Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


48 year old man | Encinitas, CA, USA | Seeking women 39-52 within 20 miles of Cardiff, CA

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 22

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Not sure
Body type:
About average
6'2" (187cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
Nothing better than LAUGHING, THINKING and SMILING though it doesn't always have be in that exact sequence.

In his own words

Who in their right mind has a definitive "type"? Ideal woman for me to meet is someone who wants to laugh, whom I want to make laugh (so we laugh at lots of the same stuff), some basic physical attraction both ways, and has a positive energy. God, I sound like a hippie, don't I ... but I have a profound love for bacon (the real stuff, turkey bacon is sad). Friends would probably describe me as intelligent, kind, fun - at least that's what they tell me. I hope they haven't been lying; I do have some very terrific friends. Life is sweet - but I do really wish that I could meet someone for a fun relationship to share the whole experience with. (Sorry to dangle that preposition, hope I'm not ruling out any strict grammarians!) I'm 47: but have the goofiness of a 20 year old, the career of a 48 year old, ambitions of a 25 year old, the curiosity of a 10 year old, the knowledge of what I tend to like and what I don't of an 80 year old. Hopefully, you love music (at least) half as much as I do; music is a ridiculously large part of my life. My iPhone playlists are downright schizophrenic. I play in and sing with a band that plays around town a lot; since I work at home (computer programming, zzzz) music is the bedrock of my social life. I love living within 3 blocks of the beach, even though only get down there about 2-3 times a week. I need to run more now just to counterbalance all of the rich cooking I've been doing since I've upped the ante on my cooking ... come for my seared tuna, stay for my twice-baked potato. I love most any foods, though nothing can compete with cheese or bacon (bacon reference #2, I sound obsessed). Having a successful enough career as a 1-man computer operation, it's afforded me free time, which has spoiled me for ever going into an office, or for doing too many things in life that I don't want to. That can be both a good and a bad thing. I'm ashamed how much I love DVR (but I can be in a committed relationship with a woman with TiVO instead, I'm open) ... although I just freely admitted it, so I can't be that ashamed. I really do love to read. So I'm usually listening to music, reading, cooking or watching TV - and quite often doing 2 of those 4 things at once. And I've got my Golden Retriever friend, Dave - there's a photo or 2 of him here, but I shouldn't take credit here for his cuteness. I considered myself extremely athletic but I seemed to have given up basketball and distance running. I've gotten a good head-start on old persons sports like tennis, golf (got to a 4-handicap, back up to 8 now if you're a fellow golf idiot - lots of hours spent there that I'll never get back). Since I moved to Encinitas a few years ago, I've become a fiend for walking places. I seem to only drive to music gigs and otherwise live a relatively gasoline-independent existence (when it's around $4 a gallon, that's nice). I really am starting to believe that living far from your workplace is bad for the soul. As for my ideal match, I don't have physical parameters, but overall fitness is kind of important. I've got to say that I'm not religious at all and quite liberal; religion doesn't matter to me one way or another, it can make for interesting conversation as long as both people are open-minded. I'd have a hard time falling for a real conservative, although crazier things have happened, I suppose. Just meeting a woman who likes to laugh, even if it doesn't develop into a full-fledged "relationship" (oy, what a word), is a great thing in life. People look better when they smile, manage to be themselves and don't take life overly seriously. I've definitely got physical turn-ons like anybody else, but smiling and laughing and a joie de vive (sorry I don't know French so I'm probably misspelling that) make anybody more beautiful. OK, don't know why I decided to write a novel. I know when to shut up, but I can be a little verbose at times, clearly.

His interests

Book club , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Music and concerts , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Basketball, Billiards / Pool, Football, Golf, Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking, Yoga

I exercise 3-4 times per week.




I like Dogs

Just got a puppy Golden Retriever named Dave. (DOB: 2012-January-3) He's at my feet right now as I type this. He is the best - case closed. Meet us before he turns from a puppy to a dog.

Political views


Favorite hot spots

I've gotten really attached to Encinitas. Love a fine meal (Q'ero) but Rocky's burgers are like heroin to me (not that I'd know). Belize, Bali were fantastic but all travel's great. RANCHO COASTAL HUMANE SOCIETY DOG-PARK Thursday before 4:30 closing


University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA

Favorite things

My favorites change everyday. Fireplace, fun bar, walking over driving (when possible), crossword in bed. MUSIC: Beck, Devotchka, Zevon, Phish are on iPod, but honestly anything. TV: Arrested Development, Mad Men, I'm Alan Partridge, The Wire, Louie

For fun

Playing in a local band. Rest of the time, I'm cooking or doing something vaguely artistic and/or pretending I'm handy. Or DVR, best invention ever. I love playing basketball and golf - two very different sports experiences. Music all the time.

Last read

Recent (to me) great reads: "Angle Of Repose", "Then We Came To The End", "We Need To Talk About Kevin", "2030" - want more good fiction; Sedaris, Birbiglia. This sounds nerdy but "The Professional Chef". Whatever comes through my Kindle and iPad.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'2" (187cms) 5'1" (154cms) to 6'2" (187cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Brown Blue, Brown, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retail / Food services, Retired, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Student, Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession
Wow, I'm rambling on here. Been working for myself for 10 years now as a programmer/developer; it's fantastic. My clients are nice, the work is challenging, and the schedule is fantastic. I often declare company holidays. I'm my own best boss.
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Not sure Definitely, Someday, Not sure, Probably not, No
Ethnicity: Other No preference
Faith: Agnostic Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other, Christian / Other
Short answer: every human being is spiritual but I'm not religious. Let's face it: "Life is a tragedy filled with joy" (I got that quote from a comic strip.)
Languages: English English
Education: Bachelors degree Some college, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral