Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


38 year old man | Los Angeles, CA, USA | Seeking women 25-40 within 50 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 6

His details

Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'0" (182cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
I am not sure what that is, either.

In his own words

When I was 14 years old, I went for a bike ride. It was a beautiful summer night, still light out around midnight, this being my hometown just south of the Arctic Circle. I came down this long, steep hill, at the bottom of which the road took a sharp turn to the left. On the right, there was a guard rail of sorts, mounted on steel posts. I came to the curve too fast, and drifted towards the guard rail. I tried to check myself, but it was too late: at 20 mph, my right pedal caught one of the steel posts, and my bike came to an instant, full stop. I didn't. I --and this is totally, literally true-- somersaulted over the handlebars, went high up in the air, and landed on my feet some 3 meters (this being Europe) down the road. On. My. Feet. I looked myself over, walked around a bit: everything was working. And then I noticed it: my brand-new, totally awesome digital watch had been shattered! To this day, I don't really know how it happened. I guess my wrist must have struck some part of the bike as I took flight. My bike also totally wrecked, it took me an hour to get back home. The moral of the story: don't wear a brand-new, totally awesome digital watch if you are going to crash on your bike. But there may be another moral, too. This is the first time I can remember when I was, simply, happy to be alive. Every now and then, when things get a bit muddy in the hurly-burly of daily life, I try to recall the feeling I had that night: clear as a bell, serene and precise: every moment counts. So make them count! I've been a student and a teacher my entire adult life, and I've loved every minute of it. I started school in Finland, went to high school in England, college in New Jersey, grad school in Pittsburgh, taught in Chicago, and finally, landed in another grad school in sunny Southern California. What really gets me excited are beautiful ideas. Of course, one has to stay active -- otherwise, all that darn thinking would drive you insane. So I run. I've been a runner for 20 years. I also love to walk, play a little soccer, and as much Frisbee as possible. And, yes, I still love to ride bikes. There are two things I think are essential in a good relationship: being able to talk about anything, big and small, and being physically active together (maybe a little pun intended?). That's really what it comes down to for me. We are human beings. We become the people we are by sharing thoughts with one another. If you can't do that with your mate, then what's the point? But we are also animals. If you can't run across the savanna with your mate, then what's the point?

His interests

Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Billiards / Pool, Cycling, Running, Soccer, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 5 or more times per week.


I like Cats, Dogs

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Various places in Beverly Hills and West Hollywood the names of which I can't remember; Santa Barbara and the wine country; the beach; UCLA (yes, it's a hot spot, dammit!)


Princeton University, Princeton, NJ

Favorite things

Movies, movies, movies. 2001: A Space Odyssey, American Pie 2, Annie Hall, Atonement, The Breakfast Club, Die Hard, Doctor Zhivago, The Color of Money, Patton, Primer, Ran, Scott Pilgrim, Spider-Man 2, The Seventh Seal, To Live and Die in L.A.

For fun

Exercise. Have a nice dinner at a nice restaurant with plenty of good conversation. LACMA. The Getty. See a movie. See another movie. Write. Read. Go dancing. Go driving around our amazing city. Play frisbee. Exercise a little bit more.

Last read

Jane Eyre, This Side of Paradise, Death in Venice, Advanced Topics in the Arithmetic of Elliptic Curves



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'0" (182cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 6'0" (182cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No preference
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker
Occupation: Student No preference
I am a grad student at UCLA.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Divorced No preference
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: Someday Someday
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
I am Finnish. As in, I grew up in Finland, but I've been living in the US for 20 years now. So I am whatever that makes me.
Faith: Atheist No preference
Having said that, I am very respectful of other people's spiritual points of view.
Languages: English English
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I have a PhD in philosophy.