Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


50 year old man | Pacific Beach, CA, USA | Seeking women 40-49 within 12 miles of San Diego, CA

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 14

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Not sure
White / Caucasian
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'0" (182cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way
Social Drinker
I'm an educated, well-traveled, yet...

In his own words

I'm an educated, well-traveled, yet down-to-earth guy. Sounds typical on the surface, but is it really? You’ve probably heard that old joke: “Intelligent, emotionally stable, and good looking -- pick two.” (Oops. Perhaps that’s just a guy joke -- and I may have broken some kind of guy code in revealing that.) Nevertheless, you can safely pick all three from that first collection. For the second grouping, you’ll just have to decide during a lightning-quick assessment of wits over a glass of wine or coffee. I’ve recently arrived from Portland, Oregon to my new place in North Pacific Beach. I’ve extensively remodeled both homes and found that I have the knack for it, though I’m now looking forward to enjoying the fruits of the creative process versus the interminable dust created by these projects. Interestingly, I find interior design more fulfilling that engineering or business. I may have missed my calling. And it’s certainly a manly pastime, isn't it? NTTAWWT. That last acronym is from a classic Seinfeld. I was once the greatest Seinfeld and Simpsons fan. A couple of my other comedy heroes are Steve Martin (“Those French have a different word for _everything_.”) and Sam Kinison (in the context of the dilemma of hunger relief: “See this? It’s sand! Do you know what it’ll be 100 years from now? SAND!”). I enjoy The Big Bang Theory nowadays, and smile at the surprisingly broad appeal of this show. Confession: I have the same educational pedigree of one of the core characters. Can you guess which one? Before spending 18 years in Portland, I grew up in Youngstown, Ohio a once-great steelmaking town. In a moment of keen insight I avoided that industry and instead shrewdly invested in the ever-stable automotive sector for almost a decade. I eventually wised up and went to Boston for grad school and transitioned to high tech in Portland. I really enjoyed it there but came to love San Diego as I visited over time. What a terrific place to live. As a new arrival, I’m looking for a kindred spirit to share adventures and relaxing times. I'm active and love trying new things...but also enjoy returning to favorite haunts and hangouts. Special note: I seem to like two things more than most guys, with important caveats: 1) I actually will dance, but strongly prefer disco/funk/80s, and 2) I don’t mind window shopping from time to time, as long as it’s not clothes for me (the latter I find a laborious chore). In summary, I’m seeking a long term relationship where we can enjoy our similarities but also help each other grow. If you’ve made it this far, thanks for reading my profile; more information below. OBSERVATIONS: CRITERIA: Emotional, intellectual, and physical compatibility; common goals, common values. A tall order. That’s why this is so hard! PROFILES: I value them. Non-LBD content is best. EMAIL: Better length helps (see texts) but not timely and nuances still missed. PHONE: See “Seinfeld performs stand up on Fallon” for a great 5 minutes on modern communications; regarding phone/voice: “I feel like a blacksmith up here!” TEXTS: Utter landmines. Way too much (mis)interpretation. Should come with a caution warning, like a dangerous tool or a weapon. And maybe require a training certification, like a driver’s license. I could get behind that. MEETING: I – surprise! – enjoy Match first dates; indeed, I’ve never had a bad one (insert LOLs here…and OMGs if I told you the average duration). But chemistry…well, that’s elusive and we'll know almost instantly. Quick story: great profile, fun phone call, met on the sidewalk on the way in…and both knew right then…nice brunch though. (I’m increasingly sympathetic to these “let’s meet briefly first to check on chemistry” comments I see from time to time.) MATCH: Someone will figure it out someday. Genetics? Brain waves? Pheromones? They’ll be a mega-billionaire of course.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Cooking , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Music and concerts , Exploring new areas , Travel/Sightseeing , Watching sports , Wine tasting

Sports & exercise

Billiards / Pool, Bowling, Cycling, Inline skating, Other types of exercise, Running, Skiing, Walking / Hiking, Weights / Machines

I exercise 3-4 times per week.


Don't display my sign


I like Cats, Dogs

I don't have either, but like both cats and dogs. My favorites are Maine Coon cats and Miniature Labradoodles.

Political views


Favorite hot spots

I seldom go to the same place twice and enjoy active vacations. Favorites include: Barcelona, Hawaii (Big Island), Melbourne, Munich, New Zealand (South Island), Rome, San Sebastian, Santorini, Tokyo. I’d like to see Vietnam and Uruguay someday.


Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

Favorite things

Beefy cabernets. Dark chocolate. Weekend brunch. City skylines. Old world maps. The sound of the ocean. Sunset at the beach. The zoo. Rollerblading. Snow skiing. Catching up with old friends. The Shawshank Redemption. Rocky. A good book.

For fun

I enjoy exploring and trying new things. I stay in shape but keep it quick with high-intensity exercises. I usually follow NFL football (on DVR) as my singular sporting pastime, though it's fun to see a live baseball game. I'm a wine tasting fan.

Last read

Similar to movies, I'll enjoy a batch and then take a break. My favorite: Guns, Germs, and Steel...a fantastic read. Books about the Age of Discovery (e.g., the spice trade, Magellan, Captain Cook) fascinate me. I also like historical biographies.



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'0" (182cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 6'0" (182cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown No preference
Hair: Dark brown Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde, Platinum
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Sales / Marketing No preference
I've also been in strategic planning, M&A, alliance management, engineering, and manufacturing in director-level jobs in high tech. I enjoy building teams, hiring over 50 people. I once worked in an automotive factory as an automation engineer.
Income: I'll tell you later No preference
Relationship: Never Married No preference
Have kids: No Yes, and they sometimes live at home, No, Yes, and they live away from home
Wants kids: Not sure Not sure, Probably not, No, No, but it's OK if my partner has kids
Ethnicity: White / Caucasian No preference
Mostly German and Swiss with a bit of Welsh mixed in.
Faith: Spiritual but not religious No preference
Languages: English English
Education: Graduate degree No preference
MIT: MBA and MS Electrical Engineering and Computer Science