Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


56 year old man | Palo Alto, CA, USA | Seeking women 42-56 within 35 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 11

His details

Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (2)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'1" (185cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way
The short version: *Pros, at least for some...

In his own words

The short version: *Pros, at least for some (these are unaudited claims): Articulate and imaginative Funny and quick-witted, you? Proficient, creative, and willing cook Tall, lanky body type, plus 5-10 lbs since the days (185 lbs now) Athletic, fit, and active (not 6-pack triathlete fit, but good shape); minimal couch time Very blue eyes Positive outlook Social (extrovert in the technical sense: I get energy from others- I'm ENTJ) Trained at massage *Won’t work for some: Not bald yet, but thinning, and getting the salt and pepper I do look my age (thanks sun!), an honest 56 (but have a youthful physical energy) I'm looking for matches who live or work within 30 minutes of 94306 or 94965; no bridges or long commutes please, though SF or S. Marin are fine as I regularly play and stay on my sailboat in Sausalito. I'm grateful to have my 15 year old son 50% of the time, Friday switch: week on, then a week off; a good match is in a similar situation or accepting of mine. Daughter in college. I have a flexible work schedule, if you do, that is a plus (weekday dates, woot!). The (maybe too) long of it: I appreciate Match, but it is a challenge: we choose from a catalog based on a few photos and a few words that may have been written by a third party. They offer a fraction of the things that a real-life meeting offers: dimensionality, the energy of voice, movement, humor, and style, that je ne sais quoi that we can sense across a crowded room. Match to me is simply a good blind-date generator, so prefer to speak or meet rather than exchange many emails. I'm a funny, fun, and playful guy (even my ex will give me a reference) who laughs at life's frequent absurdities, and at my own. I’d like a monogamous LTR. I am seeking a highly verbal (command of English and idiom is essential), playful, funny, inquisitive, and outgoing woman, maybe a bit unconventional, with a love of food, wine, music and the outdoors, open to exploring the world and the meaning of life, and sharing her stories. I'm a romantic when it comes to quiet, candlelit dinners and conversation at home. I'm ready for travel especially on roads less-traveled (Rick Steves is an oracle). Long-term travel would be great in 3 years when kids are out. I hope you, as do I, avoid being a slave to society's expectations. You are up for working on the challenge of communicating as a couple. Obviously my previous relationships didn't last forever, but I've learned from each and believe we can all become better partners if we keep trying. My ex and I are amicable co-parents. I'm financially responsible and hope you are as well. I try to focus on being present, smiling, laughing, helping or giving every day, gratitude, and keeping positive thoughts. Spirituality is important: I seek a partner who is eager to explore the subject, but I'm not seeking agreement. You are energetic and athletic, or at least fit, don't watch a lot of TV. You like some of : yoga, walking, outdoor games, bicycling (I ride over driving most days, low speed cycling is fine), water sports: swimming, kayaking, sailing. I love short camping trips with the comforts of an inflatable mattress and hot showers, as well as nice lodging and dining in natural or urban locales. Let's not take non-urgent phone calls, emails, or texts while on a date. I'm not compelled to remarry, but open to the possibility. I love to cook, I get the kids to eat their veggies, keep the larder stocked, don't do fast food, do laundry and keep the house, um, technically sanitary if not neat, so I don't need someone to "take care of me" or mine, but would like to share or alternate cooking when we stay in. I am grateful for all I have; I don't need more stuff, I'm more focused on relationships. I love basketball, play 3-4x/wk and coach my son's team. I'm a board member and guide for non-profits. I respond to all emails except wacky ones or out of my stated profile.

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Basketball, Cycling, Dancing, Inline skating, Skiing, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking, Yoga

I exercise 5 or more times per week.




I like Dogs

I love dogs but haven't had one in a long time. I am friends with a volunteer cat from next door, a tabby: the dog of cats. I like many cats, but it is dependent on the individual cat. I don't like to share the bed with other species.

Political views

Some other viewpoint

Favorite hot spots

Sunnyside, The Crow's Nest, intimate restaurants, small towns, small music venues: Fillmore, Warfield, Sweetwater; my hot tub; art museums; vibrant towns; farmers markets. New passport 2013:check, first trip to Yucatan (with kids):check, next??


University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Favorite things

Kids; human voice and touch; conversation (way better than email or texting); humor; live music and dancing; Tahoe; ethnic foods; good wine; exercise; the outdoors. Playing and sailing in the ocean, lakes and rivers; sunsets and clouds.

For fun

Dancing, challenging conversation. Physical activities, preferably outdoors, esp walking or cycling the plentiful open spaces and urban zones of the Bay Area. Cooking. Some PBS and Netflix. I like all types of boats, esp. those wind or human-powered.

Last read

food labels; periodicals; short stories; history; Walk in the Woods; Jack London short stories, Big Rock Candy Mtn; Huck Finn with my kids; Power of Now by E Tolle (a powerful 75 pgs packed into 208 pgs); poetry esp. T. S. Eliot and Mary Oliver



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'1" (185cms) 5'3" (160cms) to 6'2" (187cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Salt and pepper No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Moderately Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Financial / Accounting / Real Estate No preference
My day job, which is mostly left-brain work, is for practice of my craft, client interaction, and for income; I engage my right-brain in teaching, volunteer non-profit work, and coaching, for a balanced life and to meet interesting adults and kids.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Divorced No preference
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (2) No preference
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Northern European mix.
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
Nature is my sacred place I practice yoga and meditate for spiritual growth. If faced with checking a box: Pantheist; raised in and accepting of Christianity. Is the natural world a god's work or is it god, let's discuss!
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
BS in Engineering and an MBA.