Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


68 year old man | Portland, OR, USA | Seeking women 55-65 within 20 miles of Cathedral Park, OR

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 26

His details

Have kids:
Yes, and they live away from home (2)
Wants kids:
Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Other, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian
Body type:
5'6" (167cms)
Cigar aficionado
Social Drinker
You’ve got to own your own days and name them, every one of them, or else the years go right by and none of them belong to you.

In his own words

I'm a writer, do not, nor will I again, own a car, follow Mort Sahl's philosophy of trying not to leave a room without offending anyone and am an old time Beat and Liberal from NYC. I don't ride motorcycles, climb mountains, paddle a kayak, like wine (I drink scotch only) or ski, though I'd love someone to teach me to dance. I believe, as Murray Burns said, "If things aren't funny then they're exactly what they are; and then they're like a long dental appointment." "An ex-reporter, with too many ex-wives, who worked too many years covering Washington for one of the nation's leading newspapers; I'm generally cynical, sarcastic, notwithstanding Oscar Wilde's view of sarcasm, when appropriate. Having traveled extensively around this nation and the world, I'm tired of it. I don't plan to relive my life, as many here seem to want. I'm eminently content to simply and profoundly learn about where I now live, it's people, history, society and culture. That's it. I'm not your travel partner unless it's a road trip on a route that might have great road food and a 50s motel, and, of course, you've got a car. "I am, indeed, a romantic soul, a poet, who is simply a refugee from the Beat Generation, born and raised in Greenwich Village,loves old movies, Chinese food delivered, the blues and the Ashcan School. I've made living doing nothing but writing and getting folks/companies out of trouble. "That's a "perfect date" for me: Spending New Year's Eve or any evening at home, watching a "Thin Man" or Tracy-Hepburn movie, dancing to Glenn Miller, eating raw seafood, drinking champagne and watching the ball drop in Times Square. I prefer old movies to new, especially with William Powell, Myrna Loy, Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn. "A "raggedy" fellow who prefers old jeans to anything else, I have been known to "dress appropriately." I'm stocky and told I'm "witty, empathetic and engaging," as well as "cute," which disturbs me as I always aspired to "dashing." Alas, that characterization, I suppose, is reserved for the like of Cary Grant and David Niven. "I prefer pedestrian or ethnic eateries to five-star restaurants: Their inherent pretentiousness, that my "bouche" was never "amuse[d]" and that far too frequently these restaurants seem to love presentation and "small food" more than anything else is too much to bear. A conspiricy by foodies, I suspect. As Bessie Smith sang, "Gimme a pigfoot 'an a bottle 'o beer," although I'd prefer a steak. "I don't drive. Earlier this year, I awoke wondering why I did and found no strong reasons to do so. I'm walking distance to most things and driving violated my New Yorker's heart, as well as my almost overwhelming belief that mass transit is probably enough for me; frankly anyone. If we're to go out, I would hope that you're not simply willing to drive, but believe that it simply doesn't make any difference that you do. "On your side of the equation, If you feel compelled to say that your 'trustworthy,' 'compassionate,' and 'loving,' 'love [your] family, etc., you're not for me, as those traits are either in your eyes or not. While I'm interested in one, last relationship, I'm not interested in marriage; apparently I'm not good at it. You'll need a good of humor, a touch of cynicism and outrage. After all, these days, if you're not outraged, you're not paying attention. On your side of the equation, if you've not posted a photo or 'deciding what to write,' don't bother to respond or 'favorite' or 'like' me. In fact, without those components, why are you here? Do you just like to waste the time of others who receive "suggestions" from Match? In short, if you a refugee from the old Beat Generation and interested in a profound relationship in which each of us understands that "In the dark night of the soul, it's always 3am, day after day," let me know, as we probably fit. I will be gone from this venue, for a while, by week's end, so, none of this matters does it?

His interests

Book club , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Playing cards , Political interests

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 1-2 times per week.


I don't believe in astrology


I have Dogs

I like Fish

I have a dog, Rex, a rather large Cocker Spaniel who just turned 12 and is, my best friend. I seriously believe that he is running for political office, as he's also friendly with virtually everyone he meets. I believe he might be running for office.

Political views

Very Liberal

Favorite hot spots

A "hot spot" is what one makes a "hot spot." Sitting with your partner, exchanging thoughts as deep and intimate as the dark is deep or laughing at the silly movie could be a "hot spots" for me. Does a couple need more?


Indiana University Bloomington, Bloomington, IN

Favorite things

Outside of my kids, this is a challenge. My favorite book is "Herzog;" movie, "A Thousand Clowns; the New York Yankees since I was four. How about classic or old movies: Thin Man, etc.,; or newer ones, "Must Love Dogs." Yes, I like Romantic Comedies.

For fun

Donning women's clothing and robbing convenience stores. I also write poetry, love to watch old movies and learning to play the dulcimer.

Last read

The New York Times, at almost any point, this was the "last" thing I read. I do enjoy mysteries, reading poetry, as well as some classics. I'd have to update this too often to let you know my last read.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'6" (167cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 6'0" (182cms)
Body type: Stocky Slender, About average, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Hazel Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Grey Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Salt and pepper, Silver, Dark blonde, Grey, Platinum
Smoke: Cigar aficionado No Way, Occasionally, Daily, Cigar aficionado, Yes, but trying to quit
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker
Occupation: Executive / Management Administrative / Secretarial, Artistic / Creative / Performance, Executive / Management, Financial / Accounting / Real Estate, Legal, Medical / Dental / Veterinary / Fitness, Political / Govt / Civil Service / Military, Self-Employed / Entrepreneur, Education / Teacher / Professor
Writer, and, yes, I make a living at it. And, with regard to the "Income" question, I categorically believe that discussions of health and money are uncivilized, as Noel Coward once said. If the latter's a criteria for you, I'm not your guy.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Divorced Never Married, Currently Separated, Divorced
Have kids: Yes, and they live away from home (2) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian
I was raised by a Pulitzer winner and a Jewish American Princess who was a psychiatrist, all in Greenwich Village (W. 9th Street), in the shadow of the old Women's House of Detention, now gone...And you wonder, no doubt, "Who the hell is this guy?"
Faith: Jewish Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist / Taoist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Hindu, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other, Christian / Other
This is a far deeper question than one might ordinarily think. Think "Norma Rae," when Sally Field asks Ron Leibman "What is it about Jews?" He responds simply, "History." I'm a rather secular Jewish fellow from New York City.
Languages: English English, French
Education: PhD / Post Doctoral High school, Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
19th Century English Literature was my discipline (Indiana University, Bloomington) and for various reasons, some bordering on the classically absurd, wound up a reporter for one of the nation's leading newspapers for more than 20 years.