Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


57 year old man | Canyon Country, CA, USA | Seeking women 37-49 within 50 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 7

His details

Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
5'11" (180cms)
Buddhist / Taoist
No Way
Social Drinker
Risk everything for love if you are truly...

In his own words

Risk everything for love if you are truly human. Otherwise, leave this gathering. . . " -Rumi Writing about myself is difficult, but required, so here's my brief ramble. ~~I feel that the focused pursuit of end results alone leads to unhappiness. For me, happiness comes through the process of getting where I'm going. Sharing that experience with a partner, and taking part in their journey, makes the experience more meaningful. ~~I am a sane and loving person who connects well with others. I value friends and family and animals. I'm politically left of center and that is reflected in my work as a business owner, filmmaker, teacher and Dean of the Arts at a college, writer, and musician. I try to walk a fine line between being non-judgemental and making the decisions I must in order to get through each day. ~~I am an educated person with two masters degrees. As a musician I have performed with orchestras, sang backup with the Carpenters (I was very young at the time), gigged with numerous bands and scored hundreds of films and TV shows. My graduate degrees are in film and I currently make my living as a producer/director/writer and university professor and department chair. I am fortunate to make a living doing what I love to do. ~~My musical tastes are diverse; I appreciate every style. Rock, pop, jazz, classical, blues and alt country have a place in my heart. ~~I love great comedy and worship humor. I have a personal prescription that requires an hour of humor every day. My favorites include Chaplin, Marx Brothers, Eddie Izzard, Martins (Steve and Lawrence), Cleese, Woody Allen, Larry David, Stewart and Colbert. ~~I am spiritually tuned to the world but non-dogmatic. I am a panentheist whose beliefs are most closely reflected by Taoism but am comfortable with many traditions. I believe honesty is truly the best policy--nobody was ever caught telling a truth. Rumi's advice was to risk everything for love. That appears to be the main reason we are here--to love and be loved. From my experience, relationships must have three elements to succeed: intimacy, commitment and passion. If any of these is missing, it just won't work. Having these parts in place is only one step. Balancing them with the needs and interests of the individuals and, at the same time, creating an environment that allows the main three to grow and evolve over time--well, that's the trick, isn't it? I believe it can be done. The binders that hold it all together are humor, openness, honesty and acceptance. I think we all want the same thing; to adore someone and be adored in return. A good relationship is worth working and persevering for. Finally, I hate coathangers; they tangle, mock me and hide out behind the dryer. Well, it appears that I am surprisingly capable of writing on and on about myself. I'll close by saying that if larger portions of the above ramble describe you, then there is a chance we could ramble together.

His interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games , Volunteering , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Aerobics, Baseball, Basketball, Cycling, Dancing, Golf, Martial arts, Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Swimming, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga

I exercise 3-4 times per week.




I have Cats

I was always a dog person but came to appreciate the wonder of cats. It's all good!

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Geoffrey's, El Cholo, Sundance, Playhouses, MOCA, LACMA, New York, D.C., Honolulu, London, Paris, Wyoming. Wait. How about Urth, the Troubador, Hollywood Bowl . . . not hot enough? Where do you want to go?

Favorite things

Daily Show, Colbert Report, Curb, Madmen, Sopranos (still!), Tootsie, Chinatown, Godfather, Breaker Morant, Bull Durham, Tin Cup, City Lights. Music: Lucinda Williams, Maria McKee, Beatles, Nick Lowe, John Hiatt, Shawn Colvin, Belle Brigade and more

For fun

Top source of pride and joy is playing music, dissecting movies with someone who also loves them as I do, sports, reading, writing, the theatre, politics, thinking, not thinking, doing. I like chasing my cats, too.

Last read

Blink, Outliers, Homegrown Democrat, Hound of the Baskervilles, Chaplin bio, Tina Fey, Joseph Campbell, Four Agreements, Tolstoy, LA Magazine, LA Weekly, Mother Jones, Creative Screenwriting, Adbusters, The Art of Being Human, your profile!



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'11" (180cms) 5'2" (157cms) to 5'10" (177cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Dark blonde No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
I am a filmmaker (writer-producer-director-editor), a musician (composer-arranger-player) and university professor (department chair). I love it all.
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 No preference
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Definitely Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, Latino / Hispanic, White / Caucasian
Born in Washington, DC, father was career Navy--traveled the country and lived in Hawaii, Virginia and California. Father's side, French with a dash of German, mother's side English with a pinch of Scottish. Basic honky, really.
Faith: Buddhist / Taoist No preference
Raised Episcopal. Worked as a minister of music in several churches. I am, however, as a Panentheist (with helpings of Taoism and Buddhism), more broadly based in my religious/spiritual beliefs and practices. I respect all faiths and draw from most
Languages: English, French, German No preference
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I have two masters degrees in film--one in production/film history and the other in film and TV producing. I also have certification in mediation, a professional cerfiticate in screenwriting a BA in music and minors in English, History and Theatre.