Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


45 year old man | Honolulu, HI, USA | Seeking women 30-50 within 25 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 26

His details

Have kids:
Wants kids:
Not sure
White / Caucasian
Body type:
A few extra pounds
5'9" (175cms)
No Way
Seeking more than just the thrill of the hunt...

In his own words

I am a lover of words, but also appreciate brevity when appropriate. I need frequent doses of good conversation, the basis of true companionship and an essential starting point for any relationship. I am sensual, and deeply emotional, but crave rationality as well. Maybe you can tell that I delight in embracing outward paradox, which I sometimes suspect just might be the key to the universe. After years of dabbling in the "spiritual" realm, I am now concerned mainly with discovering what it really means to be human. All the other "mysteries" that abound around us may yet unravel---I'm still not sure about that. But if they do, I believe it will be in the midst of a quest for beauty, truth and love on the human plane. That's what I tell myself, as I look for sympathetic companions for the journey. Don't let any of this deep stuff fool you though; I also love silliness, as long as it's intelligent. What I'm really looking for is someone who can help make sense of what I've written above --- someone who would like to join me on this journey of discovery (even if only for a short while, but possibly, and ideally, for the long haul). Mutual attraction is essential, but believe me when I say that I find something attractive in a wide range of people. I certainly don't have a particular "type". If you like to laugh and can spread laughter to others, you're in the door. If, on top of that, you are excited by intellectual activity and have a social conscience, you can definitely stay. If any of this sparks an interest, please don't let the opportunity to make a connection pass by.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering , Watching sports

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Football, Martial arts, Other types of exercise, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 1-2 times per week.


I don't believe in astrology


I like Dogs, Other

If I could, I'd fulfill a childhood dream of having a pet monkey.

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

Home or abroad, any place that promises adventure off the beaten path, requiring "insider" knowledge. I definitely don't like to follow the standard tourist itinerary. NYC, SF, Hong Kong, Paris, Istanbul, NOLA, Prague, Seville, London, among others.


Columbia University, New York, NY

Favorite things

Friends and family would probably answer "being right." I'd say "getting to the truth behind things." On a more mundane level: impulse shopping for random bits of clothing, tech gadgets and gourmet snacks. Ask me about music, movies, TV, etc.

For fun

Talking, listening, thinking, wondering, wandering, traveling, teaching, studying, learning, laughing, eating, sleeping, dreaming, observing, entertaining and being entertained...

Last read

I read a lot for work, much of which I find interesting. The most recent was re-reading "The Mystical Mind" by D'aquili and Newberg. For pleasure the last thing I read was "Invisible Cities" by Italo Calvino.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'9" (175cms) 4'11" (149cms) to 5'11" (180cms)
Body type: A few extra pounds Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned, Full-figured, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Brown Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Platinum
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Never Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
I am a professor of religious studies at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.
Income: $50,001 to $75,000 Less Than $25,000, $25,001 to $35,000, $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Not sure Definitely, Someday, Not sure, Probably not
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
A native New Yorker (Manhattanite, no less) with ties (both genetic and borrowed) to many cultures.
Faith: Other Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim / Islam, Spiritual but not religious, Other
While coming from a Jewish background, I have strong ties to Islam and Buddhism among other traditions. I see myself as an agnostic-mystic. Been around religiously speaking, but always come right back to where I began: Many, many questions.
Languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French No preference
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
I received my doctorate in Comparative Religion from Columbia University in 2005.