Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


71 year old man | Los Angeles, CA, USA | Seeking women 60-75 within 25 miles


Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 25

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Yes, and they live away from home (1)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Body type:
About average
5'7" (170cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
Who am I? I'm strong, warm, and gentle. I work...

In his own words

Who am I? I'm strong, warm, and gentle. I work hard, try to enjoy life and would like a female complement. My life is quiet and I try to be productive. If you'd rather read a book than watch TV, and prefer movies on the big screen, better. Most of the ones I see are at the Laemmles, and mainly in Pasadena. Pictures I've enjoyed recently: 5 FLIGHTS UP, with Morgan Freeman and Diane Keaton as a happily-married, though occasionally-bickering couple, LOVE AND MERCY, the story of the Beach Boys' leader Brian Wilson and his relationships with an exploitative shrink and his loving relationship with his wife, I'LL SEE YOU IN MY DREAMS with Blythe Danner, and TWO DAYS AND ONE NIGHT by the Dardenne brothers. Also TESTAMENT OF YOUTH, based on Vera Brittain's memoir, and LOVE AT FIRST FIGHT. I loved ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK on DVD. Was employed for 31 years, mostly in child protective services. Now I work on things which matter to me: fitness, improving my Spanish and normalizing US-Cuba relations. My father and his parents lived in Cuba during World War II. Born (and conceived) in the U.S., I have long been involved with Cuba. I spent November 2013 to February 2014 there. Match is very positive-oriented. It doesn't ask for DISlikes, but I have some: racism, sexism, homophobia and petty bickering. Also, movies with lots of violence and driving in LA lately. Politically, I'm a leftist. I'm glad that the New York Times was for normalizing relations with Cuba, though not quite for the same reasons as I want that. Evidently, some folks in Washington, including the President, were listening. At times I can be too serious, but I can, and do, laugh at my own foibles. Well, most of them... Seriously: I really LIKE women. Most of my friends are female. To me, the one who opens the door should be the one who gets to it first, especially if the other one is carrying groceries. I'm happy to drive, but it's OK if you drive. I often open doors for others. The most important quality in a restaurant isn't the FOOD, but the QUIET, so we can hear each other speak. I can and do cook, having started at 6, living with my dad, a single father. For fitness, I take walks and practice yoga. If you're in L.A., we could talk, meet, and then, who knows? I live in Silverlake and like to walk around the reservoir. Sometimes I walk to the market and back. Not to save money (My '98 Accord, bought new, has barely 100,000 on it), but to get away from the phone and computer. Every day I'm highly conscious of and deeply grateful for the many good things in my life. Some came by accident, others by my effort. One nice thing about retirement: when I feel like doing nothing, I can do that. Or just lay around in bed and read a book, or listen to a recorded book. Isabel Allende and Simon Winchester are favorites. It would be great to meet someone in LA with her own projects and passions, with whom to share some interests, activities and time. I don't think there's one soul-mate somewhere and, if only I could find her, everything would be OK. My idea is more like two people with not-incompatible values, exploring and building a friendship, and over time, something deeper, together. It can't happen in a day. Friends first, por favor! If any of this resonates, please be in touch. If not, good luck to you. In Spanish it is said: No es fácil. Pero, mejor estar solo que mal acompañado. ("It isn't easy. But it's better to be by yourself than in bad company.") Lately I've been listening to a lot of Lady Gaga, some of which also with Tony Bennett. and I always love Carmen McRae, my favorite singer of all time. ----------- p.s., the child I mention isn't mine by blood. When I met his mom, he was 5. When she and I separated, he and I didn't, with her enthusiastic support. He's now 44. His mom and I are friends, a modern family. Last fall I drove up to the Bay Area for his wedding. Updated June 14, 2015.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Political interests , Volunteering

Sports & exercise

Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga

I exercise 5 or more times per week.


I don't believe in astrology


I like Cats, Dogs

Don't have pets. However, I do know this: It's a smart dog who walks its owner twice a day.

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

This year I've begun to get a weekly full body massage. There's a big Armenian market in Glendale that I enjoy shopping at. It somehow transports me to the Middle East, but without the bombs going off.


University of Wisconsin–Madison, Madison, WI

Favorite things

FAVORITES: Friendship, honesty, reliability. UNFAVORITES: racism, sexism, homophobia, petty bickering and gratuitous violence. Driving in LA is a nuisance I try to avoid when possible, though I drive a nice 1998 Honda accord.

For fun

Reading, movies, hanging out. Love the Laemmles, mostly in Pasadena. Sometimes literally doing nothing, reading, or just thinking. Recorded books: they're like going to the movies with your eyes closed (well, if you're not driving...)

Last read

THE MAN WHO LOVED CHINA. by Simon Winchester's ISLAND BENEATH THE SEA by Isabel Allende ESLANDA: Life of Mrs. Paul Robeson by Barbara Ransby (2013) Hayden Herrera's bio of Frida Kahlo



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'7" (170cms) 3'0" (91cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: About average Slender, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Grey Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Grey, Platinum
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker
Occupation: Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Labor / Construction, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retail / Food services, Retired, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Student, Education / Teacher / Professor, Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Law enforcement / Security / Military, Fashion / Model / Beauty, Architecture / Interior design
Editor of an online news service about Cuba, its history, culture and politics, and its place in the world, since August 2000. Updated every day. Financially: I'd hope you would be more or less solvent. What more can I ask for?
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they live away from home (1) Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: Other Latino / Hispanic, Other
Since I'm neither Cuban nor Cuban-American, it makes more sense to say that I'm an American-Cuban. Would like a native Spanish-speaker, but if the other things work out to our mutual satisfaction, that's not decisive.
Faith: Atheist Atheist
My attitude toward religion: I'm an atheist and, God willing, I always will be... I'm not militant about my atheism, either. If you believe in God, I won't argue with you over it. What would be the point? You should be a good person, OK?
Languages: English, Spanish English, Spanish
Education: Bachelors degree High school, Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
BA in US history, University of Wisconsin, 1967. My main interest in school, as it turned out, was in political activism. I used to think I had all the answers. Now I know I don't even have all the questions. I'm still learning in 2014. Are you?