Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


40 year old man | Irvine, CA, USA | Seeking women 25-35 within 80 miles

Active within 3 days

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 4

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Body type:
5'6" (167cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
Must love . . . bookstores!

In his own words

Hi there! I'm quite distinctive, and I can articulate all that pretty well, though not in a few sentences. I'm a fairly quiet person and can be very thoughtful and contemplative. I think often about asymmetricalities and optionality, and agree with Nassim Taleb that positive black swan exposure is a very good thing. I have found his books to be far more insightful and fascinating than those of Malcolm Gladwell, who incidentally interviewed Taleb for one of his pieces (reprinted, I think, in _What The Dog Saw_). I'm kind and easy-going, though not really what someone would call "down to earth." I tend to spend a lot of time pursuing my hobbies, and there are many hobbies that I'd love to also do -- it always amazes me how many interesting things there are to learn. Right now, my main activities are playing classical piano (esp. Chopin), learning languages, reading and playing bridge. I also enjoy dining out and trying new restaurants, as well as foreign travel. I have many theories about matching in these sites, but it would be far too long-winded to get into them here. Instead, I'll just proffer a few of the things that I spend time thinking about, as well as some of the kinds of things that make me laugh. Hopefully, some of these will resonate with you! Things I think about occasionally: 1. Intersecting curves, efficient frontiers, cost minimization 2. Fat tails, power laws, and black swans 3. Behavioral economics and application of game theory (Kahneman/Tversky surpass Von Neumann/Nash in real life) 4. Climate change, peak oil, AGI, and other menacing stuff 5. Technological advances and their implications, gray goo, Fermi paradox, etc., etc. 6. How many years ARM processors are behind x86s (as well as supercomputers) in raw performance 7. Whether I am using the right number of right parentheses, and if they nest properly. 8. When Magnus Carlsen will pass Mt. 2851 (Update: next stop, 2900) 9. Where I am and where I'm going 10. Where humanity is and where it's going And some of the things that amuse me from time to time: 1. xkcd (ones I've liked include 993, 989, 985, 981, 979, . . .) 2. Linguistic trouvailles (or really any kind of neat discovery) 3. Happy endings in books and movies. (Aside: _Turandot_ is so dumb. Poor Liu. Monserrat Caballe had a beautiful name and a beautiful voice.) 4. Seeing what you did there, or your seeing what I did there. 5. Reductions to absurdity. 6. The absurdities of public figures, which often need no reduction. 7. Jon Stewart (don't generally watch TDS, but sometimes I see links to clips posted at TPM). 8. Well-placed acronyms, well-formed phrases, portmanteaux, and mondegreens. Since I love quoting famous authors, here is one quote that presently comes to mind, from Antoine de Saint-Exupery: "Love does not consist in gazing at each other, but in looking outward together in the same direction." That sort of captures what I would very much like to find.

His interests

Book club , Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Music and concerts , Playing cards , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Football, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


I don't believe in astrology

Political views


Favorite hot spots

Locally, I enjoy spending time at bookstores. I also love interesting international cities, like Hong Kong, Paris, London, Tokyo, SF, where there are many things to see and importantly, great food to eat!


University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Favorite things

Music: Chopin, Rachmaninoff, Schubert, Beethoven, Brahms, Tchaikovsky. Books: Goedel Escher Bach; Fooled by Randomness; David Copperfield; Les Miserables; Count of Monte Cristo;; Age of Innocence; Portrait of a Lady; Foundation Trilogy; Ender books

Last read

Recent: Paradox of Choice; The (Mis)behavior of Markets; When Genius Failed; Predictably Irrational; The Shape of Inner Space; The Signal and the Noise; Antifragile; Our Mathematical Universe; Knocking on Heaven's Door; Innumeracy; Love and Math



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'6" (167cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 5'11" (180cms)
Body type: Slender Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Black Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde, Platinum
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Legal No preference
Income: $150,001+ No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Ethnicity: Asian No preference
Faith: Atheist No preference
Languages: Chinese, English, French, German No preference
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
USC undergrad, UC Berkeley for law school