Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!

oakparkmusicguy

41 year old man | Oak Park, IL, USA | Seeking women 29-46 within 20 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

X
  • About
  • Photos 18

His details

Relationship:
Never Married
Have kids:
No
Wants kids:
No
Ethnicity:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
Height:
5'10" (177cms)
Faith:
Atheist
Smoke:
No Way
Drink:
Social Drinker
My favorite band is Driveshaft.

In his own words

After reading my own profile I think it's pretty accurate but I also think people tend to project who they'd like to be rather than who they are. So here's me trying to be objective and brutally honest: I need time to practice my instruments. I'm not a huge fan of going to concerts but if I do, it better be good! I also have no problem walking out. I'm self-sufficient but ready to be supportive and supported. I hate rain but love snow. I don't mind shoveling. Thunderstorms are awesome. I keep a baseball glove and ball in my car just in case there's a chance to play catch. I don't care who's taller. ____________________________ Still here? Cool. I'm a classical musician (and wannabe rock star) and music teacher. I like to perform and spend a bit of time practicing my bass. Exercise is very important to me - I try to do something almost every day. I enjoy reading (I gave up fiction years ago but am thinking about revisiting it), writing; blogging, philosophy, exercising, cooking, photography, going for long drives / rides, chilling out, creating, grooving, being in balance, not complaining about gas prices or the weather. If it's too cold get another coat. Musically, my tastes are wide ranging, from rock / alternative to classic rock to classical music. Some favorites are Foals, Leo Kottke, Phish, Gogol Bordello, the Dead, NIN, Satie, Weezer, Primus, Silver Apples, Radiohead, Bach, Jose Gonzalez, Billy Sheehan, Jason Becker, Primus, Coheed and Cambria, and I have a soft spot for musicals...I do tend to be a little snobby about music but go figure - that's what my degrees are in. I have a good sense of humor - and can laugh at myself as needed! I am honest and can easily admit mistakes so I can learn from them. I love living in Oak Park / Chicago area. I grew up in northern New York State. I love mountains. I enjoy exploring the city but also taking drives out in the country. I'm an eclectic guy and am looking for an eclectic person - someone who can hang out at home or go out, see the symphony, or hop in the car, pick a direction and drive. I'm not a fan of roller coasters, sports, or dance clubs. Ok, I can't dance but I would take lessons. What am I looking for...This is tough because I consider the big picture and you never know when you're going to click with someone. Someone that gets my warped sense of humor, tolerates my music and practicing, enjoys sitting in a coffee shop, enjoys the little things in life. Someone I could learn from and have great conversations with. Someone to grow with. Someone that doesn't need to be constantly 'entertained'. Someone more on the "No to probably not" end of the child wanting scale ;) Although it's cool if you have kids. Some random me-isms: My favorite fonts are Georgia and Avenir. I like coffee AND tea. My favorite drink is carbonated water. I love technology but appreciate rustic settings I like fall but also crisp winter air. - especially as a school teacher Mangos are yummy, and messy I can be a little awkward at times I love to exercise I don't watch sports I like eating meat but not the idea of hurting an animal. I still eat meat :) I have several tattoos and will probably get another Both my ears are pierced Did I mention I don't like sports? Playing is cool but watching is torture. My car stereo is preset to NPR, WFMT but then has a Tool CD in it. I'm not a fan of makeup. (On either of us.) I'm a morning person. I love my SodaStream. No flavors, just plain carbonated water please. Sometimes I intentionally run over curbs just because my Subaru can. Do you appreciate the humor of David Cross? The music of Mike Gordon? The intricacies of Brahms and the audacity of Berg? The paintings of Rothko? A good workout? Oh good, me too!

His interests

Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering

Sports & exercise

Running, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines


I exercise 5 or more times per week.


Sign

Pisces

Pets

I like Cats, Dogs

I don't currently have any pets but I have had cats in the past.

Political views

Some other viewpoint

Favorite hot spots

The lakefront, somewhere that's not too loud - as a music teacher I've learned to appreciate quiet. I like going on road trips and driving to scenic spots - especially mountains. I'm not listing a bunch of random cities - we all like to travel.

College

State University of New York College at Potsdam, Potsdam, NY

Favorite things

Sushi... Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul, Lost... Morning coffee. the gym. Road trips. Healthy food.

For fun

I'm usually busy during the week (at least during the school year) so on the weekend I like something different - walking around the city, taking pictures, or dinner somewhere.

Last read

"The God Delusion"...Books on music recording and mixing. "Focus", "Thriving on Less" by Leo Babauta "Zen Keys" by Thich Nhat Hanh. In general I enjoy non-fiction - philosophy, psychology, self improvement..



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Appearance
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 4'11" (149cms) to 6'8" (203cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Lifestyle
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
I'm a middle school orchestra teacher.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: No Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Background
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, Black / African descent, Latino / Hispanic, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
I come from an Italian family in upstate New York. I grew up near Syracuse and moved to Illinois in 1998 to do grad work in Urbana... Then I moved to Chicago and never left! Although I'm from a rural area, I like what a large city has to offer.
Faith: Atheist No preference
Atheist... But I believe in being moral, ethical, do unto others... zen buddhism.... secular humanism, etc... ya know, be a good person!
Languages: English English, Other
Education: Graduate degree No preference
My bachelor's degree is in music education from SUNY Potsdam and my masters is in music performance - classical double bass from Champaign-Urbana.