Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


38 year old man | Irvine, CA, USA | Seeking women 32-42 within 200 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 3

His details

Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (1)
Wants kids:
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
5'10" (177cms)
No Way
Social Drinker
Let's chat and see what happens

In his own words

Let's talk about you, me, and maybe us. You first: You value companionship, and see it as a two-way street. The things you want in a man are loyalty, solid character, a generous spirit, a relentless work ethic, and unending curiosity -- because you see them as complementary to who you are. You are feminine, breathtakingly honest, and willing to admit that no, you really don't care for football/cars/gadgets/guy stuff-- but having said that, you'll go to the occasional game or trade show because you expected (and GOT) cooperation and shared time for what you wanted (and then were delighted to find out he was paying attention!). You sometimes say or do something bizarre just because you can. You expect sincere praise for things well done, but would rather not be patronizingly told that everything you do is perfect the first time. In exchange, you have no hesitation to tell your man that the elaborate Valentine's dinner he spent 6 hours on is a flop. You give him a hug because you appreciate the effort -- and then you quietly leave The Joy of Cooking open to the technique page he really should have looked at first, because you know he's always looking to do better next time. You are perfectly willing to say "I don't know" or "I've never heard/read that" because you don't have to win every conversation -- and you won't tolerate macho baloney from a guy who acts that way, either. You have little patience for insincerity, and would rather have one close friend than 5 people you always suspect want something from you. You're willing to overlook the hopelessly messy desk because you know the only lies you'll ever hear are that he went for a long lunch when he really was at a jeweller looking for you (and you know he's on Cartier's mailing list, so he better not be planning Kay). You don't expect that gifts and expressions of emotional commitment go just one way, though, and every now and then you've got a surprise for him yourself. You expect doors held and packages carried because you're a lady, but you don't use "chivalry" as an excuse to take without giving. Me: I put myself wholeheartedly into whatever I'm doing, and do it with integrity. I routinely work until 2 or 3 am to help my coworkers, and I have happily sat through "dates" that consisted of nothing but keeping a girlfriend company while she pulls long hours in a lab. I work hard at trying to improve on things I think I can do better -- fiddling with one batch of cookies after another to try to get them right, building my own computer -- and try to have the wisdom to admit when I should just call in a pro. I have happily spent my last dollar for a friend before, and won't hesitate to do it again. Divorce and an unsuccessful startup (not my current company) have taught me a lot about who my friends really are, though, so I can take a while to crack open. I prefer being out and about to sitting at home, being active to being passive, and someplace new to someplace familiar (weekends in Vegas excepted). I was married for 8 years, and after a 2-year separation, the divorce was finalized in September 2012. I am in no rush, and want to get to know you for now. I am very much commitment-minded, and not looking for a one-night stand. If we're dating, you're the only one I'm seeing. Last, but important, I have a daughter, born just before my marriage ended, who lives with me 3-4 days per week. I am NOT looking for a surrogate Mom for her, as I am quite able to raise her myself, and I will never want help with the dirty jobs (which are nevertheless thankfully fewer and further between). Until it is clear that there is a future for us, I will probably keep you separated, to not cause her any confusion. I do ask, however, that you not think of yourself as being in competition with her. I will always make time for you both.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Bowling, Cycling, Football, Hockey, Soccer, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 3-4 times per week.




I have Fish

I keep a 10-gallon fish tank. The little guys (and gals) breed regularly, and I give the babies away once they are full grown. I think of myself as a "cat person," but I imagine a Sylvester/Tweety/Granny relationship between me, the cat & the fish.

Favorite hot spots

Local: South Coast Plaza, Fashion Island or Balboa Island for walks. Weekend getaway: Las Vegas. Internationally: Florence and Rome for their timelessness, London and Tokyo for their timeliness.


Claremont McKenna College, Claremont, CA

Favorite things

Absolute favorite: my stereo setup. Pop/rock band: Rush. Classical composer: Domenico Scarlatti. Movie: The Third Man. Restaurant: Patina (in LA). Author: G.K. Chesterton. Clothing: Polo and Louis Vuitton.

For fun

Losing myself in a orchestral piece on the stereo -- or over coffee at the Piazza San Marco in Venice. Driving to the desert at 2 am to catch a meteor shower. Stopping to smell the roses at the Huntington Library. Thinking -- I value that the most.

Last read

Recently finished: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John Le Carre. Simultaneously open: Le Carre's Karla Trilogy, I'm Feeling Lucky by Douglas Edwards, How To Sharpen Pencils by David Rees. Also a machine learning textbook.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 4'10" (147cms) to 6'6" (198cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Blue Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark blonde Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde
Smoke: No Way No Way, Cigar aficionado
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker, Moderately
Occupation: Technical / Science / Computers / Engineering No preference
I am VP of research and development for Peerlyst, a social-networking startup based in San Francisco. I live in Irvine, and commute as-needed. So I'm likely happy to meet you anywhere south of Eureka. Or Yreka.
Income: I'll tell you later $25,001 to $35,000, $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (1) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday, Not sure, Probably not, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, White / Caucasian
Faith: Jewish Agnostic, Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious
I am moderately observant, but for me a good character trumps commitment to any dogma. What matters most to me in this regard is a passion for integrity, a commitment to finding Truth, and respectful behavior in disagreement.
Languages: English, Japanese, Spanish No preference
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I have a B.A. in linguistics from Claremont McKenna College, and an M.S. in computational linguistics from the University of Southern California.