
salome71

43 year old woman | Sweetwater, TX, USA | Seeking men 35-52 within 150 miles

Forward her profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 6

Her details

Relationship:
Divorced
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
I'll tell you later
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
5'5" (165cms)
Faith:
Atheist
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
Friends First. A fun and funny friend.

In her own words

I know that's lame, but hear me out. To be honest, this on-line dating thing freaks me out a little. But since I live out in the tulies and am only one step removed from being a cave-dwelling hermit, in a very isolated career, what options are there for meeting people? I've been on a very long break from dating and haven't updated my profile because I didn't know if any of this would make sense, so here goes. All of my meaningful relationships had their origins in having known each other in some other context first, where you had time to truly know and appreciate each other, even the weaknesses. There's too much pressure with dating. Especially, online dating, where the expectation is so blatantly advertised, "Match!" Like some magical thing is supposed to happen. Then I'm running all these calculations in my head the whole time...likes and dislikes, keep or discard, because you have to make a decision and not waste anyone's time, right? And everyone is always on their best behavior...being the Jekyll to the Hyde with no basis on which to make an accurate decision until the cracks start showing in the facade. So, Throw it all away. Just be friends with no expectations of anything else. And stop trying to make a good impression. That's super annoying. Just be yourself. I PROMISE to show up wearing non-date clothes. Probably after working outside all day, with sweaty hard-hat hair for that added touch. Scared? Not yet? Then read on... I am smart, funny, caring and independent. I love to tell a good story, and have a slightly weird day about which to tell a story. I have an adventurous spirit, and love to go backpacking in some far-flung place every now and then. I just returned from a two-week solo vacation in Lebanon and it was awesome. Staying in dumpy backpacker hotels, cramming into minibuses with the locals, stumbling through with my bad Arabic, and getting to know people with a totally different life experience. It's exhilarating and hits the reset button for another year of normalcy. See? And this is when I am not so sure if I want to date. I mean, who would be okay with me taking off every year on a similar adventure? And do I really want to deal with that conversation? I guess if I had to describe myself if would be as a charismatic dork. Sometimes I'm really active (kayaking, biking, walking, working out), and other times I'm a total couch potato. I'm currently addicted to binge-watching Korean TV shows of all things. Poorly done subtitles, awesome historical costumes, random fight scenes, overacting and lots of crying, horrible K-pop music, and cultural references I don't understand. What more could you want? And who knew guys in skirts could be sexy? Anyway, I drive a LOT for my job, so I listen to a lot of podcasts. I think I'm in love with Chuck from SYSK, but I also listen to RadioLab, Memory Palace, Oh No Ross and Carrie, Judge John Hodgman, and a bunch of others. I get really caught up with work, so if you wink or drop me a line and I don't get back to you right away, I will. Unless you don't have a photo. In that case, I'm going to assume you're married, and you know who you are. If you just want to be friends, that's cool, bring your wife and I'll be friends with her. Not you. You suck. (Not speaking from experience, just a student of human behavior) If you truly think you will be judged based on your appearance and that's why you don't post a pic, I'm sorry people are jerks. I, too, am a product of evolutionary biology, and Mr. Tall Dark and Handsome is my kryptonite and turns me into a drooling idiot for that first hazy moment or two that drowns out all other senses. And then you snap out of it enough to realize that he can't string together a coherent sentence or a thought deeper than a teaspoon, and you're looking for the nearest escape plan. Whatever, looks aren't everything. You never know what's going to happen in life, so greet it with an open mind and positive attitude.

Her interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Other types of exercise, Walking / Hiking


I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Sign

Gemini

Pets

I have Cats, Dogs

I have two rescue dogs, and an extremely spoiled cat.

Political views

Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Considering I live in a small town, there really aren't any hot spots. I spend a lot of time on the road during the week, so I don't mind having a quiet weekend. I guess my favorite travel destination so far has been Mongolia, but it's a big world

College

University of Washington, Seattle, WA

Favorite things

Mostly indie music, but a little bit of everything. Favorite food: Pad Thai with tofu. For some reason, even though I find the whole zombie thing extremely annoying, I love The Walking Dead...great show. Also Hell on Wheels, and (I admit) Glee.

For fun

Home improvement projects (necessity), kayaking, relaxing with friends, winding down from work week, movies, local events and festivals. International travel when I get a chance, preferably to non-Western countries...always expanding those horizons!

Last read

Sadly, I don't find a lot of time for pleasure reading anymore. I used to be a total bookworm. But I recently saw a documentary about To Kill A Mockingbird, and it made me want to re-read it. I listen to a lot of podcasts while driving.



More about her Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Her What she is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'5" (165cms) 5'6" (167cms) to 7'0" (213cms)
Body type: About average No preference
Eyes: Hazel No preference
Hair: Auburn / Red No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No preference
Drink: Social Drinker No preference
Occupation: Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering No preference
Environmental Compliance
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 No preference
Relationship: Divorced No preference
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: I'll tell you later No preference
Background / Values
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Mostly northern European mix with a hint of Native American.
Faith: Atheist No preference
Secular Humanist: "The Kindler, Gentler Atheist"
Languages: Arabic, English, German English
Education: Bachelors degree No preference