Match.com Canada. Uniquely Canadian.

Mandala

40 year old woman | Plainfield, NJ, United States | Seeking men 35-50 within 30 miles

  ONLINE NOW

Forward her profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 19

Her details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
Black / African descent, Other, White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
5'3" (160cms)
Faith:
Spiritual but not religious
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Moderately
What makes me happy: reading awesome books and...

In her own words

What makes me happy: reading awesome books and the New York Times, laughing with family and friends, kissing my doggies, and snuggling my kitties. I'd also say good food and wine, but everyone likes that, right? I'm admittedly a little bit of a beer snob (although martinis are my favorite drinks), I love theatre--both local and Broadway, and dream of once again living on the beach. I am an avid road cyclist, have recently learned to ride a motorcycle (even though it terrifies me), and at times hit the trails on my mountain bike when the weather is decent. Did I say that I like bikes? I've always been a teacher, and I chair the English department at a private school and teach literature and creative writing (I enjoy writing poetry and have enough luck to be published in a few literary magazines). This past year, I took on the challenge of teaching middle school for the first time, and, well, I've been missing out! I used to think that all middle-school teachers need their heads examined (and maybe I do too), but it has been a joy doing something that is out of my comfort zone. Aside from school, I participate often in community service activities--I regularly work with Bridges in Summit to provide aid to the homeless community in New York, and I escort at a women's clinic in north Jersey. My sister and I have also for the past two years committed to running a 5K every month for an organization that we support, and even on mornings that have registered below 30 degrees, we've shown up! Diversity and inclusion are really important to me, and as someone who proudly identifies as multiracial, I value people who understand that their perspectives are just part of the whole. I have lived in three countries besides this one, and America looks a whole lot different from overseas; neither of my parents went to college, and folks in my family still see education as a privilege, not an entitlement; body modification fascinates me, and I have chosen to adorn myself with tattoos and piercings. Some of this life has been handed to me, while other parts have been created by me. I love all of it :) I'm looking for someone who is passionate about his work, appreciates a good read, values family, friends, and the community, has a sense of humor, expresses himself in some creative manner, can listen to understand rather than to reply, and is caring, honest, confident, emotionally mature, and forth-coming.

Her interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing cards , Religion/Spiritual , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Running, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Sign

Capricorn

Pets

I have Cats, Dogs

I have husky-mixes and short-haired cats--all are rescues and all are much loved.

Political views

Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Any beach or lake. I love being near the water.

College

Drew University, Madison, NJ

Favorite things

My favorites usually change over time, but firsts never change. Culture Club was the first band/music group that I ever loved, goldfish were my first pets, "Heidi" was the first book I read on my own, and Ebon was the name of the first boy I kissed.

For fun

Fun? Well, lots of things are fun in good company and given the right circumstances! During a Spartan race, I crawled through mud, which is typically not fun but happened to be fun on the day I did it with my friends.

Last read

I'm always reading, so I'd have to edit this constantly to keep up with the latest read. So how about I like Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, Toni Morrison, and J.M. Coetzee just to name a few.



More about her Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Her What she is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'3" (160cms) 5'3" (160cms) to 7'0" (213cms)
Body type: About average About average, Athletic and toned, Stocky
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally, Cigar aficionado, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Moderately Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 No preference
Relationship: Divorced No preference
Have kids: No Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background
Ethnicity: Black / African descent, White / Caucasian, Other No preference
African American and Polish
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
I was raised Catholic and still attend my local church because I enjoy the rituals, but nowadays I tend to find more of a sense of faith in Mother Nature and human good will.
Religious Attitude: I'll tell you later No preference
I was raised Catholic and still attend my local church because I enjoy the rituals, but nowadays I tend to find more of a sense of faith in Mother Nature and human good will.
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree No preference