Rev Up Your Love Life With These Tips!


36 year old man | Los Angeles, CA, USA | Seeking women 25-40 within 50 miles

Active within 24 hours

Forward his profile.

  • About
  • Photos 11

His details

Never Married
Have kids:
Wants kids:
Black / African descent
Body type:
Athletic and toned
6'3" (190cms)
Spiritual but not religious
No Way
Social Drinker
Biologist, and fellow Alabaman, E.O. Wilson...

In his own words

Biologist, and fellow Alabaman, E.O. Wilson likes to say, "I'm a Southern boy who moved up North to make a living." Well, I'm a Southern boy who moved West! I'm not a biologist, though, so for me it's a career in animation with an interest in the arts and sciences (in my case, robotics). Anyway, before moving out here, I lived in Northern Virginia--as in, I lived in the 'burbs of Washington DC. There I was a defense contractor with a cyber security company. The work was great, but as with any restless spirit, I was ready to find my way back home, to California. My unorthodox values and less-than-traditional outlook are more inline here than back South, plus retiring my coats has been a boon to my heart. But that is generic; who am I really? A friend of mine once told me about a woman he met at Oxford who would always explain that she did not believe in God but she did believe in irony and whim. She strode through Oxford University campus with the self-assurance that whatever she anticipated in life was likely to never be quite so bad (or good) as she expected. So, rather than fear life's many agonies, she saw them as tiny ironies we learn when thinking there is some "Cosmic Plan" or that we are entitled simply because... we exist. The whimsy stems from knowing this early on and enjoying your life anyway. It is a simple observation, but it sums me up well. I believe in living my life expecting the opposite of what I actually expect. If it should go the way as I expected, great--if not, that is also great, because I expect to be a better person regardless of the outcome. The whim in that is I am not *afraid* to try something different. Life stems from the chances you took, so I take chances in hopes of becoming a better person from the go. It was that sort of reasoning that got me to move here without knowing anyone or having a job. In the end, everything turned out great, and I haven't a single regret. Most people are afraid to try, but I am not. That doesn't mean I'm reckless, mind you, but willing to roll the hard six. (That's a gambling term for you native LA folk ;-) And so, now I am on Two years in LA, I am ready for the Next Step. So, I decided to take the initiative and pursue the Right One. Rather than put too fine a point on it, I will say the "right one" will be very smart, accomplished, self-confident, quick with a joke and easy on the smiles. I have many passions, the chief being animation and the arts, so someone with interests she'd love to share with me would be great. I'm always open to new ideas, so don't be afraid to be different or opinionated. I'm not afraid of strong, opinionated women. I WANT a strong, opinionated woman. See? I told ya: unorthodox. Besides a bullish temper and a willingness to cuss me out if ever I'm wrong (which will never happen as I never am--kidding, kidding!), I want someone who takes care of herself, has empathy for others, and enjoys going out and exploring what our great city has to offer. A woman seeking a serious relationship partner is a must. I'm really big on health, so a health conscious partner with an interest or passion for fitness would be cool. I could really use a jogging partner. One last thing, I really enjoy philosophy; I was a member of a philosophy club back in DC. I miss discussing life's meaning, so if you happen to like that kind of thing great, but if not that's fine. It's not a deal breaker either way. I've no other preference that isn't already explained elsewhere, so that just about sums it up. Maybe I am asking too much from an online dating service. Well, like another great Alabaman, my grandmother tells it, nothing makes a failure but a try.

His interests

Coffee and conversation , Dining out , Gardening/Landscaping , Movies/Videos , Museums and art , Exploring new areas , Performing arts , Travel/Sightseeing , Volunteering

Sports & exercise

Cycling, Dancing, Swimming, Walking / Hiking

I exercise 3-4 times per week.




I like Birds, Cats, Dogs, Fish, Horses

I'm from the South and I'm Black--of course I love dogs!!!

Political views


Favorite hot spots

I love me some LACMA, so that's my spot. This being LA, I coul be just about anywhere.


Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA

Favorite things

Books by Dickens; Woody Allen films; art and science museums, any and all animation, especially if it's by Hayao Miyazaki, playing basketball, stimulating conversation with interesting people, and a good meal with said interesting people.

For fun

I like doing lots of things for fun, but cycling is a great stress reliever for me. For a relief of my mind, I find drawing buildings for fun. It's a career escape to be sure, but whoever said you can't do your job AND have fun at the same time?!?

Last read

As a NY resolution I promised I would only read 19th century literature, so I'm reading Little Dorrit right now. (Excellent book!)



More about him Create a profile to see what you share in common »

  Him What he is looking for
Height: 6'3" (190cms) 5'0" (152cms) to 6'5" (195cms)
Body type: Athletic and toned Slender, About average, Curvy, Athletic and toned
Eyes: Brown Black, Blue, Brown, Grey, Green, Hazel
Hair: Black Auburn / Red, Black, Light brown, Dark brown, Blonde, Dark blonde, Platinum
Smoke: No Way No Way
Drink: Social Drinker Never, Social Drinker, Regularly, Moderately
Occupation: Artistic / Creative / Performance No preference
You can be a janitor for all I care; just be you.
Income: $50,001 to $75,000 $35,001 to $50,000, $50,001 to $75,000, $75,001 to $100,000, $100,001 to $150,000, $150,001+
Relationship: Never Married Never Married
Have kids: No No
Wants kids: Someday Definitely, Someday
Ethnicity: Black / African descent Asian, Latino / Hispanic, Pacific Islander, White / Caucasian
Faith: Spiritual but not religious Agnostic, Atheist, Christian / Catholic, Christian / LDS, Christian / Protestant, Jewish, Spiritual but not religious, Other, Christian / Other
When I think of faith, I think of a quote by Woody Allen: "I believe there is an intelligence in the universe with the exception of certain parts of New Jersey."
Languages: English English
Education: Bachelors degree High school, Some college, Associates degree, Bachelors degree, Graduate degree, PhD / Post Doctoral