Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


40 year old man | Brentwood (SoCal), CA, USA | Seeking women 24-39 within 10 miles

Active within 3 days

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 13

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'1" (185cms)
No Way
Boats Against the Current

In his own words

Los Angeles natives of a certain age may remember the night that the Pan Pacific Auditorium vanished into a fire of unspeakable intensity. It had been built in a more hopeful era and remains the sexiest building that has ever stood in LA. The building is long gone, but I'd like to think that romance persists. I grew up here and have stayed here because I hope to meet Zac Efron. I went to school on the East coast, twice. I wore nice shirts, played lots of volleyball, and spent too many nights alone in my room crying to The Smiths. I read too much and yet I don't read as much as I want to. I've been all over LA -- clubs, bars, crackdens, Arby’s, whatever -- but I'm happy hanging out with friends or staying home and reading 100 pages of anything. I also ski and play volleyball, tennis, and I travel as often I can. I try to be normal. I think it's working out OK. I guess I should at least attempt to describe the sort of person I'm looking for. Someone fit. Someone who is assertive and opinionated. Someone who looks at a menu, points at something and says, "I'll have that." Someone eager to have fun, but willing to commit to a real relationship. Someone hyper-educated and viciously smart. Dogs and local sports teams are fine. I'm just not going to pretend that I really care. Runyon Canyon and salsa dancing, I can do without. I taught high school for several years and have written about cities and architecture for both pay and pleasure. I've been known to go to other continents just because I felt like it. Sharks have a week dedicated to me. Sometimes I feel like I'm living the dream with MacBook and cell phone in tow, and other times I feel like I'd be better off on a nice commune somewhere. Here's a brief meta-discussion of Match: -I have no problem with winks. They're harmless and flattering. -If I like you, I'll like your dog. -I generally ignore anyone who professes to "love to laugh" in her profile. Everyone loves to laugh.

His interests

Alumni connections , Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Business networking , Museums and art , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Travel/Sightseeing

Sports & exercise

Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Tennis / Racquet sports, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Don't display my sign

Political views


Favorite hot spots

I feel like I'm too old for hotspots now that so many of my friends have kids. But I do try to get out. Locally, it's downtown LA, Silver Lake, and Santa Monica. When I lived in Boston my favorite local hotspot was New York.

Favorite things

Thunderstorms, novels, cities, deserts, subways, neon signs. My latest least favorite thing: The appendage of the world "bold" to everything Mitt Romney has ever said, done, or promised to do.

For fun

Reading is my television. My pub quiz team has lost steam lately, but we're primed for a comeback. I play volleyball at least once a week. Sometimes I take random solo trips. I don't recommend Turkey in February.

Last read

LA and NY Times daily; the Economist weekly; The Atlantic and Esquire monthly. Guide to California Planning; Bowling Alone; Seeing Like a State; the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao; Cloud Atlas; The Growth of the Soil; 50 Shades of Grey (j/k)



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'1" (185cms) 5'4" (162cms) to 6'1" (185cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Hazel Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally
Drink: Moderately Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Other profession No preference
I'm an unusual combination of journalism, urban planning, and education. Please shoot me if I ever answer the next question about my date. I don't care how much you make.
Income: $100,001 to $150,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday, Not sure
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian White / Caucasian
My heritage is sufficiently diluted that I can't keep track of where my family is from. When civil war breaks out in California, I'll be fighting for the South.
Faith: Agnostic Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Spiritual but not religious, Other, Christian / Other
Never raised with beliefs, never acquired any. I have no problem with anyone else's. I enjoy visiting cathedrals in Europe and attending Easter service to see the pastels.
Languages: English No preference
Education: Graduate degree Some college, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
Undergrad in central New Jersey. For grad school, Cambridge, Mass.