Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


44 year old man | Santa Barbara, CA, USA | Seeking women 30-43 within 60 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 16

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
6'0" (182cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way

In his own words

Hi! They say you never get a second chance to make a good first impression. Talk about pressure!!! Does that mean if this paragraph sucks that you won't want to read any further?! If so, I guess I'd better make it a good one...did I? ANYWAY... LIFE IS TOO SHORT NOT TO LAUGH!!! If you can't laugh at yourself...well, then, you're just doomed to feeling stupid--without the amusement factor. I coined the term 'surfgoth' because I like both sides of the spectrum: from bright clear warm days at the beach to dark cold foggy/rainy winter nights in the woods. One of my friends recently called me "conflicted"--it was a great joke not far off the mark, BUT, I prefer "quirky" or "eccentric". Please don't let the word "goth" dissuade you--I don't wear makeup and frilly things. I used to front a punk/goth band and I love the music genre, but Marilyn Manson I am NOT. Life is an amazing journey and I've been blessed with one full of adventure, travel, wonder and experience. "I've seen things you people wouldn't believe..." (Know the movie quote WITHOUT Googling it? If so, you just scored big points with me)! After visiting something like 15 countries and 35 or so states, I've come to call Santa Barbara home. I've almost always lived near the ocean. Grew up on the California Central Coast, studied in Hawaii for my first two years of college then transferred to UC Santa Barbara in 1990 and never left town. An honest-to-goodness hopeless/hopeful romantic...I'm not a "player" and I also believe that chivalry isn't dead. I still open doors, give flowers, and pay compliments unsolicited. I cook, I won't complain (TOO much) about doing dishes or chores and I keep a clean house, I can enjoy a good chick flick just as much as a shoot-'em-up, and I have a cat. She can beat up your pitbull. I'm also a great handyman: I can change a tire in under five minutes, fix a pipe, install a garbage disposal, paint a house, and dig a hole. Me Big Strong Man. Oooga Booga. I have never watched GLEE. I make the best chili in the Multiverse. I'm hoping to share the Journey with someone of a like mind with an old soul and exuberant youthful outlook who realizes as I do that things are more worthwhile when experienced together. Adventure, however, is not just adrenaline-hunting and exploring the outside world--true adventure also dwells within: digging in and taking the time to find out what makes another person tick can be the biggest adventure of them all... Intelligence, humor, depth, logic, sincerity, honesty and loyalty are all traits I value in a partner. You have just as much street smarts as that you've gleaned from books. You hold family in high regard, and you aren't opposed to settling down and perhaps even starting one of your own. You love the outdoors, trees, the beach, and you welcome the fog and playing in the rain just as much as the sun, AND staying in for cozy nights, movies, candles and music and knitting. Kidding about the knitting--just seeing if you were paying attention. We should be willing able to agree to disagree with one another. Nobody's perfect--patience, tolerance and acceptance of our differences is what makes for stronger bonds. In a perfect world, anyway. I like to think that with the right person such a world will reveal itself. So if I haven't bored you to death with all this drivel and you think there's a chance we might inspire one another, drop me a note. Tell me a story, ask me a question...anything. The ball's in your court--hit it! My membership on here will be expiring soon, I haven't decided yet whether or not I'll renew... And whether or not you respond to me, while you are pursuing your quest here on Match and beyond, remember: "For all sad words of tongue and pen, the saddest are these, 'It might have been.'

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Cycling, Inline skating, Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 3-4 times per week.




I have Cats, Fish

I like Birds, Exotic Pets, Horses

I have a black cat named Midnight. And that's not cliche. Nope--not a bit.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

008SB - Big Sur! North Shore Oahu, Western Germany, family cabin on Lake Coeur d'Alene. Closer to home: SLO, Cold Springs Trail, Leadbetter Beach. Must see Scotland, Russia, China, New Zealand and Alaska!

Favorite things

AT YA - The silhouette of a palm tree against a full moon. Laughter. Rain. Surfing. Camping. Bonfires. Movies. Music: Bauhaus to Beach Boys and everything in between. Female vocals! Florence the Machine, Siouxsie, Lana Del Rey.

For fun

JIMWIT - I love laughter, camping, long drives, hiking, movies, taking a motorcycle ride. Thunderstorms, beauty, staying up late and anything 80's. Weekend Big Sur trips.

Last read

...HOO! "Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus." I read the cover. That pretty much sums it up! Also, "The Hidden Spirituality of Men" by Matthew Fox.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'0" (182cms) 5'2" (157cms) to 6'0" (182cms)
Body type: Slender Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Bald No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Never Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Sales / Marketing No preference
I'm part of a nationwide restoration team that aids victims of fires/floods in putting their lives back together after such tragedies. When I'm not "playing hero" I sing as I drive up & down the beautiful central coast visiting clients.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Definitely Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Russian, Scottish, Welsh, American Indian(Choctaw)
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
Baptized Episcopalian, raised Catholic, 'survived' catholic school which taught me if nothing else that organized religion is definitely not for me. I believe in a cosmic balance in all things. If it harms none, do what you will.
Languages: English, French, German English
Education: Bachelors degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral