Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


58 year old man | Long Beach, CA, USA | Seeking women 45-58 within 40 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 3

His details

Widow / Widower
Have kids:
Yes, and they live away from home (2)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'0" (182cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way
Social Drinker
Like most guys my age, I've had my ups and...

In his own words

Like most guys my age, I've had my ups and downs. Truth be told, things unraveled for me a bit after my disappointing third-place finish in the "World's Most Interesting Man" competition. I felt I got shafted and I spoke out, and consequently I was barred from many of my favorite cantinas and clubs and even some take-out establishments, plunging me into a deep downward spiral. For months I holed up in my room, bitterly watching Dos Equis commercials and closed-circuit video of my driveway. (There's a cat that goes by at least twice a day.) Though I can hardly remember, I'm told that for several weeks I communicated only by making yodeling and grunting noises, which embarrassed my family and alienated the nice little Salvation Army volunteer on my corner. I took lots of ibuprofen and Gas-X pills and later, after I got my voice back, I made a tremendous number of hang-up calls to churches and auto-repair shops, just trying to get my head on straight. I saw a shrink who suggested that I do my laundry more often and try gargling, which helped, but soon enough I suffered another setback. Due to a bureaucratic screw-up or computer malfunction--I was never able to find out exactly what happened--I failed to win the MacArthur "genius grant" I was counting on. Those jerks sent me plummeting downward again. My nerves got so bad I was unable to drive a motor vehicle. I got the shakes and couldn't eat with a fork without bloodying my lips. Needless to say, it wiped out my summer. I had to cancel my Wimbledon qualifying match and withdraw from the Trans-Pacific Yacht Race. Also, GQ reneged on the photo shoot and I missed the press dinner at the White House. (When it rains, it pours.) The despair was overwhelming. For quite a while I could only sit and brood in my dark room and think about giraffes on jet skis. Then roller skates. I'd hear them shrieking, even as I was shrieking, and after my tax bill arrived I lapsed into a sort of blackness that I cannot even begin to describe, although if you set aside four or five hours to meet for coffee I'll try to convey it properly and in the right chronological order, because I've left out a lot here, believe me. I suggest we schedule two or three meetings where we talk about me, and then one where we talk about you also. I'm adamant about fairness and allowing a woman to express herself fully, either out loud or in writing if you're not averse to that. Thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I love you very, very much... whoever you are.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Playing sports , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Baseball, Basketball, Football, Golf, Tennis / Racquet sports, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines

I exercise 5 or more times per week.




I have Dogs

I'm babysitting my daughter's two adorable dogs, a golden retriever and a black lab, because she can't have them at her apartment. They're part of the family, of course.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

I'm a regular in Belmont Shore and enjoy Huntington Beach, Seal Beach, Newport, Santa Monica, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa. I have a few favorite bars in downtown LA. I like the desert and mountains.

Favorite things

Jazz, rock music of a certain vintage ('60s, '70s, '80s mainly, but also some current stuff), SportsCenter (morning ritual), History & Biography channels, X-Files, pizza, Mexican food, a margarita or Manhattan, good conversation, laughs, walks.

For fun

Going out for coffee, happy hours, seeing movies, browsing galleries and art museums, taking long walks, hiking, reading on the beach, taking day trips, dining at favorite spots.

Last read

"What the Dog Saw," by Malcolm Gladwell. Also, "The Spy Who Came in From the Cold." I've always got a book or two going.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'0" (182cms) 5'2" (157cms) to 5'10" (177cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned No preference
Eyes: Green No preference
Hair: Dark brown No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker
Occupation: Artistic / Creative / Performance No preference
Author and journalist. I spent 20 years writing for the LA Times until my novel, "Screwball," was published. I recently spent nearly two years on the staff of the Orange County Register, but I've gone back to fiction writing.
Income: $75,001 to $100,000 No preference
Relationship: Widow / Widower No preference
Have kids: Yes, and they live away from home (2) No preference
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids Probably not
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
I think all the major religions are viable paths to God, but I'm much into organized religion, personally. I am in touch with spiritual life and have an avid interest in ESP and related subjects.
Languages: English English
Education: Bachelors degree No preference
I was a journalism major at Cal State Fullerton.