Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


41 year old woman | Palmyra, NE, USA | Seeking men 33-46 within 100 miles of Syracuse, NY

Forward her profile.

  • About
  • Photos 10

Her details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Not sure
White / Caucasian
Body type:
About average
5'10" (177cms)
Christian / Protestant
No Way
Social Drinker
CAUTION: multifaceted, flawed, sincere, fun-loving, introspective, slightly academic, human being for your perusal

In her own words

Probably Match is a bit like applying to grad school. At least every time I’ve gone to grad school (and admittedly, that’s been a few times) I’ve learned you think you know what you are getting into from the online profile of the school; you think you know what it will be like; you think you know what you want in a grad school. But probably you don’t. Not until you’re there. Sometimes it’s not great. Sometimes it’s much better than you thought. Because everything does NOT happen for a grand reason. Things happen for lots of little reasons, but on the days when I believe in God, I don’t think God micromanages us in accordance with some divine master narrative. So, perhaps I am the most unromantic woman on the planet, but mostly I think, or any way of dating, is like applying to grad schools. As my friend said when I was applying for my current PhD program: throw some spaghetti at the wall and see what sticks. So this is me, throwing spaghetti at the wall. I’ve done a lot with education in my life, but education takes many forms. I like to travel, though I’ve not yet ventured beyond North America and Europe. I love the outdoors, but a lot less so in winter. I am addicted to creativity. My hobbies vary from sewing to cooking to building furniture to gardening to throwing an exceptional dinner party. I have a geeky streak a mile long. At the same time, I really dig fashion. Also dry, red wine. I have terrible taste in music except that I love jazz. My choice in movies is also suspect, but I see the really ridiculous ones on my own. I am not, in any way, a vegetarian—but I do eat a lot of vegetables. My favorite holiday is the 4th of July ‘cause I love blowing stuff up and because my mom always starts a squirt-gun fight which escalates to water balloons and ends up with someone getting the hose directly in their face. I’ve never been married. Never lived with anyone. I don’t think this is a red flag, but you can judge for yourself. I’ve been in love at least once, maybe more. Love is a sliding scale. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about my career. Sometimes my attention has been taken by family or friends or a hobby, even a man here and there. “They” tell me I’ve just not met “the right person,” but I tend to think that I’ve just been unlucky in love. You see, I’ve been really, really lucky in almost every other area of life. But now, and this isn’t the first time, I am turning back to the search for someone to hang out with, a lot, in my life. I’ll tell you more about any of this if want to be one of those pieces of stubborn pasta. Warning though: I am probably an acquired taste. I won’t fit with ultra-serious men because I love to laugh—I have a rather obnoxious laugh I am told—and I find being absurd from time to time invigorating. On the other hand, I do have a very serious side. We probably won’t make it past the first date if you don’t like thinking. You definitely don’t have to be into school, but I hope whatever it is that you do with your life is something you’d like to share with me. Likewise I’d like to share a little of what I do with you. I have some convictions. I can be stubborn and argumentative and suddenly incredibly vulnerable. I live in NE in the summers and want to end up there eventually. As for what I want. . . I suppose kindness, companionship, connection, maybe eventually love, passion, mutual support-- the things anyone wants. I’d like someone who is responsible and just a little refined, but also impulsive from time to time. I am drawn to confidence and vulnerability, to intelligence and wit, to risk-takers, to leaders and to quiet observers who casually come up with the brilliant solution, to the guy who is excellent in a crisis, the guy you go to in order to get things done, to men who call their mothers and sisters from time to time, to guys who send their grandmas birthday cards—on time. Or none of those things. Someone in his 30s or 40s.

Her interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing cards , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games , Volunteering , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Dancing, Hockey, Running, Swimming, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


I don't believe in astrology


I have Fish

Allergic to cats.

Political views

Middle of the Road

Favorite hot spots

I live in upstate New York working on my PhD right now, but spend summers in Nebraska. For vacation I am all about mountains (and sometimes beaches), but cities (New York, etc.) have their draws too. I hope someday to go around the world-- slowly

Favorite things

It's hard to describe what I love as I am always finding new loves , but I adore art, shiraz, geeky games, accents, camping, The West Wing, Russian lit., creme brulee, gardening, films, dancing, Johnny Cash, The Flaming Lips, little black dresses

For fun

I like to dance, read, write, watch movies, play poker, play board games, garden, do creative stuff like paint.

Last read

Levinas, for school. Before that, The Grey Wolf Throne series



More about her Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Her What she is looking for
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 5'8" (172cms) to 8'11" (271cms)
Body type: About average Slender, About average, Athletic and toned, A few extra pounds
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Dark blonde No preference
Smoke: No Way No Way, Occasionally
Drink: Social Drinker No preference
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
T.A. in Religion at a University. Had been an adjunct professor in English for 8 years before that.
Income: $35,001 to $50,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married Never Married, Widow / Widower, Divorced
Have kids: No No preference
Wants kids: Not sure No preference
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Faith: Christian / Protestant Agnostic, Christian / Catholic, Christian / Protestant, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other, Christian / Other
I am certainly a Protestant, but theologically very liberal. God is important to me, but it might take you a while to figure that out if we met on the street. Seeking to understand God, in whatever form God comes, is the most central pursuit in life
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral
Yeah, well, I sort of make a habit of education. I am on the last leg of a very long journey. Education is, obviously, important to me or I wouldn't teach, but I think that education comes in many forms, formal and otherwise.