
shikataganai444

40 year old woman | Reno, NV, USA | Seeking men 30-45 within 30 miles

Forward her profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 14

Her details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (3)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
5'10" (177cms)
Faith:
I'll tell you later
Smoke:
I'll tell you later
Drink:
Social Drinker
The Japanese phrase "Shikata Ga Nai" means "it must be done." When life bitchslaps you, you either face it or run. Face it!

In her own words

I am silly and fun, but really enjoy meaningful conversation. I am a strong woman who enjoys social settings, and my emotional tank gets filled when I'm around others. I do enjoy alone time, however, and have learned to practice the art of relaxing. The most important things in life to me are my three children, my dignity, and remaining true to my core. My children don't need a father; they have a stellar dad in my ex-husband, whom I respect and am even friends with. What I desire is a person who is complete without me, but wants a partner to enhance their lives and share ideas and activities together; to challenge me to become a better person. I do not expect perfection. People are who they are. I appreciate people who are mindful of their strengths and weaknesses, and seek to share their strengths and improve their weaknesses. I am a dreamer and optimist, though I strive to be balanced by keeping my feet grounded in realism. I write and read everyday. I am nearly finished with my Masters to teach high school students and am particularly attracted to teaching at-risk kids. I would like to coach high school basketball, as that has been my first love since I was young. I played and coached in college, and have since coached some high school basketball. I currently coach my son and provide him with guidance. I have survived cancer. I have survived my ex coming out of the closet. Basically, I'm a fighter. I wouldn't change one single negative thing that has happened in my life because it always ends up becoming a positive thing in the end. I'm thankful for all things that have made me who I am today. My thinking has morphed over the last several years from "Why me?" to "Why NOT me?" This is a general attitude of accepting what is... not what could be or should be or needs to be. I am a very loyal person who desires to be with a partner who respects me, challenges me and has fun. I eventually want a relationship but am patient in finding the right person. I do enjoy letting loose when it's appropriate. For instance, I've been to Burning Man (only once) and I went to the High Sierra Music Festival this summer in Quincy, CA (which was awesome). I enjoy meeting friends for cocktails or late night shows at clubs. But I am very responsible about it. I love bacon, poop humor and acting silly beyond belief. I've been told that I make people feel comfortable and welcome in any situation. I enjoy in-depth conversations about anything, as long as a person knows how to give and take in conversation. I am becoming actively involved in media and LGBT issues, which affect my family and me immensely. I have many traditional values, but am socially liberal. I have tried on line dating before. I do much better with conversations over a lengthier time period of time. In other words, please don't expect me to call or text you within the first couple of times we're in contact. People's written words speak volumes to me. While I'm not a grammar snob, I am a writer so I communicate very well through several emails in the beginning. Don't let your writing skills deter you, however. If you can share your heart, I'll be able to see it. Just wanted to throw that out there. I'm not one to mince words very often, though I try to be as diplomatic as possible. Life is good. People are who they are. I'll close with a quote from one of my favorite authors: "There are no accidents, all things have a deep and calculated purpose; sometimes the methods employed by Providence seem strange and incongruous, but we have only to be patient and wait for the result: then we recognize that no others would have answered the purpose, and we are rebuked and humbled." - "The Refuge of the Derelicts" published in Fables of Man, Mark Twain I am a wordy person and it's taking every ounce of my being to not use all of the 70 characters that are still available to me.

Her interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Playing sports , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Basketball, Other types of exercise, Weights / Machines


I exercise 5 or more times per week.


Sign

Pisces

Pets

I have Cats

I like Dogs

I have A cat. Not cats, plural. I am not a crazy cat lady. My cat's name is Hermione and I call her my "cancer cat". She was right by my side at all times when I was going through chemo.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

I love the Old SW area and Midtown (the stores, restaurants and bars). I specifically enjoy the Nevada City/Grass Valley area, Portola area, Tahoe and Santa Cruz.

College

Rockhurst University, Kansas City, MO

Favorite things

I like all types of music, from big band, bluegrass and classical to breakbeats, reggae and classic '70's. I don't care for the popular stuff on the radio these days. I intentionally don't have TV channels. I'd rather do something more productive.

For fun

I like to read and write during my free time. I enjoy going on hikes, hanging out at the beach in Tahoe, and visiting bookstores, just for the fun of it. I love to watch and play basketball, do active things with my kids and chill in coffee shops.

Last read

I read all the time, but currently I'm reading books regarding Buddhist topics. A few of my favorite books are Lord of the Rings, Pride and Prejudice and The Historian. I read YA books because I'm a teacher and need to stay up on the latest stuff.



More about her Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Her What she is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 5'10" (177cms) to 6'11" (210cms)
Body type: About average About average
Eyes: Green No preference
Hair: Blonde No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: I'll tell you later No Way, Occasionally, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
I teach English to at-risk high school kids at a charter school here in town. I love it. Unless I become a famous author, it is my dream job. I would probably still teach despite being stinking rich from a book/writing deal.
Income: I'll tell you later $35,001 to $50,000
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (3) Yes, and they sometimes live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Faith: I'll tell you later Buddhist / Taoist, Spiritual but not religious, Christian / Other
Languages: English English, Spanish
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree
While education is extremely important to me, I know that street smarts often out-weigh book smarts. I'm not a snob in that way. If a person can think critically and tries to improve themself, that is key.