Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


42 year old man | Astoria, NY, USA | Seeking women 20-40 within 50 miles

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 16

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Black / African descent
Body type:
About average
5'10" (177cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way
Social Drinker
Waiting for that special someone to compliment the blessed life that I have been given and continue to cultivate.

In his own words

Life is love to me. To love is to appreciate life. I appreciate the life I have, everyday of it provides me with an opportunity to make it better. I can experience something fascinating, learn something I didn't know, gain a skill, widen my perspective on the lives of others. I love life. I don't have any illusions about life being all poodles and strudels, that is a naive mistake that will only lead to disappointment. And the challenges in life are a testament to the metal of a person. So I love life no less for being difficult. In fact, I have come to a point in my life where I embrace challenges. I know that I will get the gift of being more capable on the other side any mountain I traverse. My days from September to June pretty much run as follows. I get up at 5am. I do 100 push ups and 40 pull ups. Clean myself off, dress and head to work. Gotta get from Astoria to the Bronx by 7am. That'll give me 1 hour to get some prep work done before the students are let up at 8am. Then I teach all day. Walk into my classroom, and you'll see me engaged with a student. I teach English to inner city Freshman, which pretty much means I'm dealing with literacy issues. After a long day I've got choices: (1) go to class and work on my second masters one day a week, (2) go to the open mic one day a week, (3) exercise one day a week, (4) stay late doing lesson plans and grading one day a week, (5) homework for my masters one day a week. The weekends are for exercising, more homework, more lesson plans and grading, wine, whimsy, and wholesale fun. These are all things that I like to do. I enjoy. I believe in pushing yourself, enjoying life, and finding love in life. I can't stand complaining for no reason or no effect than being vocal. Teaching is my way of dealing with what troubles me about the world. I would sing out loud while I run, if it wouldn't be totally rude. As it is I lipsink for an hour. I enjoy feeling physically capable. I get a jazz from the spoken word and the written word. When Sartre smashes Camus in his retort, I actually giggled throughout the entire letter. I don't find any great value in the material. It's nice to have, but material possessions say nothing about the person. The stuff I have-- music, books, art supplies, journals-- enrich me, provide the opportunity for transmutation of those ideas. I love respect. I think humility often takes more strength than being prideful. Courtesy just makes common sense. I'm often underestimated by people who don't know me, that I get from people who do. I don't believe in boxes, even the ones I unconsciously construct. I live my life as a role model, who would I want as a teacher. So I read things that threaten to scramble my brains. I face challenges with a smile and a wink. I seek those things I have no clue about as of yet. I appreciate people. Why am I here on this site? I meet people. I'm not a social leper. Finding someone is not the problem, finding the RIGHT someone is the issue. I want a relationship in my relationship, as well as chemistry. I want to forget to breathe when I see you, and breathe easy when I think of a life with you. I want to grow in intellect together. Learn the world together from hut to temple/ backwater river to distant ocean shore. I want to be in awe at the strength of how good you make others feel about themselves. I want to marvel at your tireless passion for what you can create and imagine. I want to feast on your hunger for life as manifest through your curiosity regarding nearly everything. I want to think that the world is blessed having a vivacious creature such as yourself taking it by the neck, popping the cork, and drinking from it until the foam runs down your chin. UPDATE: Update March 1st, 2012: The dreaded Quality Review is a thing of the past: slayed it like a vampire [the Whedon kind.] Just saw Kronos at Carnegie. Got tickets to see Kristin Lee play gypsy violin music in April. Trying to find a good reggae concert.

His interests

Book club , Camping , Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Fishing/Hunting , Gardening/Landscaping , Hobbies and crafts , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Nightclubs/Dancing , Performing arts , Playing cards , Playing sports , Political interests , Religion/Spiritual , Shopping/Antiques , Travel/Sightseeing , Video games , Volunteering , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Cycling, Dancing, Running, VolleyBall, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines, Yoga

I exercise 5 or more times per week.




I like Birds, Cats, Dogs, Exotic Pets, Fish, Horses

I would like a dog, an Akita actually, but I am entirely too busy to keep one. The poor soul would get no exercise or company with the schedule I keep.

Political views


Favorite hot spots

I like going places with really friendly people and rich culture. I can do the resort thing, but it gets kinda "cheap" after a while. I'm a record and book store junkie, so I try to stay clear when I'm NOT on a budget and have too much extra cash.


Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick, Piscataway, NJ

Favorite things

Some music in my iPod: Xavier Naidoo, Beres Hammond, k-os, Tedi Papavrami, Alan Jackson, Roy Hargrove, Rolling Stones, Sade On Hulu: Castle, Buffy/Angel, Dexter, TruBlood, House, On the plate: Rare steak, fresh sushi, steamed veggies

For fun

I'm involved in an open mic series. I love going to the movies. I always have a book on me. I watch TV. I can spend hours working on a drawing. I love museums: realist stuff and photography mostly. I ride my bike a lot. I play video games.

Last read

Right now I'm reading a lot of Wordsworth, Byron, and Keats for class. I subscribe to Harper's.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 5'10" (177cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 5'11" (180cms)
Body type: About average No preference
Eyes: Black No preference
Hair: Black No preference
Smoke: No Way No preference
Drink: Social Drinker No preference
Occupation: Education / Teacher / Professor No preference
Education is my life's passion. It is the cornerstone of societies and individual lives. I don't teach fact and figures so much as skills: the ability to manifest one's thoughts into reality.
Income: $50,001 to $75,000 No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: No No
Ethnicity: Black / African descent No preference
I love my people. And I think we have a rich history full of triumphs to be proud of. I think being African American is something to be contributed to rather than being taken for granted.
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
I'm a pantheist. So I feel that God exists throughout everything that we are and everything that we do. God is the energy that drives the motion that keeps the universe in existence. Einstein calls is E=MC2. I call that delicate balancing act God.
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree Some college, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree
Right now I'm working on my second masters degree. I'll finish next year and wait a year before going for my third. Eventually I would like to get my PH.D