FUN, who value and practice integrity and honesty. It is essential to laugh together and to love with kindness and courtesy. I can't find an adequate word on Match to describe my physique. I'd say Zaftig, Rubenesque, pleasantly plump. While I'm overweight and working on it, I do NOT seek physical perfection - in myself or others. When I love someone, I love them from head to toe and back again; I find their physical "flaws" endearing. If you're one of those guys who hasn't the cojones to love and respect a fat woman, who just can't bring the same kind of loving to the table, no deal. I've been loved in this body and it's wonderful. However, I don't call myself "big and beautiful" because I DON'T want a "chubby chaser" -- I'm no more interested in a man who wants ONLY my fat than a man who won't want a fat woman. Have the maturity to meet ME, see the WHOLE person, and talk about our shared interests and passions. I promise to do the same for YOU (because trust me, you're not "perfect" either, so let's be human together). The right person for me will love my heart, my brain, my body, and my intensity in all things personal and political, will respect my need for alone time as much as my need for contact, and can be funny and playful. He should gladly share about what makes him happy and calmly stand up for himself; I'm not interested in battling for dominance or in steamrolling a doormat. Presently, I teach online (for a real, nonprofit, public university) and help care for two loved ones with mild dementia (which isn't always as fun as it sounds). In my spare time, I love beaches, exercise, and reading. Other interests run the gamut from Anne Lamott to Will Shortz (from A to Z, get it?). I adore cable news spoofs; Jon Stewart's retirement breaks my heart. I like movies and the occasional documentary. I'm a nerd and a writer, so any guy who quotes LOTR, Star Wars, Monty Python, and such, effectively and amusingly, and who loves good grammar and spelling, is a big, brainy turn-on for me. You should also have interests that consume you, feed your soul, and bring you joy! I'm a leftist feminist. While this does not make me a "man-hater" it does make me intolerant of stereotypical (e.g., frat-boy) guys. If YOU are racist, sexist, or homophobic -- or you're hooked on Rush Limbaugh or Fox News and their ilk -- I am NOT interested in dating you, tho' I respect your right to disagree with me on every level and I wish you well. Finally, YOU MUST LOVE CATS. Or at least tolerate them with respect bordering on affection. This is another deal-breaker. My last cat was with me 20 years - longer than any of my romances, and I've had a few good romances. I don't dress cats in baby-doll clothes or anything like that, but I love cats and I'm not spending the rest of my life without one. I spent several years getting allergy shots so I could keep my last fur-babies and I'll do it again if I have to. (Plus, my mom has a cat.) Believe it or not, after all this seriousness, I do have a GREAT sense of humor. I love standup comedy and I love to laugh. Thanks for reading this weighty tome. Aloha!

Her interests

Book club , Coffee and conversation , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Running, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking, Yoga

I exercise 5 or more times per week.




I have Cats

I like Dogs, Horses

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Local: beaches, tennis courts, bike paths; Travel: Hawaii, Utah (Maze District), Europe, anywhere new. I enjoy theater, art, dance, music, historical sites, and museums, and I love the outdoors.


Earlham College, Richmond, IN

Favorite things

Sherlock, Big Bang, Daily Show, Harry Potter, Iron Jawed Angels, novelists incl. Barbara Kingsolver, Laurie R. King, Connie Willis, poets incl. Denise Levertov, Mary Oliver; Sun; Water; Trees; Flowers; Mountains; Chocolate; Passion; Kissing; Love.

For fun

Walk, talk, write, read, dance, sing, get serious, get silly, be irreverent, sense the sacred, laugh, giggle, play, relax, jog, swim, spend time with friends and family or enjoy some time alone, watch movies, talk politics, change the world.

Last read

I am a book nerd. Most recent: A PEARL IN THE STORM Tori Murden McClure, FAITHFUL PLACE Tana French, THE BEAN TREES Barbara Kingsolver, THE BOOK THIEF Markus Zusak, ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE Anthony Doerr. Also love Sunday NYT crossword puzzles.



More about her Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Her What she is looking for
Height: 5'2" (157cms) 3'0" (91cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: Full-figured Slender, About average, Athletic and toned, Heavyset, A few extra pounds, Stocky
Eyes: Brown Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Grey, Platinum, Bald
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Other profession Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retired, Student, Education / Teacher / Professor, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist
I'm embarrassed by not having a more "traditional" career path. I'm also aware that I'm living in the New Economy, whereas I grew up preparing for the old model. So, I'm adjusting my expectations. In the Zen/wise words of Dory: "Just keep swimming."
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home
Wants kids: No Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: Other Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
While I'm aware that where we come from affects us, because I'm more radical than liberal, I'm far more concerned about our political and personal compatibility than our "ethnicity." I find ethnicity, body type, and income questions off-putting.
Faith: Spiritual but not religious Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other
Raised by atheists, with friends of many religious and spiritual persuasions, I find most religions suspect but am fascinated with aspects of spirit, faith practices, and energy work. I am NOT the deeply religious Christian Lady you're looking for.
Religious Attitude: I'll tell you later No preference
Raised by atheists, with friends of many religious and spiritual persuasions, I find most religions suspect but am fascinated with aspects of spirit, faith practices, and energy work. I am NOT the deeply religious Christian Lady you're looking for.
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I enjoyed school and love academic learning but I also keenly value my lived experience -- and yours. I'd like to learn more about you from your life stories. I don't trust men who purposefully seek women with far less education (or $) than they have