Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


39 year old man | Strafford, PA, USA | Seeking women 29-42 within 50 miles

Active within 5 days

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 4

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
6'1" (185cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
Thanks for stopping by! Never was too good at...

In his own words

Thanks for stopping by! Never was too good at these sorts of things...I guess I'd describe myself as laid-back in the sense of being generally calm and taking one day at a time, though there's definitely a part of me that craves adventure. I'm fairly introverted in the sense that I prefer intimate settings with a few friends rather than loud and boisterous parties, and only like to go out to social events very occasionally. That's part of the reason I rarely meet new people (also I'd rather eat glass than even attempt the bar scene) but also because... ...I'm always doing something. "Vegging" is something I suspect I'm not capable of. I'm always embroiled in some project or another. Maybe it's teaching myself to knit or crochet. Maybe it's remodeling the landscape in my back yard. Maybe it's reading about my new favorite topic du jour. (mythology, evolutionary science, ancient history, astrophysics, neuroscience, to name a few) Maybe it's exploring some new mountain trail, but whatever, I'm always neck-deep in some sort of undertaking. Even if it's rainy and/or I'm sick or otherwise indisposed, I'll be at the computer attempting to learn some sort of ludicrously complicated simulation game or something rather than watching TV. At any one time I've got a half-dozen or more goals I've set for myself and am constantly working toward. So, I guess "laid back but active" describes me pretty well. I love doing things and mental stimulation in particular. So as a result I'm a little nerdy, but I'm OK with that, and have a strong fondness for those that also embrace their inner nerd. Somewhat related but it can take quite a bit of coaxing to get me fully out of my shell; I can be a little clumsy and awkward until I get really comfortable with someone. Manage to get me out of my shell though and you'll find I can be very uninhibited. Also if the tagline wasn't an indication, I have a weird self-deprecating sense of humor. I'm really happy where I am right now in life, and though I have a fiercely independent streak, it'd be great if I had someone to share it with! A lot of experiences in life are best shared. :) So I guess I'd better write something about what I'm looking for...I know it's cliched as anything, but I'm hoping to find my best friend. I'm especially fond of people that are well-rounded and well-educated. Especially if they have a nerdy streak and aren't ashamed of it. Curiosity is sexy! :) I get along best with other laid-back, low-drama types of people; high-strung, impatient and/or short-tempered type-A personality people and I generally don't mix. Also I've noticed that I tend to take things a little slower than most of the people on this site--I generally like to have a few dates to get to know someone first before doing anything physical, so I should probably state that upfront.

His interests

Book club , Camping , Cooking , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games

Sports & exercise

Aerobics, Cycling, Other types of exercise, Skiing, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Don't display my sign


I like Birds, Cats, Dogs, Exotic Pets, Fish

I love all animals, but strangely enough don't have a pet. I keep telling myself to get one, but never have.

Political views


Favorite hot spots

I love the mountains of central and northeast Pennsylvania. Not as nice as the mountains of Japan (which is my favorite hiking spot) but they're still great.


University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA

Favorite things

Classical music! Mostly pre-20th century; the atonal/13-tone stuff that got popular early last century I'm not as fond of. Cooking interesting recipes too. And woods/mountainous areas!

For fun

I like doing all sorts of things. Crafts and building things in particular--knitting is something I'm especially good at. Hiking, camping, and other outdoor activities too. Plus some nerdier hobbies like computers and (non-competitive) board/gaming.

Last read

That Quail, Robert. It's a short but really heartwarming story of a family that got "adopted" by a wild quail in Cape Cod.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'1" (185cms) 3'0" (91cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: About average No preference
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker, Moderately
Occupation: Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering No preference
IT project planning
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday No preference
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Nothing really interesting to say here, other than I'm part Australian I guess?
Faith: Agnostic Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Hindu, Spiritual but not religious, Other
More like I'm not religious at all. I don't really believe in any god(s) but don't really think much about it either. I like the more tolerant (mostly non-monotheistic) religions a lot though.
Languages: Chinese, English, French, Japanese English
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
University of Pennsylvania, East Asian Studies for both BA and MA; special interest in late 12th-century Japanese history. I know, my job has nothing to do with my degrees. But I use the skills/knowledge I got in school quite a bit!