Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


39 year old man | San Francisco, CA, USA | Seeking women 28-36 within 45 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 16

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
5'9" (175cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
I will be your Ferdinand and you my wayward girl

In his own words

Hi there. Thanks for visiting. Feel free to look around. I'm here on Match for the same reason most of you are. My work schedule is pretty demanding making it hard to meet a wide cross-section of people. But there's also this hope that you can meet people much closer to what you're looking for more than you ever could taking the random approach of going out to clubs, being hooked up by friends, etc. I am at a point in my life where I am looking for a serious relationship. I've had more long-term relationships than short-term relationships in the past as it turns out, but none that were ever just quite right. The romantic in me hopes that I might find that here, but isn't counting on it. If nothing else maybe I meet some good friends. About me, I'd like to think I'm pretty complicated but secretly I think I might actually be pretty simple. I think it's important to be generous/helpful to people and always get teary when I read good samaritan stories in the news. I even got a bit teary in Wreck-It Ralph when Ralph helped re-build Vanellope von Schweetz's car. Don't worry if you have no idea what I'm talking about. The point is I can be pretty sentimental. That doesn't mean I'm a pushover, though. I've campaigned for issues that I think are important (gay rights, two-state solution in Palestine, etc.) and love being in a city that I think similarly values equality and common decency for everyone. I've only recently moved to San Francisco after living the last 7 years in western Europe. I'm originally a Midwesterner, though, having grown up in Cleveland and Minneapolis and like to think I've got a blend of blue-collar, upper Midwest hipster, and European sensibilities. My friends are important to me, in general, but I really value the chance I've had to build friendships across borders. I'll wake up at 6 am on the weekend to watch Irish rugby just so I can be part of the Facebook conversation with mates that side of the ocean. So, as you've no doubt gathered, travel remains a really important part of my life. I'd love to meet someone who's similarly inclined to travel, informed about what's going on in the world, and comfortable fitting in in a foreign situation. While I do love the opportunity to see the sights, what I really love about travel is the opportunity to understand other cultures. I'll try to hit out of the way restaurants, sporting events (sumo in Japan, ice hockey in Prague, etc.), local bands, that sort of thing when I'm abroad. And I've been fortunate enough to hit some out of the way places, from the creepy (Chernobyl) to the spectacularly remote (Faroe Islands). It's good to get out of your comfort zone. Music is the other thing that I'm a bit of a dork about. I'd love to meet someone similarly dorky, but it's not at all a requirement. My profile headline is a particularly poignant line from a Belle & Sebastian song that I love. 15-year-old me thought that "There is a Light that Never Goes Out" by the Smiths was the most romantic song ever and I still think that. And now, you'll probably routinely find me out at the Independent, Cafe du Nord, Bottom of the Hill, etc. Other free time will be spent hiking, surfing, cooking, or most likely chilling with a glass of wine. About you, it's impossible to define exactly what a match is. You know it when you have it. If push comes to shove, I'd love to meet someone with a silly sense of humor and a fabulous laugh, someone who can discuss both American foreign policy and the finer points of Yo Gabba Gabba. Someone who values their friends and is willing to work at a relationship. A good kisser. Someone who can dress up and look 'fabulous' when the situation demands it, but more often than not is 'cute' in a t-shirt and ball cap. Someone who can appreciate both Casablanca and Talladega Nights. Someone motivated in her own career with her own group of friends. And, maybe, someone who's also just a little bit sentimental, too.

His interests

Book club , Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Cycling, Football, Other types of exercise, Soccer, Swimming, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines

I exercise 3-4 times per week.




I like Birds, Cats, Dogs, Fish, Horses

My superpower is that all dogs love me.

Political views


Favorite hot spots

Stockholm, Glasgow, Tel Aviv, Tokyo, Torshavn, any mountain summit, shipwrecks, Cafe du Nord, the Independent, Bourbon & Branch, the Alembic, Amoeba, foreign record stores, Ritual Coffee, Absinthe, surfing at Pacifica, Point Reyes


Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

Favorite things

Classic Cinema (Humphrey Bogart, Audrey Hepburn). Indie rock (Arcade Fire, Grizzly Bear, the xx, Gin Wigmore). Old school punk (Fugazi, the Clash). Hearing people laugh. A range of art (from Botticelli to Banksy). Ceviche. A good bourbon.

For fun

Travel to out-of-the-way places. Live music. Discovering/cooking with unique ingredients. Climbing, hiking, surfing, cycling, diving. Taking random classes (right now that's Japanese and sailing). Most any sport (Giants, Niners, Arsenal, etc.)

Last read

"Persepolis" by Marjane Satrapi. It's not a comic book! The UK Guardian makes for regular reading as well as does the Onion. All time favorites include anything by Graham Greene, "Anna Karenina", and "Dune".



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'9" (175cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 5'6" (167cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Light brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally
Drink: Social Drinker No preference
Occupation: Executive / Management No preference
Growing up I wanted to be an archaeologist (curse you, Indiana Jones). Instead, I work in the implantable medical device industry in corporate strategy. Nearly the same thing.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
German-Irish, I suppose, but Midwestern really. Hard to shake my love of corn festivals and bratwursts.
Faith: Agnostic No preference
Lemmy is God.
Languages: English, German, Spanish No preference
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
Overeducated. Two advanced degrees when, really, everything I needed to know I learned on the mean streets of suburban Cleveland.