Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!

smart27art

64 year old man | South Pasadena, CA, USA | Seeking women 45-59 within 45 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 19

His details

Relationship:
Never Married
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
Height:
5'9" (175cms)
Faith:
Atheist
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Moderately
I’m a relatively rational man, well into the...

In his own words

I’m a relatively rational man, well into the secnd half of my life. Like all of us are, or like to believe we are, I am younger than my age would indicate--closer to yours than you think (particularly, as I appear in your rearview mirror). Wait, don’t go. On the upside, my lineage embodies serious longevity. My father and two maternal aunts lived into their nineties, and my great-grandfather had two children after age 70 (but not a family tradition). I am happy with who and where I am at this point, but fully appreciate that experiences can be more meaningful when you share them. I grew up on a Nebraska farm, and lived my first three decades in the Midwest before heading for CA, courting the two constants in my life--art and education. Mine began in a one-room school and proceeded to a HS of 80 students. I was the athlete/ scholar/ class clown /artist/ cast member/ yearbook editor /etc--multiple roles in a small venue. I went from college to 4-year stint as art teacher/ coach to 3 yrs as resident artist on an isolated farm to grad school in Wichita to transfer and MFA at UCI. I had a studio in downtown LA for 9 years and returned to teaching full time. I bought a house in So Pasadena in the mid-90s (wish that had been the price, and not the decade). Teaching has been a satisfying career. It allows me to stay connected to art, youth (my students’ and my own, vicariously), changing culture and the process of learning. It is challenging, creative, meaningful, and rewarding on a daily basis. By most measures, I’ve been very successful at it. Naturally optimistic, I’ve long felt a sense of purpose and obligation in making the world a better place and teaching has been my contribution. I show up every day and spend a lot of my time and money on enriching my classroom. Although I’m financially comfortable, I prefer to measure my wealth in the number of lives on which I’ve had a positive impact. Politically, I’m very liberal, a Feminist with Occupy leanings. If religion dominates your life, I respect that, but we're not a good match. If you're a woman and still a conservative, in these times?-- sorry, just not into the S/M thing. I’ve been around the U.S.--DC, SF, the NW, Philly, 7 times to NYC, and I'm looking forward to traveling abroad. While I seek out and savor the new and the unconventional, I also treasure my routines. Morning coffee, paper, social media, cat time, nightly walk, Daily Show and Colbert. Music begins with Tom Waits, Dylan, Beatles and Van Morrison, but I like the best of every genre--maybe not Heavy Metal (past that) or Techno (never there). I enjoy many cable series, but not much on network television. Love that modern tech gives me viewing at my convenience. I was an avid basketball and baseball/softball player into my 40s. Tennis, running and skiing along the way. Now I mostly walk/ jog 2 miles a day. I frequent bookstores, book fairs, and thrift stores (mostly for the books). I value your sensitivity and savvy on issues environmental, financial and social, your sense of humor and your love of art and culture. I pay attention to my diet, eliminating most of the unhealthy components. I like Newcastle and wine, regularly but rarely drink two. I’m much more casual than formal. I work and live tie-less and in jeans, but cleanup well on occasion. My once brown and wavy hair is graying and receding close to shore on top. My preferences are for the creative and funny, slim and active, intelligent and informed, honest and dependable, tolerant and kind, articulate and book-loving but I can embrace an incomplete array of those attributes. Lest you think I’m an ageist, my last two significant relationships were with older women, but I think my sensibilities mesh better with someone younger. Something permanent would be great, but usually requires time. Friendships, dinner companions, play partners, art trippers, and event escorts are heartily welcome in the meantime.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Gardening/Landscaping , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Basketball, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines


I exercise 5 or more times per week.


Sign

I don't believe in astrology

Pets

I have Cats

I like Birds, Dogs, Other

I currently have a Maine Coon brought to me a few years ago via the stray system. For you psychological profilers--My history in cat names: Bla / Bedu / Samantha / Nabi / Inu / VooDoo / and Mojo. I adopted a cat in October, add Cato to the list.

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

These days, I prefer cool places over hot spots. Or see "For Fun".

College

University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA

Favorite things

Tom Waits / Bob Dylan / Van Morrison / Beatles / Louis Armstrong / Coleman Hawkins /Nora Jones, etc.. Apocalypse Now / It's a Wonderful Life / Last Tango in Paris / The Wire / Madmen / Breaking Bad / HBO and Showtime series MSNBC Democracy Now

For fun

MOCA / LACMA / Hammer / Getty / PMofCA / Santa Monica galleries LA Times Book Festival / Vromans / FaceBook Farmer's Markets / Swap Meets / select Thrift stores Staples Center / Dodger Stadium Lectures, panel discussions, debates, theatre.

Last read

Newspaper / Art magazines / "Columbine"--Cullen / "Lamb"-C. Moore / "Foe"-Coetzee Tom Robbins / John Irving / Joseph Heller



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'9" (175cms) 4'11" (149cms) to 5'8" (172cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Grey Black, Light brown, Dark brown
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Moderately No preference
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor Artistic / Creative / Performance, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Education / Teacher / Professor, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Architecture / Interior design
I teach Art (Drawing / Painting) to large classes of public high school students. They do some remarkable work.
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Probably not
Background
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Scotch-Irish / English / German in descending amounts. My preferences are based solely on individuals not social constructs. As long as you have some DNA, we've got possibilities.
Faith: Atheist Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Spiritual but not religious
Despite being lovingly raised by a devout Lutheran mother, I have been an atheist, albeit a moral and tolerant one, since high school. I think it diminishes this life to be continually focused on the next.
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
University of Nebraska Kearney BA in Education--Art major University of Nebraska Lincoln--classes, mostly photography Wichita State University--Graduate painter University of California Irvine--MFA, Studio Art