Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


34 year old man | Somerville, MA, USA | Seeking women 24-36 within 50 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 15

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
6'2" (187cms)
Christian / Catholic
No Way
Choo- choo- choose me!

In his own words

(... and there's a picture of a train on it! The Simpsons formed a deep and lasting impression on my young psyche.) Hi there! I finished a Ph.D. in English Lit last summer, and now have a visiting faculty position at the same school (exceedingly glad I don't have to say goodbye to Widener yet!). I work on late-medieval devotional translation in England, stemming from my interests in mysticism and Middle English. Luckily I get to teach all kinds of medieval and Early Modern literature, and I've written about music and art history a bit too. I like to translate medieval lit, although I've only done a couple things on that front so far. German and Dutch literature are also pretty important to me, especially the medieval mystical tradition. Geographically: I grew up in Connecticut, went to boarding school in western Mass, was an undergrad in Chicago, then lived in Glasgow, Cologne, and Japan for four years before heading back to the States for grad school. I've lived between Union and Inman for the past 5 years, except when I was in Florence and Oxford and Antwerp; I'm pretty sure it's one of the best neighborhoods to be found. Davis is tempting, though! I've been lucky enough to travel to several dozen countries in the past decade or so. My favorite places I've travelled have been Malaysia (esp Malaysian Borneo) and South Africa/Namibia. Although I think Berlin is the best place I've ever lived -- but then, it also has the rosy glow of the semester abroad (and three operahouses). But every time I think I discover the prettiest corner of Italy, I always come across something even more charming or stunning. And caffe corretto with anisette has few peers. I also adore long hikes: I've done the Camino de Santiago (500 miles-worth, starting at St Jean Pied-de-Port), the John Muir Trail, and 10 days in the Ladakhi Himalayas, and turned 27 on top of Kilimanjaro. Next up is the Long Trail, and another Camino from Portugal to Santiago. Next countries I really want to visit: Ecuador, Ethiopia, and Egypt. Spent some of last summer in Indonesia, climbing mountains and buying textiles. Teaching Shakespeare in Shanghai this summer, with some stops on the way and back. So that's me, in a nutshell. Feel free to write if I left anything out, or if you'd potentially like to meet up. Best wishes for happiness, wherever you may land!

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Religion/Spiritual , Travel/Sightseeing


I don't believe in astrology


I have Cats

I like Birds, Dogs, Exotic Pets, Fish, Horses, Other

I have two cats -- brothers, in fact! -- Jeoffrey and Jujeh. My parents have a German Shepherd who is totally dear, too (they're in CT). If you dislike cats... sorry, dealbreaker!

Political views


Favorite hot spots

Market Basket, am I right?


Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

Favorite things

Music - especially classical (Mahler, Bach), opera (Puccini, Verdi, Mozart), medieval, choral (Brahms, Schubert). And TMBG. Books! Medieval literature, Graham Greene, Paul Theroux, Bill Bryson, Anne Carson. Mexican food. Tabasco sauce.

For fun

I love to sing choral music and opera, drink beer, play board-games, go to BSO concerts, learn new things, read the New Yorker and Harper's, and travel to as many places as I possibly can.

Last read

A book a friend of mine wrote -- I Told My Soul to Sing: Finding God with Emily Dickinson (check it out!). And a couple novels -- Kafka on the Shore, and On Chesil Beach. Working on "How German Is It?" and Mitchell's translation of Book of Job



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'2" (187cms) 3'0" (91cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Moderately Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
Income: $50,001 to $75,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: Definitely Definitely, Someday
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Polish and German. Not especially exciting, although I've studied German a good deal. (and Polish for one semester - wow, it's hard!)
Faith: Christian / Catholic No preference
It was a long and wandering path away from the faith of my childhood and back again. What we know about the sacred can only be as in a glass, darkly. I have deep respect for all spiritual traditions that foster love and bring us closer to the eternal
Languages: Dutch, English, German, Italian, Spanish English
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral No preference
Northwestern for B.A. in English, Glasgow for an M.Th. in theology, a year in Germany as a Fulbrighter, and a Ph.D. in English at Harvard. Finished 24th grade last August!