Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


45 year old man | Rosemead, CA, USA | Seeking women 29-36 within 35 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 5

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
5'11" (180cms)
Christian / Protestant
No Way
A Maboroshi Looking for His Hikari

In his own words

Hey bay-bee, hey bay-bee." No? Didn't think so. Never been good at that. As should be obvious from the rest of my profile, i'm a fairly quiet person, so if you're looking for Mr. Exciting Party Guy, go find someone else. If, on the other hand, you're looking for someone to talk to, watch movies with, or just wander around aimlessly with, you might be in the right place. My interests and work are pretty well covered elsewhere, though to clarify some of it, I spent '95 to '96 and '98 to '04 in Japan, first on exchange, then working. Though I didn't pick up nearly as much of the language as I really should've, I absorbed a lot of other stuff that affects my interests, behavior, attitudes, etc., hopefully mostly for the better. It also gave me a slightly harder edge to my personality than I used to have, which I am trying to soften. I won't try to define my "perfect match," because I'd never find her, and she likely wouldn't be perfect even if I did. But since I have to write something here... I would rather you not have the same Anglo-American background as me. Many of my hobbies and interests are Asian-related, so that would be a major plus. Please be intelligent, and comfortable with showing it; I enjoy discussing politics and other things, and would love to do that with you. I am politically fairly liberal but personally conservative; please respect that contradiction - but challenge me. If you are a careerist, money/success-oriented type, I'm probably not for you. I need someone a bit more extroverted than I am to help draw me out of my shell, but sensitive enough to know when to dial it back. I don't really go to museums, performances, etc. alone, but would be happy to go with you. I only occasionally make it out to the movies, but have a rather large movie and concert DVD/BD collection, and would love a viewing partner. And if you enjoy occasionally watching crappy movies and doing your own MST3K on them with friends, even better. (i.e., a judicious appreciation of trash is appreciated.) Lastly, while I am at heart a rock fan, someone who wants to educate an unenlightened soul in the joys of old-school jazz would be very welcome. I already enjoy Ellington and John Hicks, and am sampling Basie, Davis, Coltrane and Monk, but have only limited technical understanding; care to assist me? If you actually fit *all* of that...that's kind of scary, but by all means drop me a line. More realistically, if you think you might be a good match for at least some, I'd love to hear from you. If not, thanks for reading and good luck.

His interests

Book club , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Playing cards , Political interests

Sports & exercise

Other types of exercise, Weights / Machines

I exercise 1-2 times per week.




I like Cats

I'm more of a cat person, but have no problems with dogs or most other pets. Someday, when I have the right environment for it, I would love to have a cat again.

Political views


Favorite hot spots

Mainly traveled in Japan...would love to get back to Okinawa, and see Hokkaido and more of Asia someday. Like Mexican and Asian food; Shin-Sen-Gumi Ramen, Kiyosuzu, Saladang Song, Mayumba. Looking for good Korean, Mexican and rib places....


University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA

Favorite things

Bookstores, CD- and comic shops; reading, good satire in any form, turquoise blue, The Boom, "After Life," sumo, Ghibli, Zhang Yimou, cats, kabocha, 501s, k.d. lang, Pocky, pork ribs, Van Halen, Tokyu Hands, chocolate, Ryogoku, Doonesbury, t-shirts.

For fun

Reading. Movies: American, Asian - a bit of art, indie, genre and mainstream. Music: rock/rock hybrid, jazz, blues, some classical; assorted Japanese. Enjoy chess and pool, but seldom get to play. No TV hookup, but enjoy Daily Show clips online.

Last read

I read some of an on- or offline newspaper daily; magazines are Consumer Reports and a bit of EW at work. A variety of comics. For prose, I usually prefer non-fiction and satire, though Gaiman's "American Gods" was excellent. Books about cinema.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'11" (180cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 5'9" (175cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Blue Black, Brown, Hazel
Hair: Dark blonde Black, Dark brown
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Never Never
Occupation: Other profession Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Labor / Construction, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Retail / Food services, Sales / Marketing, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Student, Education / Teacher / Professor, Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering, Travel / Hospitality / Transportation, Other profession, Nonprofit / Volunteer / Activist, Law enforcement / Security / Military, Architecture / Interior design
Decided on a career change after Japan, and am an environmental compliance inspector. I am currently mid-level, but my goal is a position where I can affect policy or local environments. I'm also active in local government, for the same reason.
Income: $50,001 to $75,000 Less Than $25,000, $25,001 to $35,000, $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000
Relationship: Never Married Never Married
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Definitely Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian
Pretty average Anglo-American background/upbringing in the San Gabriel Valley.
Faith: Christian / Protestant Agnostic, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Christian / Other
I consider myself non-denominational Protestant, and would generally prefer a Protestant Christian background. I should also mention I have major philosophical disagreements with the Catholic Church, though not necessarily with Catholics themselves.
Languages: English, Japanese Chinese, English, Japanese, Other
Education: Bachelors degree Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree
i graduated from UCI; i also went to PCC, and ICU in Mitaka, Tokyo on exchange. but i'm not a "school spirit" type, and have no particular attachment to any of the above.