Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


57 year old man | Manhattan, NY, USA | Seeking women 43-58 within 15 miles

Active within 1 hour

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 8

His details

Have kids:
Yes, and they sometimes live at home (1)
Wants kids:
No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
5'9" (175cms)
No Way
Wherein our Hero describes his Quality,...

In his own words

Wherein our Hero describes his Quality, Encounters with a Belgian, and contemplates the Prospects of romantic Attachment... I'm 57 (still hanging in there). Live on the park (with a nice view into the trees that frames my geraniums). Into cooking, tennis, good art (e.g., 19th century naturalism--Audubon, David Roberts, McKinney and Hall), classical sculpture, Navaho rugs and kilims, vintage jazz guitars. I like to cook in and entertain. Civilized, urbane and simultaneously very American and very not. Vaguely Europhilic. I can get in trouble fast in several foreign languages. Funny at times in my way. I like to live well. I promise to be winsome, witty and charming. Kulturny. I can be romantic if inspired. My profile was hacked and for a few days I was unwittingly presented as a 61 year old Belgian accountant living in Phoenix. The rest of this space was previously devoted to a lengthy excursion on my various tastes, interests and attributes. It described a man of quality and parts. Men wanted to be me, women wanted to be with me. I discoursed on wine, jazz (the transcendent achievements of Ella, Sinatra, Basie), ancient history, the architecture of Venice, the hill towns of Tuscany and Umbria, galley warfare, the code duello, the grace and power of sports cars, thoroughbred horses and beautiful women...the 13 constituent varietals of Chateauneuf du Pape. It was generally received as refined, humorous and informative. There was a good line about how my knees are shot but everything else works. Ah yes. And how I maintained my customary sang froid during Hurricane Sandy by sipping Malbec and watching zombie movies. It helps if you are close to Manhattan. Different time zones are not close, nor are places with a visa requirement. Non-contiguous area codes are negotiable. I was thinking maybe a cab ride away or the cross-town bus. To me, SoHo is a bit of an excursion (the shellfish tower at Balthazar is worth the trip; the blanquet de veau is not; the roast chicken a deaux is an hommage to la cuisine de Grand Mere--ca vaut la peine). PS: My nom de guerre and professional role model is Manfred Powell, QC. This is the internet dating equivalent of a jellybean contest. PPS: If all this seems relentlessly high-brow, you will be appalled by how low-brow I can be. Beneath the glib banter lies an ordinary guy. I like to drink beer, watch footbal and fix cars. I also like the occasional dose of Led Zeppelin or Van Halen and sing along in falsetto. No pills, no plumbing issues, no shrinks, no cavities. My youthful powers remain undiminished and, umm, vigorous. What a deal. PPS: Kidding aside, I'm after a serious, committed relationship, perhaps marriage. Looking for that tiny spark, that tingle when two tingles intermingle, that irresistible tug of the magnet. Love, passion and intimacy without too much emotional volatility or drama. Lazy weekend mornings, dinner parties, foreign travel, walks in the park or retail therapy -all the good stuff that makes relationships work well when they do. With luck we've learned how to make it work. Note: Winks, favorites and likes serve a purpose, but without pix or a visible profile, it's exasperating. The spambots have been working overtime lately. Please no more winks/hidden profiles from 20 or 30 somethings in California, Louisiana, Western Massachusetts and Eastern Europe with dubious email addresses. What's up with that? Enough already. No dyvotchkas or babushkas. SpaciBo bolshoi. Do svidania. Da, privyet. Fibbing about your age, faith, body type, etc., does not inspire confidence or trust. You ought to be reasonably comfortable with who you are and where you are in life. (I am, subject to various caveats).The club also frowns on posting unrepresentative pix and may levy fines accordingly. Finally, bear in mind that spelling is a window to the soul.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Performing arts , Playing sports , Political interests , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Other types of exercise, Tennis / Racquet sports, Weights / Machines

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


I don't believe in astrology


I like Other

The kiddie pets have expired. My daughter wanted a dog but walking is a problem during the day and I prefer to keep the fine and rare Azerbaijani carpets spotless.

Political views

Some other viewpoint

Favorite hot spots

Cortona; Sienna; Montalcino; Oaxaca (mole); El Dorado County (Latcham Vineyards); Santa Fe (Chimayo chile); Venice (I was Doge in a prior life); London (Purdey & Sons); Napeague (towards Montauk opposite Lobster Roll); The Bar Next Door.


Yale University, New Haven, CT

Favorite things

Roast duck, potato gratin, red cabbage with brown sugar and apple cider. Lamb braised in a Dutch oven with herbs? Seared scallops? Clams grilled open and doused with sake? Sauternes...Uccello's great triptych Battle of San Romano.

For fun

Play jazz guitar pretty well for a guy with a day job. Know a lovely arrangement of "The Way You Look Tonight." I try to stay fit and lately succeeding. Used to windsurf a lot off Fire Island and Napeague. Have 300 btls of wine. Help.

Last read

Read a lot of ancient history and historical fiction. Steven Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa; John Stephens 19th century travelogues about the Middle East and Central America. Daniel Silva (Mossad assassin cum art restorer). For TV: Vikings, Roma, BSG.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'9" (175cms) 5'2" (157cms) to 5'10" (177cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Blue No preference
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Moderately Moderately
Occupation: Legal No preference
Lawyer with a boutique practice in the international art market. I deal with colorful art world types. Clients call me from fjords and ski-lifts while I am stuck at my desk. It should be the other way around. Published author and public speaker.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Divorced No preference
Have kids: Yes, and they sometimes live at home (1) Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home, Yes, and they live at home
Wants kids: No, but it's OK if my partner has kids No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian Asian, Black / African descent, East Indian, Latino / Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian, Other
Manhattan native and resident. That probably explains a few things. Could use an attitude adjustment about certain aspects of urban living.
Faith: Jewish No preference
Lite. In reality, neither spiritual nor religious (Match needs to add a box for that). Borderline atheist. I might have preferred Roman or Viking polytheism.
Languages: English No preference
Education: Graduate degree No preference
Yale 1979; Northwestern Law 1984. Over-educated in some ways, densely ignorant in others. Literate but innumerate. My email strings tend to relate to cultural policy, the art market, buying wine, Middle East politics and vintage jazz guitars.